Funding profile · AI drug discovery
1910 Genetics
One Form D on file, from 2021, and one undisclosed strategic investment from Accenture Ventures three years later. Here is what the single SEC filing shows, and what is still missing from the public record.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Before 2021 | Seed, previously unannounced | $4.1M | Led by Sam Altman; FoundersX Ventures, Y Combinator, Scientia Ventures, Emles Advisors, Tuck Lye Koh of Shunwei Capital and others | Independent |
| First sale Jan 29, 2021 | Series A | $22M announced; $25.7M total sold per the combined Form D | Co-led by M12 (Microsoft’s Venture Fund) and Playground Global; Samir Kumar and Jory Bell joined the board | Form D + release |
| Jul 2021 to Dec 2023 | NIH STTR Phase I | $546,376 | NINDS, project 1R41NS118992-01 | NIH |
| Oct 31, 2024 | Strategic investment | Not disclosed | Accenture, through Accenture Ventures | Company release |
What the filings show
1910 Genetics Inc. · Form D · filed Apr 19, 2021
- First sale
- Jan 29, 2021
- Offered
- $25,709,907 equity
- Sold
- $25,709,907 · $0 remaining
- Investors
- 19 · average about $1,353,000
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Related persons
- Jennifer O. Nwankwo (executive officer, director); Samir Kumar (director, M12); Jory Bell (director, Playground Global); Marc Foster (director)
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001855990
Reading the filings
- The filing folds two announced rounds into one number.Company materials describe an unannounced $4.1 million seed led by Sam Altman, followed by a $22 million Series A co-led by M12 and Playground Global, both closing by March 2021. The Form D covers both as a single offering with a first sale date of January 29, 2021 and shows $25,709,907 sold, close to but not identical to either the $4.1M plus $22M sum ($26.1M) the company gives in 2024 press materials. The roughly $400,000 gap is not explained in the filing; it could reflect rounding, a slightly lower final close, or proceeds counted differently between the SEC filing and the company’s own later figure.
- Nineteen checks, institutional size.$25.7 million split across 19 investors averages about $1.35 million each. That is consistent with the venture funds named in the announcement (M12, Playground Global) rather than a large syndicate of small angels, even though Sam Altman and other named angels also participated.
- Only one Form D exists.No filing appears for 1910 Genetics before or after April 2021, including nothing tied to the October 2024 Accenture Ventures investment. Companies can raise money under exemptions that do not require a Form D, or Accenture’s stake could have come through a different instrument (a note, a side letter, or a purchase of existing shares) that would not generate a new Regulation D notice. The public record simply does not size that later investment.
- The board on file is small and investor-heavy.The 2021 filing lists founder and CEO Jennifer Nwankwo alongside three outside directors: Samir Kumar of M12, Jory Bell of Playground Global, and Marc Foster. No later filing updates this list.
- Non-dilutive money is a small, separate slice.The $546,376 NIH STTR award for a chronic-pain program is not part of the equity round and is the only NIH or NSF funding found under the company’s name.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Technology partnership | Five-year commercial agreement with Microsoft, announced Feb 2024, on Azure Quantum Elements, following a private preview from Jun 2023. | Confirmed both sides |
| Strategic investor | Accenture Ventures invested and agreed to a business collaboration, Oct 2024. Terms not disclosed by either party. | Company and partner stated |
| Named biopharma customers | None found publicly. Partners named to date, Microsoft and Accenture, are a cloud and technology company and a professional services firm, not biopharma companies buying a drug-discovery program. | Not found |
| Internal pipeline evidence | One pending patent application, US20250257051A1, naming a TYK2 inhibitor program, priority date Jul 2022, published Aug 2025. | Public record |
| Clinical stage | No registered clinical trial and no FDA filing found, consistent with a preclinical-stage discovery platform. | Not found |
What to watch
- A new Form D or other public filing that sizes the Accenture Ventures investment.
- Any amendment to the 2021 Form D reconciling the $25.7M filed figure with the $26.1M the company now cites.
- A named biopharma partner paying for a co-discovery or co-engineering program under the Microsoft deal.
- Movement on the TYK2 program named in the 2025 patent application, including any new grant, publication or trial filing.
The 1910 Genetics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordForm D, 1910 Genetics Inc.
- Public recordNIH RePORTER, award 1R41NS118992-01
- Public recordSBIR.gov award record, 1910 Genetics Inc.
- Public recordUS20250257051A1, Substituted pyrimidine compounds as tyk2 inhibitors
- Independent1910 Genetics Raises $26M in Seed and Series A Funding
- Independent1910 Genetics launches to accelerate therapeutics design
- IndependentMicrosoft, 1910 Genetics eye biopharma breakthroughs
- InvestorWelcoming 1910 Genetics to the M12 Portfolio
- CompanyMicrosoft and 1910 Genetics Partner to Build the Infrastructure Layer for Drug Discovery and Development Using AI and High-Performance Computing
- CompanyAccenture Collaborates with 1910 Genetics to Help Biopharma Companies Transform Drug Discovery with AI
Compiled from SEC, NIH and USPTO public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later, unregistered financings. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in 1910 Genetics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
