Funding profile · Digital mental health

7 Cups

Thirteen years old, Y Combinator backed, and with no securities filing on record. The largest documented cash inflow is not a venture round but a California public contract that was terminated after 13 months.

$2.1MTotal seed investment reported by PCMag in Dec 2018, across 28 investors
$6.7MEstimated payments under the California Tech Suite contract, 2018 to 2019
0Form D or other SEC filings found under either company name
$151,105Net cash returned to CalMHSA under the 2019 settlement

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Summer 2013 Y Combinator batch Not disclosed Y Combinator Press
Sep 2013 Crowdfunding Not disclosed Wefunder VentureDeal
Reported Jan 2014 Post-accelerator seed About $96,000 Not named Local press
Undated Cumulative, company profile $1.2M Y Combinator, Initialized Company-stated
By Dec 2018 Cumulative seed $2.1M 28 investors including Y Combinator, General Catalyst and Andreessen Horowitz PCMag
2018 to 2019 Public contract, not equity About $6.7M California Mental Health Services Authority Public record
Oct 2024 Reported seed $18M None named Aggregator only
As of 2026 Database listing $120K over 3 rounds Not named Contradicts PCMag

What the filings show

7 Cups of Tea Co. · SEC EDGAR · searched Sep 23, 2026

Form D
None
Any filing
None under 7 Cups, 7 Cups of Tea, 7Cups, Seven Cups or Cups of Tea
Third-party mentions
Three filings by unrelated issuers mention the platform, the earliest in May 2017
Implication
Capital raised under Section 4(a)(2) generates no Form D, so silence is not proof that nothing moved

7 Cups Foundation · IRS Form 990 · EIN 83-0727255

Status
501(c)(3), IRS ruling February 2020, Fort Mill, South Carolina
FY2019
Revenue $500,500 · expenses $1,499 · assets $499,001
FY2020
Revenue $2,750 · expenses $450,015 · assets $51,736
FY2021
Revenue $100,000 · expenses $24,014
FY2022 to FY2023
Revenue $1,114 then $60
FY2024
Revenue $250,000 · assets $281,799

Reading the filings

  1. There is nothing to read, and that is the finding.A company that has taken money from Y Combinator, General Catalyst and Andreessen Horowitz, by PCMag’s 2018 account, has filed no Form D in 13 years. Rounds placed under Section 4(a)(2) require no notice, so the absence is lawful. It also means no filed document confirms any amount, investor or board seat.
  2. The reported totals do not reconcile.A 2014 local report put post-accelerator seed capital at about $96,000. A company profile page says $1.2 million. PCMag reported $2.1 million across 28 investors in December 2018, an average of about $75,000 each. A 2026 database listing says $120,000 across three rounds, and an aggregator claimed $18 million in October 2024 without naming an investor.
  3. Public money dwarfs private money.The estimated $6.7 million paid under the California contract over 13 months is about $515,000 a month, more than three times the largest credible lifetime equity figure. The best-documented capital event here was a government contract, not a term sheet.
  4. The settlement was a net outflow.7 Cups paid CalMHSA $460,382 and received $309,277, a net $151,105 to the agency. Layoffs followed in late October 2019, a month before it took effect.
  5. The foundation’s 990s track the same episode.$500,500 came in during fiscal 2019 against $1,499 of spending, then $450,015 went out in fiscal 2020. That leaves about $50,000 of the original gift. The founder has said the money was returned to Sutter Health at the donor’s request.
  6. Revenue is thin by design.The company says 99.8 percent of the service is free and that income comes from premium subscriptions, therapy subscriptions and branded instances sold to organizations. In 2018 the CEO described a 40 percent referral cut on therapy priced at $150 a month across about 160 therapists. In April 2025 two sources gave different fees to claim a directory listing: $30 a month and $39.99 a month.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Pricing Free listener chat. Premium $7.99 a month, messaging therapy $159 a month, video therapy $299 a month, as listed in April 2025. Independent
Enterprise Branded instances sold to businesses and universities. No customer named since the California contract ended. Company-stated
Government One known public contract. Terminated Aug 2019 and settled Nov 2019 under a confidentiality clause. Public record
Ownership Y Combinator holds 7 percent, per the founder in 2024. No cap table, valuation or later investor is on record. Independent
Litigation risk Professional bodies asked members in April 2025 to complain to state attorneys general and the FTC over unauthorized therapist listings. No enforcement action is recorded. Public record

What to watch

  • A first Form D, due within 15 days of the first sale in any Regulation D round.
  • Any named investor behind the $18 million figure that circulated in October 2024.
  • Whether a state attorney general or the FTC opens a matter on the directory complaints.
  • The 7 Cups Foundation’s fiscal 2024 return, reporting $250,000 after three quiet years.
  • Any disclosed contract replacing the California revenue.

The 7 Cups story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company and full text search, no filings foundSEC · Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordIRS Form 990 filings, 7 Cups Foundation, EIN 83-0727255ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · Sep 2026
  3. IndependentCalifornia paid millions to access a mental health appMashable · Mar 2024
  4. Independent7 Cups started a therapist directoryMashable · Apr 2025
  5. IndependentAlert on clinician information, with price listCSWA and PsiAN · Apr 2025
  6. InterviewHow 7 Cups digitized the comfort of strangersPCMag · Dec 2018
  7. InterviewTea and sympathy, via the webVirginian-Pilot · Jan 2014
  8. IndependentCompany database listing, $120K over 3 roundsTracxn · 2026
  9. Unverified7 Cups raises $18 million in seed fundingSignalbase · Oct 2024
  10. Company7 Cups FAQ on revenue model7cups.com · Sep 2026
  11. Company7 Cups of Tea innovation profile, funders and totalsMental Health Innovation Network

Compiled from SEC, IRS and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. No Regulation D notice has been filed under this company name; amounts shown are as reported by the named source. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in 7 Cups. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.