Funding profile · Ophthalmic devices and materials
AesculaTech
A Y Combinator company that has never filed a Form D. Almost every dollar an outsider can verify came from the National Eye Institute.
$1.47MNEI SBIR dollars obligated, FY2023 and FY2025
$120KPrivate capital disclosed by trackers, all rounds
0Form D notices filed since incorporation in 2016
Jun 2021Last private financing either tracker records
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 to 2018 | Grant and accelerators, including TMCx and YC Winter 2018 | Not disclosed | Texas Medical Center, Y Combinator, Plug and Play | Tracker, YC |
| Jan 2018 | Seed | Not disclosed | Not named | Tracker |
| Apr 2019 | Seed venture | Not disclosed | Not named | Tracker |
| Jul 2020 | Convertible note | Not disclosed | Not named | Tracker |
| Jun 28, 2021 | Convertible note, second | Not disclosed | Plug and Play Ventures | Tracker |
| Sep 2023 to Feb 2026 | NEI SBIR Fast Track R44EY034758 | $1,471,170 | NIH, non-dilutive | RePORTER |
| All rounds | Disclosed private total | $120,000 | Biosphere Investment Group, Plug and Play, Texas Medical Center, Y Combinator, at least one angel | Tracker |
What the filings show
AesculaTech, Inc. · no Form D on file
- Company search
- No EDGAR filer whose name begins with Aescula, for any form.
- Full text search
- Zero hits across Form D. One hit across all forms: a Mar 5, 2021 NeuroBo Pharmaceuticals 8-K exhibit naming Andrew Bartynski as “Founding CEO for AesculaTech , a Y Combinator backed startup”.
- Effect
- No filed offered amount, sold amount, investor count or related persons for any private round.
National Eye Institute · SBIR Fast Track R44EY034758
- Phase I
- 1R44EY034758-01, FY2023, $250,487
- Phase II
- 4R44EY034758-02, FY2025, $1,220,683
- Total obligated
- $1,471,170
- Project period
- Sep 30, 2023 to Feb 28, 2026
- Contact PI
- Niki Bayat, listed title CEO
California Secretary of State · document 3932999
- Filed
- Aug 5, 2016, stock corporation, formed in Delaware
- Status
- Active and in good standing, as extracted Mar 25, 2026
- Officer
- Niki Bayat, Chief Executive Officer
Reading the filings
- The federal award is twelve times the disclosed private total.$1,471,170 from NEI against $120,000 that trackers have ever put a number on. The grant is the largest financing event anyone can verify, and it ended on February 28, 2026.
- No Form D means no floor and no ceiling.Trackers record six to ten financing events from 2016 to 2021 with amounts blank. So $120,000 is a lower bound on what was raised, not an estimate of it.
- The private capital clock stopped in June 2021.Both trackers put the last note or equity event on June 28, 2021. Every financing on record after that date is federal.
- The announced grant and the recorded grant differ.The company announced an award “over $1.5 million”. RePORTER records $1,471,170 obligated. The gap is small, and the public figure is the smaller one.
- Spending continued where it is cheap to check.AesculaTech patent applications were filed in March 2024, June 2024, June 2025 and September 2025, the last naming Bayat as inventor and published January 29, 2026. Prosecution costs money, which argues against a dormant shell.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No 510(k), approval, registration, listing or UDI record at FDA as of Sep 22, 2026. | Public record |
| Revenue | Nothing cleared for US sale, so no device revenue. An SBIR awardee profile lists revenue under $0.5M. | Awardee profile |
| Headcount | Y Combinator lists 6. One tracker lists 10. The awardee profile lists 1 to 4. None is dated. | Sources disagree |
| Clinical | NCT05748951, 33 participants, one site in Guadalajara, completed Feb 22, 2024. No results posted. | Public record |
| Model | March 2025 site rewrite emphasizes partnering and licensing. No partner named. | Company-stated |
What to watch
- A first Form D, the earliest public sign of a round on Regulation D terms.
- A follow-on NIH award after the February 28, 2026 project end.
- A named licensee or development partner, which the 2025 repositioning implies.
- A 510(k) submission, which would convert five years of pathway talk into a record.
The AesculaTech story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text search for AesculaTech
- Public recordNIH RePORTER R44EY034758
- Public recordCalifornia business registry, document 3932999
- Public recordopenFDA 510(k), registration and UDI queries
- Public recordUS 11,400,044 B2 and five applications
- TrackerAesculaTech financials and investors
- TrackerAesculaTech deal history, investors and patents
- IndependentAesculaTech Inc SBIR awardee profile
- CompanyNIH Fast Track SBIR announcement and About Us page
Compiled from SEC, NIH, FDA, USPTO and California records as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; a company selling securities under Section 4(a)(2) files none, so the absence of a Form D is not evidence that no money was raised. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in AesculaTech. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
