Funding profile · Clinical decision support

AgileMD

Fifteen years old, FDA cleared, and nearly invisible in the capital markets. Most of the money traceable to AgileMD through a government record is non-dilutive, and the SEC holds no Form D from the company at all.

$2.75MFederal dollars on record: an NIH R44 plus a BARDA DRIVe contract
$2.5MPrivate capital reported by Wellfound, one round, dated June 2012
0Form D filings in SEC EDGAR under any AgileMD entity
$5.0MEstimated 2024 revenue, third party estimate, 18 employees

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2011 Prizes and university grants Not disclosed Kaplan New Venture Challenge, Chicago Biotech Consortium, UChicago Innovation Fund Company-stated
Summer 2011 Y Combinator batch note $150,000 convertible, offered batch wide Y Combinator, SV Angel, Start Fund TechCrunch
2012 Rock Health, second batch Not disclosed Rock Health TechCrunch
Jun 2012 Seed $2.5M in one round (Wellfound); $2.0M over four (Tracxn) Not named by either Aggregator
May 2021 BARDA DRIVe contract 75A50121C00043 $750,000 BARDA Public record
Sep 2021 NIH SBIR Phase II, 1R44EB030955-01A1 $1,995,966 NIBIB Public record
To Sep 2026 Regulation D offering None on file None Not found

What the public records show

SEC EDGAR · Form D search · run Sep 22, 2026

Company index
No matching companies for AgileMD
Full text
Zero Form D hits for the term AgileMD
Vehicles
No SPV or fund filing naming the company

NIH · award 1R44EB030955-01A1 · FY2021

Amount
$1,995,966
Mechanism
R44 SBIR Phase II, to AGILEMD, INC.
Institute
NIBIB
Investigator
Dana Peres Edelson, co-founder and chief medical officer
Period
Sep 22, 2021 to Mar 21, 2025

BARDA DRIVe · contract 75A50121C00043 · May 5, 2021

Amount
$750,000, cost-share
Purpose
Finish regulatory work, pilot eCART in ten hospitals
Downstream
BARDA is a named collaborator on trial NCT05893420

Reading the filings

  1. The only capital a government record confirms is non-dilutive.$1,995,966 from NIH plus $750,000 from BARDA is $2,745,966, which matches the company’s repeated claim of nearly $3 million and is the only funding figure here checkable against a primary source.
  2. Grants outweigh reported equity.Against the $2.5 million Wellfound reports, federal money is about 52% of the roughly $5.25 million identifiable from any source. For a fifteen year old company with a cleared device, that is a very small dilutive stack.
  3. No Form D is a fact about filings, not about money.A company raising under Section 4(a)(2) files nothing. The absence rules out the usual trail, a priced round, an SPV, board seats on a cover page, but it does not prove no equity was sold.
  4. The aggregators disagree.Wellfound reports $2.5 million in one round dated June 14, 2012. Tracxn reports $2.0 million over four rounds, dates a seed to June 4, 2012, counts the 2021 NIH award as a round, and names a co-founder, Kurt Ericson, absent from the company’s own account and from contemporaneous reporting. GetLatka lists funding as $0. Treat all three as soft.
  5. The last dated private round is fourteen years old.If that is right, the 2019 Quant HC merger, the 2023 FDA submission and the commercial build since were paid for by revenue and federal awards. GetLatka estimates 2024 revenue at $5 million on 18 employees, about $278,000 per head. The NIH award ended March 21, 2025 with no successor on record, and the pivotal trial runs to December 2026.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory FDA 510(k) K233253, cleared Jun 21, 2024, adults on medical-surgical wards. Pediatrics not covered. Public record
Named customers Yale New Haven Health (seven hospitals, live Jan 2024), UNC Health (Feb 2024), John Muir Health, BayCare, University of Wisconsin Health, UChicago Medicine. Independent and partner
Outcome claim Yale reports a 13% relative and 1.2% absolute mortality reduction since go live. Told to a trade outlet, not published. Independent
Scale Four company channels, four answers: 40,000 providers and 130 hospitals (2021), 135,000 and 250 (2024), 150,000 and 400 plus (website), 65,000 and 81 (Y Combinator profile). Company figures disagree
Headcount 19 (Y Combinator), 20 in Jul 2026 (Tracxn), 18 (GetLatka). Company and aggregator

What to watch

  • A first Form D, due within 15 days of a first sale. It would be the company’s first, which makes it a signal rather than routine.
  • A successor federal award to replace R44EB030955.
  • Results from NCT05893420, primary completion estimated December 31, 2026.
  • A pediatric clearance, which would widen the population beyond the adult label.

The AgileMD story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company and Form D searches, no resultsSEC · Sep 22, 2026
  2. Public recordNIH RePORTER award 1R44EB030955-01A1NIBIB · FY2021
  3. Public recordBARDA and AgileMD partnership announcementmedicalcountermeasures.gov · May 5, 2021
  4. Public recordFDA 510(k) K233253FDA · Jun 21, 2024
  5. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT05893420 and NCT06771830NLM
  6. IndependentAgileMD funding rounds and investorsWellfound · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  7. IndependentAgileMD company profile, funding and teamTracxn · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  8. IndependentAgileMD revenue and team size estimateGetLatka · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  9. IndependentYC, Rock Health-Backed Agile Diagnosis LaunchesTechCrunch · Apr 3, 2012
  10. IndependentHow Yale New Haven Health uses eCARTBecker’s Hospital Review · Aug 19, 2025
  11. CompanyAgileMD FDA clearance release, with federal funding disclosureBusiness Wire · Jun 25, 2024
  12. CompanyAgileMD website and Y Combinator profileAccessed Sep 22, 2026

Compiled from SEC, NIH, BARDA and FDA public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; the absence of one does not establish that no securities were sold. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in AgileMD. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.