Funding profile · Obesity and metabolic care

Alfie

A single reported pre-seed round, no SEC Form D under the company’s own name, and an acquisition with an undisclosed price. Here is what the public record shows and does not show.

$2.1MPre-seed round, announced June 2023, independently reported
$0Form D filings found under Alfie Health’s own name
UndisclosedPrice of the knownwell acquisition, June 2024

Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2022 Y Combinator, Winter 2022 batch Not disclosed Y Combinator Founder bio
Jun 2023 Pre-seed $2.1M Led by Y Combinator and Nina Capital; Goodwater Capital, Phoenix Investment Club and angel investors, including, per the company, the founder of Opentrons Independent
Jun 2024 Acquired by knownwell Not disclosed Acquirer: knownwell, backed by Andreessen Horowitz Bio and Health and Flare Capital Partners Independent

What the filings show

No Form D appears in SEC EDGAR under Alfie Health’s own name. A name search turns up several unrelated filers that also use the word Alfie: Alfie Investors LLC, Alfie Private Line of Credit LLC, Alfie Income All Asset All Authority Fund LLC and Alfie Growth All Asset All Authority Fund LLC, all filing repeatedly between 2016 and 2026, plus one-off mentions from companies like FINEOS Corp Holdings, Thinkingbox Holdings and Bright Green Corp. None of these filers have any stated connection to a New York obesity telehealth company founded in 2022, and none are treated as records of this company here.

That leaves the $2.1 million pre-seed round as the only figure on the public record, and it comes from press coverage, not from a regulatory filing. A pre-seed of that size, run through Y Combinator, is a common case for a company to raise under an exemption that does not require a Form D, or to have simply not filed one, or filed one that this search did not surface.

Reading the filings

  1. The company’s own name search is noisy.Every EDGAR hit for the word Alfie belongs to entities with no stated tie to this company: investment vehicles with Alfie in the name, and unrelated corporate filers that happen to mention it once. None of them are counted toward Alfie Health’s funding here.
  2. A regulated filing never surfaced.Whatever legal basis Alfie used to raise its pre-seed round, whether it filed a Form D that this search missed, relied on an exemption that does not require one, or simply never filed, cannot be determined from the public record alone.
  3. The investor list does not fully agree with itself.FinSMEs and MedCity News, reporting the same June 2023 round, name Y Combinator, Nina Capital, Goodwater Capital, Phoenix Investment Club and unnamed angels. The company’s own Y Combinator page adds Air Force Ventures to that list. No independent report of the round names Air Force Ventures.
  4. The acquisition price is a gap, not a zero.Both knownwell and Alfie declined to disclose deal terms, according to Fierce Healthcare, Business Insider and MedCity News, all reporting the same June 20, 2024 announcement. Knownwell is privately held and files no 10-K, 10-Q or 8-K, so there is no public filing to check the price against.
  5. The buyer had far more capital than the target.Knownwell had raised $24.5 million by the time of the deal, including a $20 million Series A closed six months earlier, against Alfie’s reported $2.1 million. That gap is consistent with an acquihire-style deal for technology and a founder rather than a scale acquisition, though neither side has called it that.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Acquisition Acquired by knownwell, announced Jun 20, 2024. Founder Alexander Singh joined knownwell as head of analytics. Alfie’s standalone platform and affiliated clinics were shut down. Independent
Payer relationships Company said it billed insurance in Maryland, Virginia, New York, New Jersey, California, Texas, Florida and Washington, D.C. Company-stated
Enterprise relationships Company said it worked with a cardiology group and a self-funded employer client, both unnamed. Company-stated
Direct-pay pricing $120 a month out of pocket, per company statement to MedCity News in 2023. Company-stated
Regulatory exposure No FDA warning letter naming Alfie Health or ObesityRx was found, and the company operated a clinical service rather than selling compounded drugs directly. Not found

What to watch

  • Whether either company ever discloses the acquisition price.
  • Whether an amended or later Form D surfaces under Alfie Health’s own name.
  • Knownwell’s own capital raises, since Alfie’s technology and payer contracts now sit inside that company.

The Alfie story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. IndependentAlfie Health Raises $2.1M in FundingFinSMEs · Jun 29, 2023
  2. IndependentAlfie Health Raises $2.1M for AI-powered Weight Loss PlatformMedCity News, Marissa Plescia · Jul 6, 2023
  3. IndependentKnownwell acquires Alfie Health to integrate AI into its primary and obesity care servicesFierce Healthcare, Heather Landi · Jun 20, 2024
  4. IndependentExclusive: A16z-backed Knownwell is buying AI-powered Alfie Health to supercharge its obesity careBusiness Insider, Rebecca Torrence · Jun 20, 2024
  5. IndependentKnownwell Acquires Competitor to Expand Access to Comprehensive Obesity CareMedCity News, Katie Adams · Jun 21, 2024
  6. Independentknownwell acquires Alfie Health to enhance metabolic health offeringsMobiHealthNews, Jessica Hagen · Jun 21, 2024
  7. Companyknownwell Acquires Alfie Health, Builds C-Suite to Expand Access to Tailored, Cost-Effective Obesity Treatment Enabled by AIBusiness Wire · Jun 20, 2024
  8. CompanyAlfie: Democratizing access to precision weight loss medicationsY Combinator company page · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  9. Public recordSEC EDGAR full-text search, filers matching “Alfie”SEC · accessed Sep 25, 2026

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Alfie. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.