Funding profile · Newborn stem cell banking
Anja Health
A $4.9 million consumer health company that reached profitability on about $1.5 million of recurring storage revenue and was sold in 2026. There is no Form D, no named buyer and no disclosed price.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summer 2021 | Preseed | $400,000 | Not disclosed | Founder account |
| Jan to Apr 2022 | Y Combinator W22 | $125,000 for 7% plus $375,000 | Y Combinator | Founder account |
| Apr to Jun 2022 | Seed | $4,500,000 | Seven Seven Six (lead), Harvest Ventures, Crista Galli Ventures; angels including Cleo Abram, Chris Ovitz, Balaji Srinivasan, Zachariah Reitano and Aly Raisman | Company release |
| To date | Cumulative | $4,900,000 | Y Combinator, Seven Seven Six and others | Forbes |
| By May 2026 | Acquisition | Not disclosed | Buyer not named in any source reviewed | Founder statement |
What the filings show
SEC EDGAR · searched September 22, 2026
- Form D
- None. No filing of any type appears under the name Anja Health.
- Full text search
- Zero hits for the phrase Anja Health across all indexed filings.
- Company search
- No registrant matches. The only near name, Anja Life LLC of Newark, New Jersey, CIK 0001970384, filed one Form D in March 2023 and is a separate company.
- Investment vehicles
- No special purpose vehicle formed to invest in Anja Health appears in the record.
- Federal grants
- None. The 25 NSF awards returned by the automated pull are unrelated health science grants matched on a keyword.
- What this means
- A Rule 506 offering requires a Form D within 15 days of first sale. An offering placed under Section 4(a)(2) does not. The absence is not evidence that money did not move; it means the press account cannot be checked against a federal notice filing.
Reading the filings
- The capital story exists only in press and founder accounts.Every dollar in the table above comes from a release, an interview or a magazine profile. Nothing is corroborated by a filing. For a company that raised across three events and then sold, that is an unusually empty federal record.
- The totals reconcile only one way.$400,000 preseed plus $4,500,000 seed equals the $4,900,000 Forbes reports. Y Combinator’s standard $500,000 therefore has to sit inside the $4.5 million seed, or it is not counted in the public total at all.
- The revenue is a storage book, not a sales book.$1.5 million a year across nearly 2,000 families is $750 per family per year, or about $62.50 a month. The listed monthly tiers ran $49, $79 and $99. An average inside that band implies almost every enrolled family was still paying, which is what recurring cryostorage revenue looks like.
- Revenue was roughly 0.3 times capital raised.$1.5 million of annual revenue against $4.9 million raised, with seven employees and stated profitability. Efficient, but not a scale that supports a large multiple on the 2022 seed.
- The affordable positioning holds monthly and weakens over the term.At the listed $199 kit plus $49 a month for eight years, the cord blood only package totals $4,903 for twenty years of storage. The three product package at $99 a month totals $9,703. The AAP, citing 2015 survey data, put private banking at a $1,350 to $2,300 placement fee plus $100 to $175 a year, which is $3,350 to $5,800 over twenty years. The entry tier lands inside that band rather than below it.
- The buyer is invisible and the new chief executive is not.No release names an acquirer. Jan Chen, appointed CEO on June 4, 2026, came from FamilyCord, where she was head of international sales. FamilyCord is itself a consolidator, having bought Southern Cord in 2016 and the bulk of Cord Blood America’s assets for $15.5 million in 2018.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | Private family banking for the donor or a first or second degree relative needs no premarket approval. Establishments must register with FDA, screen and test donors and follow good tissue practice. No FDA warning letter to Anja Health was found. | Public record |
| Laboratory | Vitalant Cord Blood Services, Allendale, New Jersey. The AABB, CAP, ASHI, CLIA and FDA registration credentials belong to Vitalant. Anja performs no processing or storage. | Company-stated |
| Customers | Nearly 2,000 families over roughly five years. Two used a stored unit for a sibling. | Founder-stated |
| Unit economics | Kit $199 plus $49 to $99 a month; collection fees of $300 to $500 at birth on the current site. Terms have changed at least twice since 2022, when tiers were $35 to $85. | Company-stated |
| Clinical evidence | The cerebral palsy trial of 2017 with 63 children and the autism trial of 2020 with 180 children both missed their primary endpoints. ACOG and AAP recommend public over private banking. | Public record |
| Market structure | Roughly half the world’s cord blood banks have disappeared through a decade of consolidation. CBR alone holds more than 1.1 million units. | Independent |
What to watch
- Any Form D filed by the acquirer or a successor entity, which would be the first federal notice tied to this business.
- Identification of the buyer and the consideration paid.
- Whether the storage contracts and the Vitalant relationship transfer intact.
- Whether the post-acquisition claim of serving families since 2008 is reconciled with a June 2021 founding date.
- Price changes under new ownership, since storage revenue is the whole asset.
The Anja Health story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR full text search and company search for Anja Health, zero results
- Public recordForm D, Anja Life LLC, CIK 0001970384, a separate company
- Public recordACOG Committee Opinion No. 771, Umbilical Cord Blood Banking
- Public recordCord Blood Banking for Potential Future Transplantation, with private banking cost survey
- IndependentI got into Y Combinator as a solo founder and left with a $4.5 million investment
- IndependentKathryn Cross, 30 Under 30 profile, total raised
- IndependentCord Blood Industry Consolidation Escalates in 2026
- IndependentFamily Bank profile: Anja Health, pricing and laboratory
- CompanyAnja Health Raises $4.5M Seed Funding Round
- CompanyAnja Health Appoints Stem Cell Banking Veteran Jan Chen as CEO
- FounderI sold Anja Health, with revenue and customer counts
- CompanyOur Lab, How it Works and Shop pages, pricing and credentials
Compiled from SEC, FDA and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice has been filed under the Anja Health name, and an offering placed under Section 4(a)(2) would not require one. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Anja Health. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
