Funding profile · Precision oncology software
Cambridge Cancer Genomics
About $4.5 million of seed capital, no Form D, no Series A, and a set of UK accounts that show exactly how far the money went. Acquired in June 2021, dissolved in January 2023.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| To Aug 2017 | Pre-seed, then a targeted seed | $1.3M target | Not named | TechCrunch |
| 2017 | Y Combinator batch and demo day | Not disclosed | Y Combinator; Pi Campus invested after demo day | Accelerator, investor |
| Dec 14, 2018 | Round labelled Series A by one database | Withheld | Y Combinator, AME Cloud Ventures, Romulus Capital named | Database |
| By Feb 2019 | Seed, cumulative | About $4.5M | Backing described by the company as mostly San Francisco based | Forbes, Business Weekly |
| Jul 3, 2020 | Allotment in the UK subsidiary | £3,357,375 | Cambridge Cancer Genomics, Inc, at £1 per share including premium | Companies House |
| Q1 2020 | Series A, planned | $20M to $50M suggested | Never announced | Never filed or reported |
| Jun 2021 | Acquisition by Dante Labs | Not disclosed | Dante Labs | Company release |
What the filings show
Cambridge Cancer Genomics Ltd. · company 10583580 · register entry
- Incorporated
- 25 January 2017, England and Wales, SIC 72110
- Share capital
- £150, being 15,000,000 ordinary shares of £0.00001, then £183.57 after July 2020
- Charges
- 0 registered, so no secured lending
- Directors
- J W Cassidy throughout; Cambridge Applied Research to 1 Dec 2021; Clifford, Patel and Tsai resigned 19 Jul 2017
- Ending
- Strike off application 5 Oct 2022, dissolved 17 Jan 2023
Cambridge Cancer Genomics Ltd. · accounts · five filings, 2018 to 2022
- Cash at bank
- £981,051, £588,801, £291,458, £33,886, £142,699
- Accumulated losses
- £354,217, £1,585,028, £2,491,042, £3,507,815, then £3,198,326
- Parent funding
- Creditors due after one year of £1,372,755 and £2,321,683, then nil, with £3,357,375 as other equity
- Employees
- Average 3, then 12, then 18 to 31 Jan 2020, then nil
- Options
- 615,500 EMI options to 15 employees at $0.00001
- Audit
- Every filing unaudited, small company and audit exemption regimes
Cambridge Cancer Genomics, Inc · FC034955 · overseas company
- Registered
- UK establishment opened 25 Jan 2017, registration filed 16 Jan 2018
- Incorporated in
- Delaware, number 6453634, Wilmington
- Officers
- John William Cassidy, director; Emil Hewage, secretary
- Status
- Active, with accounts recorded as due to 31 Jan 2018 and none filed since
Reading the filings
- The parent raised it, the subsidiary spent it.The UK company never issued shares to an investor. It was funded by its Delaware parent, first as debt and then as equity: £1,372,755 owed at 31 January 2018, £2,321,683 a year later, then nothing, with 3,357,375 shares issued to Cambridge Cancer Genomics, Inc at £1 each in July 2020. That £3.36 million is the same order of magnitude as the $4.5 million of seed reported in the press, so most of what was raised in Delaware appears to have gone into Cambridge.
- Nothing in Regulation D.The records pull found no Form D under the company name and no EDGAR filing mentioning it. A Delaware company raising from angels and seed funds can use Section 4(a)(2) and file nothing, so the gap is not evidence that no money moved. It does mean the US cap table is invisible.
- The burn rate is readable.Accumulated losses went from £354,217 at 31 January 2018 to £3,507,815 at 31 July 2021: £3,153,598 over 42 months, an average of about £75,000 a month. Cash fell in every single period.
- The last operating year was tight.At 31 July 2021, weeks after the acquisition was announced, the company held £33,886 against £298,193 of trade creditors and was £150,290 in net liabilities. The final period to 30 June 2022 shows no fixed assets, £14 of debtors and £81 of trade creditors: a shell being tidied for closure.
- Headcount peaked early, and the filings disagree.The accounts to 31 January 2020 report an average of 18 employees with 12 the year before. The accounts filed for that earlier year had reported nil. Press reported 25 staff in 2019, which would be the group rather than the UK entity.
- Three totals, and no filing that settles them.Cambridge Judge Business School lists £7.2 million raised. One private market database says $4.62 million across three rounds. Forbes and Business Weekly both said about $4.5 million in early 2019. None of the accounts were audited, so no figure in the set was ever checked by an auditor.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue | No turnover disclosed in any filing. The accounts are filleted balance sheets, permitted for small companies. | Public record |
| Customers | A pilot with the Comprehensive Blood and Cancer Center, Bakersfield, from 2017. No named paying customer found. | Company-stated |
| Partners | Genomics England Discovery Forum, Mar 2019. Dante Labs and Nonacus profiling service, Jun 2020. | Partner-stated |
| Evidence | One peer reviewed paper (Jun 2021), one ESMO abstract on OncOS (2019), five NeurIPS papers (2019). No registered trial. | Public record |
| Public funding | No Innovate UK award found. UKRI records the company only as a studentship partner and a linked organisation. | Public record |
| Exit | Acquired by Dante Labs, 23 Jun 2021. Terms not disclosed by either side. | Company release |
What to watch
- The overseas registration, still active at Companies House with no accounts on file.
- Any disclosure of the Dante Labs consideration. Nothing has been published by either party.
- Whether OncOS appears in any Dante product filing or certification.
- The gap between the £7.2 million on the Cambridge Judge ventures page and the roughly $4.5 million in contemporary reporting.
The Cambridge Cancer Genomics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordRegister entry and filing history, company 10583580
- Public recordOfficers, PSC and charges, company 10583580
- Public recordAnnual accounts, company 10583580, five filings 2018 to 2022
- Public recordOverseas company record FC034955
- Public recordRecords pull: SEC EDGAR, FDA, ClinicalTrials.gov, NIH, PubMed
- Public recordOrganisation and project records
- IndependentCambridge Cancer Genomics offers a better way to gauge effective cancer treatments
- IndependentCancer AI business set for significant funding round
- Independent2019 Europe 30 Under 30, Science & Healthcare
- IndependentPersonalised AI oncology role for Cambridge Cancer Genomics
- IndependentNew York’s Dante Labs acquires Cambridge Cancer Genomics
- DatabaseCompany profile and funding history
- CompanyCambridge Cancer Genomics ventures listing
- InvestorCCG.ai acquired by Dante Labs
- CompanyDante Labs acquires Cambridge Cancer Genomics
Compiled from Companies House, SEC, UKRI and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Figures drawn from Companies House filings reflect the balance sheet date of each filing, and all of the company’s accounts were unaudited. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Cambridge Cancer Genomics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
