Funding profile · Synthetic biology

CB Therapeutics

Ten years old, eight US patents, one announced Series A and no Form D. The only filings the Carlsbad company has made with the SEC are a Regulation CF offering and, six weeks later, its withdrawal.

$7.6MTotal prior capital raised, company-reported on the 2023 Republic offering page
$2.01MRevenue in the most recent fiscal year reported on the Form C
$0Raised in the 2023 Regulation CF offering, withdrawn before its deadline
0Form D filings by the Carlsbad entity, CIK 0001949369

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Aug 2018 Seed, per aggregator records $120,000 305 Ventures, Healthspan Capital, Rebel Fund, Zachary Rapp Aggregator
Apr 2019 Venture round, per aggregator records $7.5M Not disclosed Aggregator
May 2021 Series A, announced oversubscribed Not disclosed re.Mind Capital, in full; Christian Angermayer as advisor Company release
Feb to Apr 2023 Regulation CF, Crowd SAFE on Republic $25,000 target, $1,235,000 maximum, $0 raised None Form C and Form C-W
To Feb 2023 Total prior capital raised $7.6M Not itemised Company via Republic

What the filings show

CB Therapeutics, Inc. · Form C · filed Feb 27, 2023

Incorporated
Mar 20, 2015, Delaware
Security
Crowd SAFE, priced at $1.00, price determination method: arbitrary
Offered
$25,000 target · $1,235,000 maximum · deadline Apr 30, 2023
Intermediary
OpenDeal Portal LLC (Republic), CRD 283874 · 6 percent cash fee plus 2 percent in securities
Employees
18
Latest year
Revenue $2,014,066 · net loss $1,772,158 · cash $1,810,709 · total assets $3,722,376
Prior year
Revenue $0 · net loss $2,278,343 · cash $13,453 · total assets $910,015
Signed by
Sher Ali-Butt (President and CEO, director); Jacob Vogan (director); Jeffrey Miller (director)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001949369

CB Therapeutics, Inc. · Form C-W · filed Apr 11, 2023

Action
Withdrawal of the Regulation CF offering, file number 020-31881
Timing
43 days after the Form C, 19 days before the stated deadline
Outcome
Kingscrowd records the campaign as not funded, $0 raised, at a $45,000,000 valuation
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001949369

CB THERAPEUTICS INC. · Form D · filed Aug 9, 2016 · not this company

Issuer
A Cayman Islands corporation, care of Codan Trust Company, Grand Cayman
Offered
$7,750,000 · sold $4,000,000 · 3 investors
Related persons
Sanjeev Redkar, Guoliang Yu, Alex Wu, Bing Zhu, Jonathan Wang, all of Santa Clara, California
Why it matters
Automated screens attach it to the Carlsbad company
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001681660

Reading the filings

  1. The only offering on the record raised nothing.The Form C set a $25,000 target and a $1,235,000 maximum with an April 30, 2023 deadline. The Form C-W landed on April 11, 43 days after the Form C and 19 days before that deadline. Kingscrowd, which tracked the campaign, records it as not funded at $0.
  2. There is no Form D anywhere for this company.Ten years of operation, a Y Combinator batch and an announced Series A produced zero Regulation D notices under CIK 0001949369. The single Form D under the name belongs to an unrelated Cayman Islands issuer, CIK 0001681660, which sold $4,000,000 of a $7,750,000 offering to 3 investors in 2016, about $1,333,333 each. Issuers raising under Section 4(a)(2) file no Form D, so the absence does not mean no money moved. It does mean nothing is verifiable.
  3. Two million dollars of revenue bought half a million of loss reduction.Revenue went from $0 to $2,014,066 between the two years in the Form C, while the net loss narrowed from $2,278,343 to $1,772,158, an improvement of $506,185. The other roughly $1.5M went into costs. Kingscrowd read the later year as 2021, which puts the company at a $147,700 monthly burn and 12.3 months of runway on the same data.
  4. The balance sheet turned inside that year.Cash went from $13,453 to $1,810,709 and total assets from $910,015 to $3,722,376, while total debt fell from $1,408,783 to $475,665, a reduction of $933,118. That pattern fits an equity round landing in the period, which is what the May 2021 Series A announcement describes, and which no Form D records.
  5. Receivables were almost nothing.Accounts receivable of $14,066 against $2,014,066 of revenue is 0.7 percent, roughly two and a half days of sales. Revenue is reported as exactly $2,000,000 above receivables. The filing does not break revenue out by customer or by product.
  6. The valuation was company set.Kingscrowd records a $45,000,000 valuation on a Crowd SAFE whose price determination method the Form C states as arbitrary. Against $2,014,066 of revenue that is about 22 times revenue, asked of retail investors on a portal, three months before the offering was pulled.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Customers First commercial cannabinoid shipment announced June 2020. No pharmaceutical or consumer customer has been named since. Company-stated
Partnerships Cleveland Clinic memorandum of understanding, April 2020. TryptageniX joint venture with atai, December 2021, unwound December 2023 when atai transferred its equity back and booked a $0.4 million gain. Public record
Intellectual property 8 granted US patents, the most recent May 21, 2024. 15 published applications, the most recent June 5, 2025. Public record
Headcount 21 in April 2022 with 26 forecast for year end; 18 on the February 2023 Form C and on the Y Combinator page today. Below the forecast
Aggregator data One funding database publishes a $395.0 million round for CB Therapeutics. No filing, release or report supports it. Unsupported

What to watch

  • A Form D. It is due within 15 days of the first sale in any new Regulation D offering.
  • A new Form C. Because the 2023 offering was withdrawn before any sale, no annual Form C-AR obligation followed, which is why the public financial record stops at the two years in that filing.
  • A named customer, or any revenue figure later than the one in the Form C.

The CB Therapeutics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm C, CB Therapeutics, Inc., CIK 0001949369SEC EDGAR · Feb 27, 2023
  2. Public recordForm C-W, CB Therapeutics, Inc., file number 020-31881SEC EDGAR · Apr 11, 2023
  3. Public recordForm D, CB THERAPEUTICS INC., CIK 0001681660, unrelated Cayman Islands issuerSEC EDGAR · Aug 9, 2016
  4. Public recordATAI Life Sciences N.V. Form 10-K for fiscal 2024, TryptageniX disclosuresSEC EDGAR · Mar 17, 2025
  5. Public recordUS patents 10,435,727 through 11,987,602 and 15 published applicationsUSPTO, via Justia Patents · 2016 to 2025
  6. IndependentCB Therapeutics on Republic 2023, valuation, prior capital and financialsKingscrowd, Sweeny Kumar · Feb 28, 2023
  7. IndependentCB Therapeutics on the Move, revenue and headcountSan Diego Business Journal, Ray Huard · May 18, 2022
  8. IndependentCB Therapeutics Secures $395MSignalbase · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  9. CompanyCB Therapeutics Closes on Oversubscribed Series ABusiness Wire · May 10, 2021
  10. CompanyCB Therapeutics and atai Life Sciences launch TryptageniXGlobeNewswire · Dec 9, 2021

Compiled from SEC, USPTO and Federal Register public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form C notices report offerings under Regulation Crowdfunding; a Form C-W withdraws one. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in CB Therapeutics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.