Funding profile · Women’s health rehabilitation
Comet Health
A Y Combinator Summer 2021 company that raised about the size of a single accelerator check and never filed a Form D. The only securities record is the absence of one.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and vendor-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 1, 2021 | Accelerator or incubator | $125,000 | Y Combinator Summer 2021 batch | PitchBook |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Early stage VC | Not disclosed; raised to date unchanged | Not named | PitchBook |
| Undated | Early stage VC | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook |
| Cumulative | Seed VC | $130,000 | The MBA Fund, Y Combinator | CB Insights |
| Jun 9, 2025 | Out of business | Not applicable | Not applicable | PitchBook |
| 2021 to 2026 | Federal grants | $0 | No NIH or NSF award found | NIH, NSF |
What the filings show
SEC EDGAR · no Form D · searched Sep 23, 2026
- Full text search
- Query “Comet Healthcare”, 0 hits across all form types
- Company search
- Form D filers matching “comet”: 11 entities, none of them this company
- Offered and sold
- No offering and no amount on record
- Exemption
- None claimed under Regulation D
- Filing
- No CIK assigned
NPPES · organization NPI 1538738422 · enumerated Jun 23, 2021
- Legal name
- COMET HEALTHCARE INC
- Address
- 3301 Richmond Hwy Suite 1030, Alexandria, VA 22305
- Status
- Active. Certified and last updated Jun 23, 2021.
- Taxonomy
- 208100000X, Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. No license number recorded.
- Authorized person
- Katelyn Nicole Honda, COO
- Filing
- CMS NPPES, NPI-2 organization record
Reading the filings
- The absence of a Form D is itself the finding.Regulation D offerings require a Form D within 15 days of first sale. None exists here. That does not mean no money moved: accelerator SAFEs and small notes are commonly placed under Section 4(a)(2), which carries no filing. It does mean every capital figure on this page comes from a private data vendor rather than a filing.
- The two vendors disagree by $5,000.PitchBook says $125,000 raised to date. CB Insights says $130,000, about 4 percent more. Neither publishes the underlying document. That is the sort of gap that appears when one vendor rounds an accelerator package and the other adds a separate small check.
- The dated deals do not add up to a priced round.PitchBook logs three deals and sizes only the first, an accelerator investment of $125,000 booked to January 1, 2021. That date is a placeholder: the batch reached demo day on September 1, 2021 and the provider registration was enumerated on June 23, 2021. The two later entries carry no amount and leave raised to date unchanged, which is what a vendor records when it hears a round happened and never sees a number.
- A status of out of business dated June 9, 2025 sits against a product shipping in 2026.The website sells subscriptions at $11.99 a month and an iOS app is published under the copyright of Comet Healthcare Inc. CB Insights lists the company alive, Seedtable active, the seed dataset behind this profile inactive. The reading that fits all four: the clinical business wound down and the brand continued as a consumer app run by one founder, who is the named seller on the app listing.
- The capital gap against the category is the whole story.Origin, selling the same therapy, told Femtech Insider in January 2026 that it runs 19 clinics in seven states, employs about 200 people and has insurance partnerships covering 50 million lives, and it raised a Series B. Sword Health reached the same patients through a payer, with Highmark launching a virtual pelvic health benefit to about 7 million members in February 2025. Winning here takes payer contracting and a clinician roster. Neither is reachable on $125,000.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA 510(k) or PMA, no device. The current product is marketed as fitness and education, not treatment. | Public record |
| Licensure | One organization NPI, enumerated Jun 2021, never updated, under a physical medicine and rehabilitation taxonomy with no license on file. | Public record |
| Payer | Cash pay throughout. Superbill on request. No payer contract ever announced. | Company-stated |
| Pricing | Then: $100 initial evaluation, $75 follow up, $10 a month for the curriculum. Now: $11.99 monthly, $29.99 quarterly, $59.99 yearly across eight programs. | Company-stated |
| Traction | The iOS app has too few ratings to display an overview. No user, revenue or outcome figure published. | Not found |
| Policy exposure | Medicare telehealth eligibility for physical therapists nearly lapsed Jan 30, 2026 and now runs to Dec 31, 2027. The PT Compact covers 38 actively issuing states. | Public record |
What to watch
- A first Form D. Any priced raise would have to produce one within 15 days of first sale.
- Whether the NPI is updated or deactivated. It has been untouched since June 2021.
- Whether PitchBook revises the out of business status, given the live app and website.
- Any return to billed clinical care, which needs licensed clinicians and a payer path the company never had.
The Comet Health story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR searches for Comet Healthcare, zero matching filings
- Public recordNPPES NPI registry, organization NPI 1538738422, Comet Healthcare Inc
- Public recordTelehealth policy updates; PT Compact member states
- IndependentComet Healthcare company profile, deal history and status
- IndependentComet Health company profile, total raised and investors
- IndependentOrigin Raises Series B to Scale Hybrid Model for Women’s MSK Care
- IndependentHighmark Launches Virtual Pelvic Health Offering Powered by Sword Health
- CompanyComet Health website and app listing, programs, pricing and disclaimers
Compiled from SEC, CMS, NIH and NSF public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice exists for this company, so capital figures here come from private data vendors rather than filings. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Comet Health. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
