Funding profile · Digital health
CrowdMed
Venture backed in 2013 and 2014, then funded by 608 retail investors in a Regulation Crowdfunding note in 2017. No Form D was ever filed. The crowdfunding record is the only window into the company’s own books, and it closes in 2019.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winter 2013 | Y Combinator | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Apr 2013 | Seed | $1.1M | NEA, Andreessen Horowitz, Greylock Partners, SV Angel, Y Combinator | Independent |
| May 2014 | Seed, continued | $2.4M cumulative | Adds Khosla Ventures and Patrick Dempsey | Independent |
| Undated | Named angels | Not disclosed | Anne Wojcicki and Sam Altman per a reference biography; Laurene Powell Jobs per Peninsula Press | Independent |
| Oct 2016 to Apr 2017 | Reg CF convertible note | $200,000 target, $1,000,000 cap, $403,471 final | 608 investors through Wefunder Portal LLC | Form C |
| 2017 | Valuation on that round | $18M | Reported by Kingscrowd; not on the face of the Form C | Independent |
What the filings show
CrowdMed, Inc. · Form C · filed Oct 20, 2016
- Issuer
- Delaware corporation, incorporated Oct 31, 2012; 767 Bryant Street #205, San Francisco
- Security
- Convertible note, increments of $1.00
- Target
- $200,000
- Maximum
- $1,000,000
- Deadline
- Apr 17, 2017
- Intermediary
- Wefunder Portal LLC, CRD 283503, at “4.0% of the offering amount upon a successful fundraise”
- Employees
- 6
- Revenue
- $282,981 (FY2015) · $124,862 (FY2014)
- Net loss
- $802,014 (FY2015) · $977,491 (FY2014)
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001687611
CrowdMed, Inc. · Form C-U · filed May 8 and Dec 21, 2017
- May update
- “$427,232.00 in investments. Payments are still being processed; final number is yet to be determined.”
- Dec update
- “The final number is $403,471.00 in investments.”
- Address
- 548 Market Street #15731, San Francisco
- Employees
- 4
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001687611
CrowdMed, Inc. · Form C-AR · filed Jun 8, 2020, for FY2019
- Employees
- 1
- Revenue
- $127,787.00 · prior year $133,262.00
- Net loss
- $286,139.65 · prior year $721,640.19
- Cash
- $79,073.00 · prior year $376,701.92
- Total assets
- $92,751.34 · prior year $377,801.00
- Long term debt
- $4,671,564.00 · prior year $4,671,564.00
- Signatories
- Danyell Jones, CEO; Lee Jared Heyman, Chairman
- Address
- 11201 N. Tatum Blvd Suite 300 PMB 15731, Phoenix, AZ
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001687611
Reading the filings
- No Form D was ever filed.An EDGAR full text search on September 22, 2026 returned six CrowdMed filings, all in the Form C family; restricted to Form D it returned nothing. Issuers raising under Section 4(a)(2) file no Form D, so the gap does not mean the venture money is fictional. It does mean the $1.1M and $2.4M figures rest on press reporting alone.
- Public tallies disagree.Reporting in 2014 put the seed round at $2.4 million cumulative. A reference biography of the founder states $4.2 million in venture capital. Nothing on file settles it.
- The crowd round doubled its target and missed its cap.Target $200,000, cap $1,000,000, final $403,471 from 608 investors. That averages about $663 each, retail sized rather than angel sized, and stops at 40% of what the company would have taken.
- The count fell between tallies.The May 8, 2017 update reported $427,232 with payments still processing. The December 21, 2017 update settled at $403,471, about 5.6% lower.
- The FY2017 report repeats the 2015 numbers.The Form C-AR filed April 27, 2018 carries the same balance sheet and income figures as the October 2016 Form C, line for line. The document does not say why.
- Debt stood still while cash ran down.Long term debt is $4,671,564 in both years of the FY2019 report, unchanged, while cash fell from $376,701.92 to $79,073 and headcount went from 2 to 1. Nothing shows the 2017 notes converting, and revenue at $127,787 was about 45% of the 2015 peak.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | $50 posting fee and $99 monthly package in 2015; $150 to $350 per case that November; $149 to $749 per month in 2016 and still in 2020; patient funded rewards of $200 to $1,000. | Independent |
| Payer pilots | Four pilots with major insurers reported in Mar 2017. The Wefunder page claims three paid pilots with US health plans. | Company-stated |
| Scale | More than 2,000 patients reported helped by 2017. Wefunder claims over 20,000 registered detectives and over 1,500 resolved cases. | Company-stated |
| Regulatory footprint | No FDA clearance, registered trial or federal award found. | Not found |
| Litigation | A December 2019 search of San Francisco civil dockets returned no suits against CrowdMed. | Independent |
| Last filing | Form C-AR for FY2019, filed Jun 8, 2020. Nothing later on EDGAR as of Sep 22, 2026. | Public record |
| Reported exit | A TEDMED speaker biography states CrowdMed was acquired in 2024. No SEC filing or independent report confirming a sale was found. | Unconfirmed |
What to watch
- Any annual report after FY2019, or a Form C-TR ending the reporting obligation. Neither has been filed.
- Documentation of the 2024 acquisition stated in the founder’s speaker biography.
- Whether the 2017 convertible notes were converted, repaid or written off. 608 holders are waiting on that.
- Whether crowdmed.com resumes taking paid cases.
The CrowdMed story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordForm C, CrowdMed, Inc.
- Public recordForm C/A, CrowdMed, Inc.
- Public recordForm C-U progress updates
- Public recordForm C-AR annual reports
- Public recordEDGAR full text search for CrowdMed
- IndependentYC-Backed CrowdMed Launches To Crowdsource Medical Diagnoses
- IndependentPatrick Dempsey contributes to CrowdMed’s $2.4M seed round
- IndependentCrowdMed on Wefunder 2017, deal terms and financials
- IndependentIn the Wild West of online medicine, crowdsourcing is the next frontier
- IndependentHow internet detectives are helping diagnose rare disorders
- CompanyCrowdMed Wefunder profile, total raised and investor count
- CompanyJared Heyman speaker biography
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. CrowdMed filed under Regulation Crowdfunding rather than Regulation D; Form C amounts reflect the filing or update date and the financial statements are those the issuer placed on file. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in CrowdMed. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
