Funding profile · Teledermatology
Dear Brightly
A Y Combinator company with a subscription business, nine years of operation and almost no financing record. No Form D has ever been filed. The disclosed capital is $125,000.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and data-provider figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 14, 2018 | Accelerator, Y Combinator Winter 2018 | $120,000 | Y Combinator | Data provider |
| Aug 1, 2019 | Early stage VC | Not disclosed | Not named in the record | Data provider |
| Jan 1, 2020 | Early stage VC | Not disclosed | Not named in the record | Data provider |
| Feb 22, 2021 | Accelerator, Target Takeoff Beauty | $5,000 | Target Accelerators | Data provider |
| Undated | Holders listed without a round | Not disclosed | AltaIR Capital, NextView Ventures, two angels | Data provider |
| 2018 to 2026 | Regulation D offerings | None on record | None | SEC |
| 2017 to 2026 | Federal grants | None on record | None | NIH, NSF |
What the filings show
SEC EDGAR · no Form D on record · searched Sep 23, 2026
- Company search
- Dear Brightly, Dearbrightly, DermaLoop, form type D: zero results
- Full text search
- “Dear Brightly”, “DermaLoop”, “dearbrightly”: zero hits in any form type
- Investment vehicles
- No SPV or pooled fund named for the company
- Implication
- Either no Regulation D offering was made, or financings were done under Section 4(a)(2), which requires no Form D
Federal award databases · no award on record · searched Sep 23, 2026
- NIH RePORTER
- No award to the company
- NSF
- One name match, award 2209408, a 2023 biology postdoctoral fellowship to an unrelated awardee, William Brightly
- FDA
- No 510(k), PMA or approved application. The product is a compounded drug under section 503A
Reading the filings
- The absence of a Form D is the finding.A company that has operated a paying subscription since 2018 and has two venture firms on its cap table has filed nothing under Regulation D. Form D is due within 15 days of a first sale. The likeliest reading is that the 2019 and 2020 financings were small and done under Section 4(a)(2), which carries no filing duty, rather than that they did not happen.
- The arithmetic of the disclosed total is trivial.PitchBook’s $125,000 is $120,000 plus $5,000. The two rounds it labels Early Stage VC carry no amount at all. So $125,000 is a floor, not a total, and the true figure above it is unknown.
- The Y Combinator cheque implies the only valuation anchor available.Y Combinator’s deal before the Winter 2019 batch was, in its own words, “our previous deal of $120K for 7%, which was typically executed by buying common stock coupled with a safe”. Dear Brightly was Winter 2018, so $120,000 for 7% implies a post-money of about $1.71 million in March 2018. Nothing later in the record updates it.
- Two venture firms appear with no round attached.AltaIR Capital and NextView Ventures are listed as minority holders with no participating round, no date and no amount. That pattern usually means a small seed cheque that never produced a public announcement. Neither firm has published anything about the company.
- Revenue, not capital, has carried this company.The offer is a $66 trial bottle and then $99 a quarter, with auto-refill and a required repeat consultation after a year. At five employees and no institutional round in six years, the subscription line is doing the work that venture money does elsewhere. The founder claims strong cohort retention; nothing independent verifies it.
- The regulatory position is cheap to hold and cheap to lose.A 503A compounded drug needs no approval, no trial and no grant, which is why the evidence page is empty. The same exemption is conditional on the compounder not making essentially copies of marketed products, and FDA’s 2018 guidance treats a strength move from .08% to .09% as potentially too small to count. The published ceiling for Night Shift is 0.089%.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | $66 trial bottle, about two months. Refills $99 per quarter. A customer on that plan was quoted by the Times in 2023. | Company-stated |
| Geography | Prescription products in 31 states per a 2021 review. No current list published. | Independent |
| Headcount | Five employees per PitchBook; three per Y Combinator directory data. | Data provider |
| Supply chain | Compounding pharmacy unnamed. PCAB-accredited pharmacies were reported in 2018. | Not published |
| Recognition | Target Takeoff Beauty 2021 cohort. Beauty Innovation Awards Personalized Skin Care Product of the Year, Nov 2024. | Company and award |
| Clinical evidence | No trial, no peer-reviewed paper, no federal grant. | Not found |
What to watch
- A first Form D. It would be the first hard number since 2018.
- Whether AltaIR Capital or NextView Ventures ever confirms a position.
- Any state pharmacy or medical board action that narrows the prescribing footprint.
- A named compounding pharmacy, and whether it is a 503A pharmacy or a 503B outsourcing facility.
The Dear Brightly story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR company and full text search, Dear Brightly, Dearbrightly, DermaLoop
- Public recordNSF award 2209408, awardee William Brightly
- Public recordSection 503A, FD&C Act, and the FDA essentially copies guidance
- IndependentDear Brightly company profile, deal history, investors and headcount
- IndependentDearBrightly profile, founding year and total raised
- IndependentNew Standard Deal, the $120K for 7% terms
- IndependentY Combinator increases deal size to $150k
- IndependentYC-backed DearBrightly makes Rx skin care more accessible
- IndependentI Sent My Doctor a Selfie. Intentionally.
- IndependentDear Brightly review, with the 31 state list
- IndependentDear Brightly company listing, batch W18
- CompanyDear Brightly pricing, FAQ and Night Shift product page
Compiled from SEC, NSF, NIH and FDA public records, commercial data providers and published reports as of September 23, 2026. No Form D notice has been filed by or for this company; amounts shown come from data providers and press reports and may be incomplete. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Dear Brightly. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
