Funding profile · Maternal and Medicaid health technology
Elythea
No Form D has ever been filed. What exists is an accelerator cheque, four prizes and grants, two data vendor records that disagree, and a patent the company let lapse.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported and data vendor figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mar 16, 2023 | Brown Venture Prize, first place | $25,000 | Nelson Center for Entrepreneurship, prize pool funded by Jane and Richard Katzman | Independent |
| Jul 1, 2023 | Accelerator | $500,000 | Y Combinator, Summer 2023 batch | PitchBook |
| Jul 26, 2023 | Non-equity assistance | Not disclosed | MassChallenge | Data vendor |
| 2023 | Patient Safety Technology Challenge sponsored prize at the Fowler Global Social Innovation Challenge | Not disclosed | Jewish Healthcare Foundation, University of San Diego, St. Thomas University | Foundation |
| Feb 4, 2024 | Seed round | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | PitchBook |
| Mar 12, 2024 | Accelerator or incubator | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | PitchBook |
| Jan 9, 2025 | Patient Safety Technology Challenge Grand Award, Growth category, at CES | $7,000 | Pittsburgh Regional Health Initiative and Jewish Healthcare Foundation | Foundation |
| Aug 27, 2025 | Grant, prize money | $50,000 | City of San Jose | Data vendor |
What the filings show
SEC EDGAR · no Form D on record · searched Sep 24, 2026
- Registrant search
- Company name “elythea”, all form types: no matching companies
- Full text search
- Term “Elythea” across all filings: 0 hits
- Form D notices
- None, by the company or by any pooled vehicle named for it
- Implication
- Either no Regulation D offering has been made, or every raise has used another exemption such as Section 4(a)(2), which requires no notice filing
- Federal awards
- No NIH and no NSF award found under the company name
- Legal name
- Elythea, Inc., per the Crunchbase record and the USPTO assignment
USPTO · patent application 18/453,802 · published Feb 27, 2025
- Title
- Predicting risk of pregnancy-related complications using machine learning
- Filed
- Aug 22, 2023
- Assignment
- Reetam Ganguli to Elythea, Inc., effective Oct 6, 2023, reel and frame 065220/0062
- Status
- Abandoned, for failure to respond to an office action
- Publication
- US 2025/0069754 A1
Reading the filings
- The equity story is small enough to stay invisible.A company that had raised meaningful priced equity would almost always leave a Form D. There is none, and no EDGAR document mentions the name. The capital on record is accelerator money, prize money and undisclosed seed paper.
- The two data vendors do not agree.PitchBook puts raised to date at $2.0M across six deals and lists 11 investors. Tracxn says the company “has raised a total of $500K over 2 funding rounds”, one a $50K grant from the City of San Jose and the other a $500K Y Combinator seed, which does not sum to its own total either. Only two amounts appear in either record: $25,000 in March 2023 and $500,000 in July 2023. The remaining $1.48M of PitchBook’s figure is unattributed.
- Named investors are unconfirmed.PitchBook lists Matter, Exitfund, Johnson and Johnson Impact Ventures, Kleiner Perkins and MyAsiaVC as 5 of 11 investors. No announcement, release or filing confirming any was found. Treat it as vendor data, not a cap table.
- Prize money is a visible share of the total.$32,000 of documented, named, non-dilutive prize money against $525,000 of documented accelerator and grant capital. The prizes are the best documented items here, because foundations publish and startups do not.
- The only hard asset lapsed.The machine learning patent application was assigned to the company in October 2023 and abandoned after no response to an office action. Whatever the models are worth, no granted US patent protects them.
- Headcount does not match the story.PitchBook lists 3 employees. The company describes serving patients for one of the largest Medicaid managed care plans in the country, a Fortune 25 company, and talks with Fortune 10 plans. Both can be true for a thin voice AI vendor, but the gap is worth pricing.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA 510(k) or PMA record. FDA reissued its Clinical Decision Support Software guidance in January 2026; no public determination for this product was found. | Public record |
| Clinical evidence | One SMFM 2024 conference abstract, AUC 0.75 on CDC natality data. No registered trial on ClinicalTrials.gov. No journal article with an Elythea affiliation in PubMed. | Public record |
| Product | Repositioned from an EHR-integrated obstetric risk score to SMS member engagement in January 2025, then to voice AI outbound for managed care by August 2025, then to Medicaid and Medicare Advantage by June 2026. | Archived captures |
| Customers | One unnamed Fortune 25 Medicaid managed care plan, plus engagement with Fortune 10 plans. No customer has ever been named. | Company-stated |
| Performance claim | Over 9 times more effective at engaging Medicaid patients than traditional call centers, per the founder. No published data behind it. | Company-stated |
| Location | PitchBook lists San Jose, CA. Crunchbase lists the Greater Philadelphia Area and a founding date of November 2022. The YC directory record used for this profile lists San Diego, CA and 2023. | Records disagree |
What to watch
- A first Form D. One is due within 15 days of the first sale in any Regulation D offering.
- A priced round with a named lead, which would test the PitchBook investor list.
- Any continuation or refiling of the abandoned patent application.
- A named health plan contract, or revenue disclosure of any kind.
- A registered trial, which is what would move the clinical claims from description to evidence.
The Elythea story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR company search and full text search for Elythea, no results
- Public recordUS patent application 2025/0069754 A1, assignment and abandonment history
- Public recordClinicalTrials.gov API query for Elythea, zero studies returned
- Public recordAbstract 171, machine learning for severe postpartum hemorrhage
- IndependentElythea company profile, valuation, funding and investors
- IndependentElythea funding rounds and list of investors
- IndependentStudent startups vie for slice of $50,000 prize pool in 6th annual Brown Venture Prize
- IndependentHealthcare Innovators Shine in Patient Safety Technology Competition at CES 2025
- InterviewBeyond the Prize: Reetam Ganguli and Elythea’s Work Still Focused and Driven
- IndependentElythea company and funding record, non-equity assistance with MassChallenge
- Companyelythea.org archived captures, January 2025, August 2025 and June 2026
- CompanyElythea company page and Launch YC post
Compiled from SEC, USPTO, FDA, NIH, NSF and ClinicalTrials.gov public records, from published reports and from commercial data vendors, as of September 24, 2026. No Form D notice has been filed by or for this company; vendor figures are estimates and are labeled as such. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Elythea. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
