Funding profile · Life science compliance software

Enzyme

One announced seed round of $1.85 million in January 2018, no Form D on file with the SEC at any point, and an acquisition by the category leader in July 2025 on undisclosed terms. The capital record is short, and most of what is published about it does not agree.

$1.85MSeed round announced Jan 18, 2018, the only amount ever confirmed by the company and an investor
0Form D filings with the SEC under Enzyme Corporation, from founding to acquisition
$1.97MTotal across two rounds per Tracxn, versus $2M per GetLatka and $120K per CB Insights
1.6%Enzyme total funding as a share of the $121M raised by the company that bought it

Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported and vendor-estimated figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2017 Friends and family Not disclosed Not named Founder interview
Summer 2017 Y Combinator, 25th batch Not disclosed Y Combinator Investor
Jan 18, 2018 Seed, on SAFEs $1,850,000 Refactor Capital, Data Collective, Soma Capital, Rock Health, angels including Elizabeth Iorns of Science Exchange TechCrunch, Rock Health
Date not stated Equity holding Not disclosed GSR Ventures, which lists Enzyme on its own portfolio page Investor
2022 Majority share purchase Not disclosed Roivant Sciences, reported once and never repeated Single source
Jul 23, 2025 Acquisition Not disclosed Greenlight Guru, backed by JMI Equity Release and trade press

What the filings show

Enzyme Corporation · Form D · none on file

Company search
EDGAR company search for Form D filers whose name contains enzyme returns three filers: EnzymeBioSystems, Enzyme Media, Inc. and Wheel Health, Inc. None is this company.
Exemption used
Unknown. The 2018 round was raised on SAFEs per the founder, and an issuer relying on Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D files no Form D.
Effect
No offered amount, no sold amount, no investor count and no related persons are available from the SEC for this company.

Lucira Health, Inc. · Form 8-K · filed Apr 18, 2023

Item
1.01, entry into a material definitive agreement. Period of report Apr 12, 2023.
Exhibit 2.1
Asset purchase agreement between Lucira Health, Inc. and Pfizer Inc., dated Apr 12, 2023, executed in a Chapter 11 sale process.
Enzyme entry
Schedule 1.1(e), Assigned Contracts: type Contract, counterparty Enzyme Corporation, description Service Agreement.
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001652724

Reading the filings

  1. The SEC has nothing on this company.Not one Form D across eight years and at least three financings. The founder said in a December 2018 interview that the capital was all on SAFEs and that no priced round had been done. A SAFE sold under Regulation D still triggers a Form D within 15 days of first sale, so the absence points to Section 4(a)(2) reliance instead. The practical result is that every capital figure on this page comes from journalism, an investor blog or a data vendor, not from a filing.
  2. Four sources give four totals.TechCrunch and Rock Health both reported $1.85M in January 2018. Tracxn says $1.97M across two rounds. GetLatka says $2M, split $1.9M seed plus $120K pre-seed. CB Insights says total raised $120K, which is the pre-seed alone. The spread between the highest and lowest published total is 16 times.
  3. The revenue estimate does not survive division.GetLatka estimates $10.3M of 2024 revenue against 21 customers, which is $490,476 each, and it prints an average contract value of $488,600. But the 21 is the same count Seehafer gave in December 2018, when he put the run rate near $1 million, about $48,000 per customer, and called $50,000 a year the sweet spot for a small company. Software Advice lists a starting price of $1,000 per month, or $12,000 a year. A stale 2018 denominator divided into a 2024 estimate produces a number roughly ten times the only per-customer prices on the record.
  4. A majority stake appears once and then vanishes.Olin College reported in March 2023 that Roivant Sciences became majority shareholder in 2022 and that the alumni investment collective Parcel B donated part of its proceeds back to the college. Roivant appears in none of the 2025 acquisition coverage, in no investor list at Tracxn or CB Insights, and in no SEC filing referring to this company. If the report is right, the 2025 sale was Roivant selling a controlling position, not founders selling a startup.
  5. The buyer had 61 times the capital.Tracxn puts Greenlight Guru at $121M raised against Enzyme at $1.97M, with MasterControl at $150M, Qualio at $63.9M and Ketryx at $55M. Enzyme ranked twentieth of 150 competitors on the same list and the acquirer ranked first. Being the smallest funded credible player in a consolidating category is the whole explanation of the outcome.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Named customer Lucira Health service agreement, assigned to Pfizer in the April 2023 bankruptcy sale. Public record
Early customers Ten device and diagnostic companies by January 2018, including PathAI and Biomeme. Investor
Certification No ISO 13485 registration, no SOC 2 report and no third party attestation published for Enzyme itself. The website states a commitment to applicable ISO 9001:2015 requirements. Not found
Regulatory tailwind The FDA Quality Management System Regulation took effect Feb 2, 2026, incorporating ISO 13485:2016 into 21 CFR Part 820 and opening management reviews and internal and supplier audit reports to FDA inspection. Public record
Exit Acquired by Greenlight Guru Jul 2025, the buyer’s second acquisition in five weeks. Terms undisclosed. Release and trade press

What to watch

  • Any amended or late Form D, which would be the first SEC record this company ever produced.
  • Whether Roivant Sciences is ever confirmed or corrected as a holder, by either party.
  • Whether Greenlight Guru keeps Enzyme as a product line or folds its customers into the main platform.

The Enzyme story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordEDGAR company search, Form D filers named enzyme, and full text search for Enzyme CorporationSEC · accessed Sep 24, 2026
  2. Public recordLucira Health, Inc. Form 8-K and Exhibit 2.1 asset purchase agreement with Pfizer Inc.SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001652724 · Apr 18, 2023
  3. IndependentEnzyme.com wants to make FDA compliance easier for startupsTechCrunch, Sarah Buhr · Jan 18, 2018
  4. IndependentAlum’s startup becomes big player in biomedical and software industriesOlin College · Mar 29, 2023
  5. IndependentEnzyme company profile, funding, competitors and acquisition recordTracxn · accessed Sep 24, 2026
  6. IndependentEnzyme revenue and customer estimates, with the December 2018 founder interview transcriptGetLatka · accessed Sep 24, 2026
  7. IndependentGreenlight Guru acquires Enzyme, deal recordPrivSource · Jul 23, 2025
  8. InvestorFDA compliance made easy: welcome, EnzymeRock Health · Jan 18, 2018
  9. InvestorEnzyme portfolio pageGSR Ventures · accessed Sep 24, 2026
  10. AcquirerGreenlight Guru acquires Enzyme to power ongoing innovation and strengthen customer supportPR Newswire · Jul 24, 2025
  11. CompanyA grateful goodbye and a confident step forwardEnzyme, Jared Seehafer · Jul 23, 2025

Compiled from SEC and FDA public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice exists for this company, so the capital figures here come from reporting and data vendors rather than filings. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Enzyme. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.