Funding profile · DNA data storage

Kern Systems

Seven years after a Y Combinator batch and a Nature Communications paper, the public capital record for Kern Systems is one accelerator entry, one undated venture entry, and a $150,000 total carried by two commercial databases. There is no Form D and no federal award.

$150KTotal funding on record, per Craft and PitchBook
0Form D filings in SEC EDGAR, checked Sep 23, 2026
$0Federal awards found in USAspending, NIH and NSF
3Investors named by PitchBook across all rounds

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and database-reported figures are labeled separately.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Undated Accelerator or incubator, first entry Not disclosed Not named in the public preview PitchBook
Aug 19, 2019 Accelerator or incubator Not disclosed Y Combinator, Summer 2019 batch PitchBook, YC
Jan 1, 2021 Early stage venture Not disclosed Metaplanet Holdings and Harvard Innovation Launch Lab are listed as investors without round attribution PitchBook
Cumulative Total raised to date $150,000 Same three names Craft, PitchBook
2019 to 2026 Regulation D offerings None None SEC EDGAR
2019 to 2026 Federal contracts and grants None None USAspending, NIH, NSF

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · no Form D on file · checked Sep 23, 2026

Company search
No registrant named Kern Systems
Full text search
Zero hits on Form D for the phrase Kern Systems
Vehicles
No SPV, series LLC or fund named for the company
Reading
Consistent with a company that has raised only accelerator money, or only under Section 4(a)(2), which requires no notice
Filing
None

Federal award databases · no awards on file · checked Sep 23, 2026

USAspending
No prime contract or grant, 2007 to 2026, on either the company name or Kern Systems Inc
NIH RePORTER
No project with Kern Systems as the organization
IARPA MIST
Up to $23,000,000 to the Broad led Molecular Encoding Consortium and up to $25,000,000 to the GTRI led SMASH team, about $48,000,000 combined
Kern participation
Not named in either award announcement, nor as a subcontractor in any published account
Filing
None

Reading the filings

  1. The entire disclosed capital base is one accelerator check.Craft and PitchBook both put total funding at $150,000 across three deal entries spanning 2019 to 2021. Divided across PitchBook’s two employees, that is $75,000 per head of lifetime capital. For a product that needs custom hardware and protein engineering, that is too small to fund a machine, which suggests either undisclosed capital or a much narrower scope.
  2. A January 1 date is a database placeholder, not a closing.The 2021 entry is dated 01-Jan-2021, carries no amount, no post-money valuation and no named lead. Investor attribution sits at the company level rather than the round level. Treat the existence of a 2021 financing as unconfirmed.
  3. No Form D is not the same as no money.Issuers relying on Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D file nothing. Y Combinator standard instruments and small friends and family rounds frequently leave no federal trace. The absence sets a ceiling on what can be verified, not on what was raised.
  4. The government money in this field went to other people.IARPA committed roughly $48,000,000 across two MIST consortia in 2019. Kern Systems, whose founding paper predates the program by three months and whose co-founder chairs the relevant Harvard lab, is absent from both. Harvard appears in the Broad led consortium through Donhee Ham’s electrical engineering group, not through the Church lab or Kern.
  5. The competitive gap is three orders of magnitude.Atlas Data Storage, spun out of Twist Bioscience in May 2025, closed $155,000,000 in seed funding. Against Kern’s $150,000 on record that is a ratio of about 1,033 to 1. Blocks and Files counts fewer than 100 DNA storage deals since 2012 and about $1.4 billion invested in total, with nearly 80 percent of it going to Twist Bioscience and DNA Script.
  6. Leadership changed without an announcement.An independent trade interview named Henry Lee as co-founder and chief executive in May 2020. The company site, Craft and PitchBook now show Pradeep Bugga as chief executive with Lee as co-founder and advisor. One database still lists Lee as CEO. No press release, filing or dated statement marking the change was found.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Product No commercial product, pricing or shipping instrument announced. The site describes a cold storage platform in development. Company-stated
Customers None named. No revenue figure disclosed by any source. Not found
Science Two Nature Communications papers, June 2019 and October 2020, both from the Church lab. Kern is credited on neither by name. Public record
Intellectual property PitchBook lists EP-4791538-A1 and WO-2025080581-A1, Parallelized electrochemical polynucleotide synthesis, first filed Oct 10, 2023. Applicant not confirmed in an open database. Data provider
Alliance Site announces joining the DNA Data Storage Alliance on Feb 1, 2023. Not listed on the alliance current members page in Sep 2026. Differs from roster
Public activity Latest company news item is dated Feb 1, 2023. No press release, hiring announcement or interview found after that date. Not found

What to watch

  • A first Form D. None exists, so any filing would be the first verifiable financing in the company’s history.
  • Publication of the October 2023 patent family with a named applicant.
  • A dated statement on leadership, headcount or status, which would settle whether the company is operating or dormant.
  • Write cost movement across the category, which governs whether any DNA storage company becomes financeable.

The Kern Systems story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordEDGAR company search and full text search for Kern SystemsSEC · queried Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordAward search for Kern Systems, contracts and grants, 2007 to 2026USAspending.gov · queried Sep 23, 2026
  3. Public recordMolecular Information Storage program description and goalsIARPA · accessed Sep 2026
  4. Public recordTerminator-free template-independent enzymatic DNA synthesis for digital information storageNature Communications 10:2383 · Jun 3, 2019
  5. Data providerKern Systems profile: deals, investors, patents, headcountPitchBook · accessed Sep 2026
  6. Data providerKern Systems profile: total funding, status, locationsCraft · accessed Sep 2026
  7. Data providerKern Systems leadership and batch listingGolden and Seedtable · updated Aug 29, 2026
  8. IndependentDNA Digital Data Whets Its Appetite, by Kathy LiszewskiGenetic Engineering and Biotechnology News · May 4, 2020
  9. IndependentTwist Bioscience launches Atlas to bring DNA storage to market, by Chris MellorBlocks and Files · May 6, 2025
  10. IndependentDNA Data Storage: When the physics work but the economics don’t, by Philipp L AntkowiakBlocks and Files · Jan 16, 2026
  11. CompanyIARPA Funds Team Involving DNA Script, the Broad Institute, and Harvard UniversityBusiness Wire · Jan 15, 2020
  12. CompanyKern Systems website, team, news and contact pagekernsystems.com · accessed Sep 23, 2026

Compiled from SEC, USAspending, NIH, NSF and IARPA public records, commercial company databases and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; an issuer relying on Section 4(a)(2) files none, so the absence of a filing is not proof that no capital was raised. Figures attributed to Craft and PitchBook are database estimates, not company disclosures. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Kern Systems. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.