Funding profile · Body composition imaging

Klarismo

A London MRI startup that filed two Form D notices for a combined $2,119,952 in July 2015, closely matching the $2.1 million TechCrunch reported. The UK entity was struck off in 2019, and no further SEC filing followed the 2015 raise.

$2.1MReported raised, TechCrunch, Jul 2015
$2,119,952Combined sold, two Form D notices, Jul 24, 2015
$2.36MTotal raised, PitchBook running count, 4 deal line items
0SEC filings on record after Jul 24, 2015

Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Apr 22, 2015 Angel round $141,000 Not named PitchBook
Jul 14, 2015 Seed, tranche 1 $19,952 1 investor Form D
Jul 14, 2015 Seed, tranche 2 $2,100,000 4 investors; TechCrunch names Khosla Ventures, Lowercase Capital and Atomico Form D + report
Aug 18, 2015 Accelerator investment $120,000 Y Combinator PitchBook
Sep 1, 2015 Seed round (PitchBook label) Not disclosed Not disclosed PitchBook
By May 1, 2018 Marked out of business n/a n/a PitchBook

What the filings show

Klarismo Inc. · Form D · filed Jul 24, 2015

First sale
Jul 14, 2015
Offered
$19,952 equity
Sold
$19,952 · $0 remaining
Investors
1 · about $19,952
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Marcus Foster (executive officer, director)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001648677, accession 0001648677-15-000001

Klarismo Inc. · Form D · filed Jul 24, 2015

First sale
Jul 14, 2015
Offered
$2,100,000 equity
Sold
$2,100,000 · $0 remaining
Investors
4 · average about $525,000
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Marcus Foster (executive officer, director)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001648677, accession 0001648677-15-000002

Reading the filings

  1. Two notices, one round.Both Form D filings were filed the same day, July 24, 2015, and both report a first sale of July 14, 2015, ten days before TechCrunch published its story. Read together, the small $19,952 tranche looks like a single early check folded into the same financing as the larger $2,100,000 tranche, for five investor slots in total.
  2. The filed total matches the press figure almost exactly.TechCrunch reported Klarismo had raised $2.1 million. The two Form D notices sum to $2,119,952, a difference of under one percent, and Marcus Foster is the only related person named on either filing.
  3. The data vendors do not agree with the SEC or with each other.PitchBook counts $2.36 million across four separate deal line items: an April 2015 angel check of $141,000, an August 2015 Y Combinator investment of $120,000, an undisclosed September 2015 seed round, and a May 2018 Out of Business marker. Tracxn totals $2.12 million in what it calls a single round. Neither figure is backed by a cited document, and neither lines up cleanly with the SEC’s $2,119,952.
  4. No filing after 2015.Both Form D notices under Klarismo Inc.’s CIK are dated July 24, 2015. No amendment and no later notice appear in EDGAR, and no filing at all appears under the earlier UK entity, Klarismo Limited. Companies that raise later money under other exemptions do not have to file a Form D, so silence in EDGAR after 2015 does not by itself prove the company raised nothing more.
  5. The filings list a London address, not a US one.Both Form D notices give Klarismo Inc.’s business address as Unit 15, 23-28 Penn Street, London, even though the company went through Y Combinator that same summer and both Crunchbase and PitchBook list its headquarters as San Francisco. That fits a UK-run company that incorporated a Delaware entity specifically to raise US money.
  6. The company closed with no further filings.PitchBook marks Klarismo Out of Business as of May 1, 2018. Companies House shows the UK entity, Klarismo Limited, struck off on Feb 5, 2019, about three and a half years after the last SEC filing on record for either entity.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA 510(k) or PMA listing found for Klarismo. Not found
Clinical evidence No registered clinical trial, NIH award, NSF award, or PubMed paper tied to the company found. Not found
Patents Two US applications and one PCT application filed in Jan 2017 covering body composition monitoring methods; PitchBook lists all three as inactive. Public record
Website klarismo.com is still registered as of 2026 but serves only a stack of old marketing images, with no text and no booking flow. Public record
Company status UK entity dissolved Feb 5, 2019 (Companies House); PitchBook marks the company Out of Business as of May 1, 2018. Public record

What to watch

  • An amended or later Form D that would reconcile the SEC total with PitchBook’s and Tracxn’s larger, undocumented figures.
  • Whether Klarismo’s 2017 patent applications, now inactive, are ever licensed or acquired by a currently operating whole body MRI company.
  • Whether the klarismo.com domain is renewed again or allowed to lapse.

The Klarismo story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordCompanies House overview, Klarismo Limited, company 09349439GOV.UK Companies House · accessed Sep 24, 2026
  2. Public recordCompanies House filing history, Klarismo Limited, company 09349439GOV.UK Companies House · accessed Sep 24, 2026
  3. Public recordForm D, Klarismo Inc., accession 0001648677-15-000001SEC EDGAR · filed Jul 24, 2015
  4. Public recordForm D, Klarismo Inc., accession 0001648677-15-000002SEC EDGAR · filed Jul 24, 2015
  5. IndependentKlarismo, A Service That Makes A 3D Model Of The Inside Of Your Body, Raises $2.1MTechCrunch, Matthew Lynley · Jul 31, 2015
  6. Public recordPitchBook company profile, KlarismoPitchBook · accessed Sep 2026
  7. Public recordTracxn company profile, KlarismoTracxn · accessed Sep 2026
  8. Public recordCrunchbase organization profile, KlarismoCrunchbase, via Internet Archive · accessed Sep 2026

Compiled from SEC, Companies House and other public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Klarismo. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.