Funding profile · Male fertility diagnostics
Legacy
Three announced rounds totalling $34 million in named capital, a reported total stated four different ways, and no Form D on file with the SEC. The verifiable records here are federal registrations, not financings.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 2019 | Seed | $1.5M | Led by Bain Capital Ventures | Company release |
| Summer 2019 | Y Combinator, S19 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Undated | Reported earlier rounds | $3.5M, then $10M Series A | Not named in the recovered text | Headlines only |
| Q1 2021 | Round the founder describes as led by FirstMark | Not disclosed | FirstMark Capital | Founder account |
| May 2022 | Series B | $25M | Bain Capital Ventures (lead); FirstMark Capital, Section 32, TQ Ventures, Valor Equity Partners; Justin Bieber, The Weeknd, Orlando Bloom, DJ Khaled | Release |
| Jul 2024 | SAFEs | $7.5M | TRAC.vc, Samsung Next Ventures, new and existing investors | Release and Business Insider |
| 2019 to 2026 | Federal grants | None found | No NIH or NSF award to this company | Public record |
What the filings show
Give Legacy, Inc. · SEC EDGAR · no Form D of record
- Form D notices
- None under the company name, searched Sep 23, 2026
- Named rounds
- $1.5M (2019), $25M (2022), $7.5M (2024)
- 2024 instrument
- Simple agreements for future equity
- Exemption claimed
- Not disclosed in any release
- Related persons
- Not on any federal securities filing
Give Legacy – New Jersey, LLC · FDA tissue establishment · FEI 3024743004
- Status
- Registered
- Location
- Hoboken, New Jersey 07030
- Sibling entities
- New York, NY (3015988970), San Mateo, CA (3023034085), San Antonio, TX (3017125075), each Inactive
- Query date
- Sep 23, 2026
- Filing
- FDA CBER, HCTERS public query
GIVE LEGACY, INC. · NPPES · NPI 1366068454
- Taxonomy
- 291U00000X, Clinical Medical Laboratory
- Address
- 22 Hudson Pl Fl 4, Hoboken, New Jersey 07030
- Enumerated
- Jun 24, 2020
- Last updated
- Sep 14, 2026
- Authorized official
- Khaled Kteily, CEO
Reading the filings
- No Form D is not the same as no money.A Regulation D notice is due within 15 days of first sale when an issuer relies on Rule 506. An issuer selling under Section 4(a)(2) files nothing. Legacy has announced $34.0 million in named rounds and claims far more, and EDGAR shows no Form D under its name, so the capital picture rests on statements rather than filings.
- The totals do not reconcile.Named rounds through May 2022 add to $40.0 million counting the two reported earlier rounds ($1.5M, $3.5M, $10M, $25M). The Series B release states: “Today’s financing brings the company’s total funding to $45M.” The Y Combinator page says $40M in one place and “almost $50M” in the founder bio. July 2024 says “over $40M” before that round. The company profile on Trustpilot says “backed by over $50M”. Add $7.5 million to the $40.0 million of named rounds and you get $47.5 million, which sits between them.
- An algorithm opened the 2024 round.TRAC.vc cold-emailed the company, Kteily filled in forms, and an offer came back the same week. The release says the firm’s “algorithm deemed that Legacy had a higher likelihood of becoming a unicorn than 99% of startups evaluated by their methodologies, in part due to the strength of their cap table”. The $7.5 million that followed was raised as SAFEs, which is one reason no priced round and no Form D appear.
- There is no non-dilutive layer.NIH and NSF award searches return nothing for this company. Unlike most diagnostics businesses of its age, every dollar here is private. The federal relationship is a revenue one: a subcontract to the Department of Veterans Affairs through Veterans Evaluation Services, plus network status with TriWest, TRICARE West and Optum VA Community Care Network.
- Profitability is asserted, not evidenced.Kteily in July 2024: “In a challenging economic environment, this fundraise takes us to profitability, which means we’ll be able to grow and scale on our own terms”. No revenue or margin figure has been published. Two years earlier, six weeks after the $25 million Series B, the Boston Business Journal reported layoffs.
- The 2026 moves read as a share grab.The basic semen analysis was cut to $145 in April 2026 from $295, advanced analysis with DNA fragmentation to $495, and storage starts at $245 a year. That is priced against Ro, which bought Dadi for $100 million in 2022, and Fellow Health, which raised a $24 million Series B in July 2025.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | One active FDA tissue establishment registration (Hoboken, NJ). CLIA ID 31D2285605 stated by the company. | Public record |
| State review | New York CLEP approval of two laboratory developed tests, Jun 24, 2026. | Company release |
| Volume | More than 75,000 samples tested, more than 25,000 in storage. | Company-stated |
| Payers | Aetna, Cigna, Emblem, UnitedHealthcare, Optum VACCN, TriWest, plus Progyny, Carrot, Maven, WIN Fertility and Stork Club. | Company-stated |
| Public sector | VA subcontract through Veterans Evaluation Services (Maximus). Defense Department preservation pilot opened Sep 14, 2026 at up to $500 a year. | Public record |
| Clinical evidence | Five papers carry a Give Legacy affiliation, all observational. A study of up to 250 participants was announced May 2026 with more than $1M behind it, unregistered so far. | Public record |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would be due within 15 days of the first sale in any Regulation D round.
- Any disclosed revenue figure to test the profitability claim.
- Whether the SAFEs from 2024 convert in a priced round, and at what valuation.
- New FDA establishment registrations, signalling owned storage rather than partner sites.
- Results of the Sperm Study, the one asset that could move this from a logistics story to a clinical one.
The Legacy story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordFDA HCTERS public query, give legacy
- Public recordNPPES NPI Registry, NPI 1366068454
- Public recordSEC EDGAR Form D search, no filing under the company name
- CompanyLegacy Secures $25M Series B to Scale Sperm Fertility Offerings
- CompanyLegacy Secures $7.5M to Make Sperm Testing and Storage More Accessible
- CompanyLegacy Raises $1.5 Million in Funding Led by Bain Capital Ventures
- IndependentHow a cold reach-out from a VC algorithm kickstarted Legacy’s fundraising push
- IndependentAfter raising $25M, male fertility startup Give Legacy lays off workers
- IndependentFellow Health raises $24M to expand reproductive testing services
- IndependentLegacy company page, batch and founder bio
Compiled from SEC, FDA, CMS and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice appears under this company name, which does not by itself mean no capital was raised. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Legacy. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
