Funding profile · Patient navigation software
Medumo
One Form D, $1,966,044 sold, 36 investors, and a trade sale to Royal Philips eighteen months later on terms nobody disclosed. The capital picture is small and the exit is real.
$1.97MEquity sold, the only Form D on record (Jan 2018)
$2.18MOffered in that round; $217,632 never sold
36Investors, all accredited, about $54,600 each
UndisclosedAcquisition price, Royal Philips, July 2019
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2013 | Incorporated in Delaware | Not disclosed | Founders | Form D |
| Before 2018 | Y Combinator | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | CNBC |
| 2017 to 2018 | PULSE@MassChallenge, two cohorts | Not disclosed | Accelerator, non-dilutive | Accelerator |
| Dec 2017 to Jan 2018 | Seed equity, Rule 506(b) | $2,183,676 offered; $1,966,044 sold | 36 accredited investors, none named | Form D |
| 2019, as reported | Total raised | $2.1M | Not named | Press reports |
| Pilot funding | Brigham Care Redesign Incubator Startup Program | Not disclosed | Brigham and Women’s Hospital | Partner |
| Jul 2019 | Acquisition by Royal Philips | Not disclosed | Royal Philips (NYSE: PHG) | Acquirer release |
What the filings show
Medumo, Inc. · Form D · filed Jan 12, 2018
- First sale
- Dec 29, 2017
- Offered
- $2,183,676 equity
- Sold
- $1,966,044 · $217,632 remaining
- Investors
- 36 · average about $54,612 · no non-accredited investors
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Fees
- Sales commissions $0 · finders fees $0 · minimum investment accepted $0
- Related persons
- Adeel Yang (executive officer, director); Jacob Cohen (executive officer); Satish Tadikonda (director); Laura Lang (director)
- Issuer
- Delaware corporation, incorporated 2013 · 401 Park Drive, Suite 207, Boston, MA
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001727981, accession 0001727981-18-000001
Reading the filings
- One filing covers the entire disclosed history.Medumo registered with EDGAR in January 2018, five years after incorporation, and filed nothing further before the July 2019 sale. Companies raising under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D file no Form D at all, so earlier money may well have moved without leaving this trail.
- The checks were angel size, not fund size.$1,966,044 across 36 investors averages about $54,612 each. That is a syndicate of individuals and small vehicles, not a priced round led by an institution. No sales commission and no finders fee were reported, so no placement agent was compensated.
- The widely reported $2.1 million is the offering, not the closing.Fierce Healthcare, HIT Consultant and Observer all reported $2.1 million raised. The filing shows $2,183,676 offered and $1,966,044 taken in, leaving $217,632 unsold. MedCity News, which wrote “around $2 million,” is the closer figure.
- Two outside directors on a seed-stage board.The filing names Satish Tadikonda and Laura Lang as directors alongside Yang. For a company that had disclosed under $2 million, that is a more built-out board than the raise alone would predict.
- The exit price is not recoverable from public records.Philips did not disclose terms, Medumo did not, and no independent outlet obtained a figure. Philips reported 2018 sales of EUR 18.1 billion, so a transaction of this scale would not be separately disclosed in its accounts.
- Capital efficiency is the headline number here.On roughly $2 million of disclosed equity, the company reached more than 25 hospitals on its own count, four peer reviewed studies at three academic centers, and a strategic acquirer. Whether that produced a good return depends entirely on the undisclosed price.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Named customers | Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, Partners HealthCare, Boston Children’s Hospital, UCSF, UPMC, University of Chicago Medicine. | Independent and partner |
| Clinical evidence | Four peer reviewed studies, 2019 to 2021, including a 121-patient randomized trial at Mount Sinai that names MEDUMO software. | Peer reviewed |
| Regulatory | No FDA 510(k) or PMA, no registered clinical trial, no NIH or NSF award found. | Not found |
| Scale at exit | Fewer than 30 employees. More than five million patient interactions claimed as of Jan 2019. | Company-stated |
| After the sale | Renamed Philips Patient Management; deployed at Boston Medical Center, Yale New Haven Health and Lahey Hospital and Medical Center during 2020. | Acquirer-stated |
| Current status | As of Sep 23, 2026 medumo.com does not resolve and the Philips landing page that carried the brand serves generic monitoring content. No retirement notice found. | Checked |
What to watch
- Any Philips disclosure of the purchase price. None has appeared in seven years, and none is required.
- Whether Philips still sells the product under any name, and under which business unit.
- Comparable pricing in the category. Luma Health raised a $130 million Series C in November 2021 at far greater scale, which sets the ceiling this asset was never tested against.
- Whether any Medumo investor has ever published a return on the position. None was found.
The Medumo story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordForm D, Medumo, Inc., CIK 0001727981
- Public recordPhilips expands patient management with the acquisition of Medumo
- Peer reviewedFour studies in J Clin Gastroenterol, Telemedicine and e-Health, Int Forum Allergy Rhinol and Gastroenterology Nursing
- IndependentPhilips acquires Boston start-up Medumo
- IndependentPhilips acquires Boston-based patient navigation startup Medumo
- IndependentPhilips acquires Boston patient management startup Medumo
- IndependentPhilips Acquires Patient Navigation Platform Medumo
- IndependentLuma Health picks up $130M
- AcquirerPhilips Patient Management Solution during COVID-19
- CompanyBoston Children’s Hospital and Medumo strategic collaboration
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Medumo. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
