Funding profile · Veterinary diagnostics

Moichor

Two Form D filings record $11,268,086 sold. The company announced $4 million of it. The larger of the two offerings was never announced at all.

$11.27MTotal sold across two Form D filings, 2021 and 2023
$6.22MThe 2023 offering, with no press release or trade coverage found
$1.04MSold above the $4M the company announced in April 2021
21Investor positions across both offerings

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2018 Student prizes, as HemoGo $30,000 Inc.U prize pool Penn State Inc.U competition University
Through 2019 Non-dilutive prizes $45,000 in one year Penn State programs Founder byline
By 2020 Early capital, founder stated $750,000 Not disclosed Interview
Winter 2021 Y Combinator Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
Mar to May 2021 Seed $4.0M announced; $5,044,998 sold at filing Led by Neotribe Ventures with existing investors; 11 total Form D + release
Dec 2022 to Feb 2023 Unannounced offering $6,223,088 sold of $6,223,088 10, none named Form D
2023 to 2026 No further filing None on record None on record Not found

What the filings show

Moichor Inc · Form D · filed Feb 14, 2023

First sale
Dec 2, 2022
Offered
$6,223,088 equity and other
Sold
$6,223,088 · $0 remaining
Investors
10 · average about $622,300
Exemption
Rule 506(b) · no non-accredited investors
Related persons
Sherveen Karbasiafshar (executive officer, director); Matthew Chen (executive officer, director); Alex Salazar (director)
Issuer
Delaware corporation, incorporated 2019, San Francisco, CA. Revenue range: decline to disclose
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001859727

Moichor Inc · Form D · filed May 4, 2021

First sale
Mar 31, 2021
Offered
$5,044,998 equity and other
Sold
$5,044,998 · $0 remaining
Investors
11 · average about $458,600
Exemption
Rule 506(b) · no non-accredited investors
Related persons
Same three, addresses in Oakland, CA
Sales compensation
None reported · finders fees $0
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001859727

Reading the filings

  1. The announcement was 21 percent short of the filing.The April 15, 2021 release says Moichor “raised $4 million in seed capital.” The Form D filed nineteen days later reports $5,044,998 sold with a first sale of March 31, 2021, which is $1,044,998 more. No amendment has narrowed the gap.
  2. The bigger round is invisible outside EDGAR.The February 2023 filing records $6,223,088 sold to ten investors, more than the announced seed and more than the 2021 filing. No press release, trade story or database entry for it was found. Every startup tracker checked still lists Moichor at $4.0 million or $5.17 million total.
  3. Both filings were late.Form D is due within fifteen days of the first sale. The 2021 filing came 34 days after first sale, the 2023 filing 74 days after. That is 19 and 59 days past due.
  4. The checks are institutional.$5,044,998 across 11 investors averages about $458,600 each. $6,223,088 across 10 averages about $622,300. Those are fund-sized positions, not an angel list.
  5. Offered equals sold in both filings.Each notice reports zero remaining. A company that files after the money is in and sets the offering to the amount raised tells you nothing about its target, so neither filing supports an inference about whether a round was undersubscribed.
  6. The named board is frozen at 2023, and it no longer matches the company.Both filings list Karbasiafshar, Chen and Salazar. As of September 2026 the chief executive is Joe Faiella, the chief technology officer is Liam Cattell, and Y Combinator lists all three co-founders as former founders. Nothing has been filed since February 2023, so there is no SEC record of who controls the company now.
  7. No federal money, and no filing behind the hardware.No NIH, NSF or other federal award appears for Moichor. The company has since launched the Pathview device and signed a national distributor, and 43 months have passed without a Form D.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Distribution Zomedica Corp agreed on Feb 25, 2026 to supply TRUVIEW digital microscopy systems and consumables for Moichor to sell nationally, co-branded with Moichor’s AI engine. Repeated in Zomedica’s Q1 2026 results exhibit, SEC filed May 6, 2026. Public record
Channel Published diagnostics integration in ezyVet practice management software, covering canine, feline, avian, reptile, aquatic and exotic mammal CBC plus cytology. Partner documentation
Product line Reference lab plus the Pathview in-clinic analyzer. Test menu spans hematology, chemistry, cytology, endocrinology, urinalysis, parasitology, microbiology and species PCR panels. Company-stated
Scale Team size 29 per Y Combinator. Exhibited at the 2025 Southwest Veterinary Symposium, booth 1142. Listings
Revenue Not disclosed. Both Form D filings elect decline to disclose on revenue range. Not found
Clinical evidence No peer-reviewed validation, no registered study, no FDA record, no lab accreditation found. Not found

What to watch

  • A Form D covering anything raised since December 2022. More than three and a half years of silence on EDGAR is the loudest item here.
  • An amended 2021 filing, which would settle the $4M versus $5.04M gap.
  • Zomedica’s quarterly consumables revenue, the only public number that will move with Moichor placements.
  • Any filing or announcement that names the current board, which the SEC record has not reflected since 2023.

The Moichor story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Moichor Inc, accession 0001859727-21-000001SEC EDGAR · May 4, 2021
  2. Public recordForm D, Moichor Inc, accession 0001859727-23-000001SEC EDGAR · Feb 14, 2023
  3. Public recordZomedica Corp Form 8-K, exhibit 99.1SEC EDGAR · May 6, 2026
  4. IndependentZomedica expands TRUVIEW distribution with MoichorBioSpace · Feb 25, 2026
  5. IndependentZomedica expands distribution with Moichor partnershipBioTuesdays · Feb 25, 2026
  6. InterviewWhere are they now? Shevy KarbasiInvent Penn State
  7. IndependentPenn State startup Moichor wins Inc.U competitionInvent Penn State
  8. IndependentHow a Steve Jobs quote inspired a Penn State studentNewsweek · Mar 22, 2019
  9. IndependentMoichor funding and investor recordsDealroom and Startup Intros · Sep 2026
  10. PartnerAbout the Moichor integrationezyVet Knowledge Center
  11. CompanyMoichor raises $4m to disrupt animal blood testingPR Newswire · Apr 15, 2021
  12. CompanyMoichor about page, team list and test menumoichor.com · Sep 22, 2026
  13. CompanyMoichor company page and founder statusY Combinator · Sep 22, 2026

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Moichor. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.