Funding profile · Dental robotics and imaging

Perceptive Technologies

Thirty million dollars reported raised, one round with a public number attached, $1.71 million of federal grant money, and no Form D on file with the SEC.

$30.0MTotal raised to date, company-reported (Jul 2024)
$15.0MSeries A led by Pacific Dental Services (Oct 2022)
$1.71MNIH NIDCR SBIR awards, FY2023 and FY2024
0Form D filings on record with the SEC

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Winter 2020 Y Combinator, as Cyberdontics Not disclosed Y Combinator YC directory
Oct 2022 Series A $15.0M Led by Pacific Dental Services, now PDS Health TechCrunch, Global Venturing
Sep 2023 to Aug 2026 NIH SBIR Phase II, R44DE033316 $1,711,112 NIDCR NIH RePORTER
By Jul 2024 Cumulative to date $30.0M PDS Health, Ed Zuckerberg, Innospark Ventures, KdT Ventures, Primavera Capital, Plaisance Capital, Y Combinator Company release
Jan 2025 Described as a new funding round Not disclosed Dental Innovation Alliance Investor release

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · no Form D on record · searched Sep 22, 2026

Filers searched
Perceptive Technologies, and Cyberdontics, the former name
Result
No matching companies, either name
Name collisions
77 Form D filings mention the word Perceptive, all from other issuers: Perceptive Advisors funds, Perceptive Pixel, Perceptive Automata, Perceptive Things, Arix Bioscience
Implication
The Series A and everything after it were placed without a Regulation D notice

NIH NIDCR · SBIR Phase II R44DE033316 · awarded Sep 19, 2023

FY2023
$872,998 · award 1R44DE033316-01
FY2024
$838,114 · award 5R44DE033316-02
Total
$1,711,112
Recipient
Perceptive Technologies, Inc.
Principal investigator
Wei Kang
Project
OCT based handheld intraoral scanner. Project period ended Aug 31, 2026, no FY2025 or FY2026 increment on record

Reading the filings

  1. Thirty million dollars and no Form D.An issuer that raises under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D files no Form D at all, so the absence does not mean the money is missing. It does mean the usual public record of investor counts, amounts offered and amounts sold does not exist here.
  2. The name is noisy, and the noise is not this company.Every Form D that mentions the word Perceptive comes from an unrelated issuer, most of them funds run by Perceptive Advisors. A name-matched screen returns a hedge fund complex.
  3. Only half the total has a public number.The Series A is $15.0M, October 2022. The cumulative figure is $30.0M, July 2024. The missing $15.0M is spread across the pre-Series-A rounds, anything raised in between, and possibly the grants. It has never been broken out.
  4. Grant money is a small share.$1,711,112 of $30,000,000 is 5.7 percent, a thin non-dilutive layer for a device company with no cleared product. The NIH award funds only the scanner, not the robot.
  5. The January 2025 round has no size.The Dental Innovation Alliance release calls its investment part of a new funding round and gives no amount, no lead and no total. A September 2025 university profile was still citing $30 million.
  6. The lead investor is also the evaluation site.Pacific Dental Services led the Series A, hosted the October 2024 feasibility study in its own practices, and supplied two of the clinicians quoted about the results. Investor, prospective customer and evaluator are one party.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No 510(k) and no PMA on record for either product as of Sep 22, 2026. Public record
Availability The company website states the scanner and the robot are not currently available for sale in the US. Company-stated
Clinical evidence One outside-US first in human preparation (Jul 2024), one feasibility study of undisclosed size (Oct 2024). NCT07092592 still reads not yet recruiting. Public record
Demand Letters of intent from dentists, count not given. No named customers and no revenue disclosed. Company-stated
Channel PDS Health, more than 1,000 US offices, is investor and study host. No distribution agreement announced. Partner-stated
Timeline Jul 2024: about five years from an FDA submission, per the CEO to STAT. 2025: imaging to launch in 12 to 18 months, per the CEO to Incisal Edge. Statements differ

What to watch

  • A first Form D, which would put an offering size and an investor count on the record.
  • An updated cumulative raise. The $30 million figure has stood since July 2024 through a further investment.
  • A successor award to R44DE033316, whose project period ended August 31, 2026.
  • Whether NCT07092592 starts enrolling, and whether a US IDE or 510(k) submission follows.

The Perceptive Technologies story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company search, Perceptive Technologies and CyberdonticsSEC · Sep 22, 2026
  2. Public recordNIH RePORTER, 1R44DE033316-01 and 5R44DE033316-02NIDCR · FY2023, FY2024
  3. Public recordopenFDA 510(k) and PMA searchesFDA · Sep 22, 2026
  4. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT07092592Posted Jul 30, 2025 · checked Sep 22, 2026
  5. IndependentCyberdontics raises $15M for robotic root canalsTechCrunch · Oct 17, 2022
  6. IndependentThe Big Deal: Cyberdontics bites on corporate cashGlobal Venturing · Oct 21, 2022
  7. IndependentDental AI startup raises $30 millionSTAT · Jul 30, 2024
  8. InterviewHe, RobotIncisal Edge · 2025
  9. CompanyRelease on the first fully automated dental procedure, with investor listBusiness Wire · Jul 30, 2024
  10. CompanyRelease on the OCT feasibility study at PDS HealthBusiness Wire · Oct 15, 2024
  11. InvestorDIA Backs Perceptive to Launch a New Era of Robotic DentistryPR Newswire · Jan 15, 2025

Compiled from SEC, NIH, FDA and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice is on file for this issuer, and offerings placed under Section 4(a)(2) generate none. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Perceptive Technologies. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.