Funding profile · Preclinical immunology

Promakhos Therapeutics

One Form D, filed once, in January 2022, for an offering that opened before the company entered Y Combinator. Everything on the record since has been grant and prize money.

$2.25MOffered and sold in full, sole Form D, filed Jan 19, 2022
25Investors in that offering, about $89,900 each
$544KGrants and prizes on record, 2023 to 2026
$2.5MTotal raised, company-stated in 2023

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Mar 2021 Early seed Not disclosed Allston Venture Fund, a committee of six Massachusetts venture partners, independent of Harvard Company release
Summer 2021 Y Combinator, Summer 2021 batch Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
Mar 2021 to Jan 2022 Single Regulation D offering, convertible instruments $2,246,500 sold of $2,246,500 offered 25 investors, unnamed. The company called them “various angel investors and large biotech funds.” Founders, Inc. lists Promakhos in its portfolio. Form D
Sep 2023 NIH SBIR Phase I, 1R43DK135153-01 $271,865 NIDDK NIH
Jan 2024 MassNextGen award $97,500 Massachusetts Life Sciences Center and program sponsors State agency
Feb 2024 Trailblazer Grant, two years $100,000 Propel a Cure for Crohn’s Disease Funder
May 2026 Harvard President’s Innovation Challenge, alumni health care track $75,000 Non-dilutive, funded by a Bertarelli Foundation gift Independent
Since Jan 2022 New equity None on file None named Not found

What the filings show

Promakhos Therapeutics Inc. · Form D · filed Jan 19, 2022

First sale
Mar 12, 2021
Offered
$2,246,500
Sold
$2,246,500 · $0 remaining
Investors
25 · average about $89,860
Securities
Options to acquire, and securities to be acquired on exercise or conversion. No equity or debt box checked.
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Jasper Edgar Neggers (executive officer, director); Aikaterini Chatzi (executive officer, director, promoter)
Issuer
Delaware corporation, incorporated 2021. Industry: biotechnology. Revenue range: decline to disclose. Address given as Sommerville, MA.
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001889681

Reading the filings

  1. The round opened six months before Y Combinator, not after it.The company announced in October 2021 that it had closed its first financing round after the Summer 2021 batch. The Form D reports a first sale of March 12, 2021, one day before Promakhos announced the Allston Venture Fund investment. Pre-accelerator seed and accelerator round are one continuous offering, reported ten months after it opened.
  2. Twenty-five checks, about $89,900 each.$2,246,500 divided by 25 investors averages $89,860, which is angel and small-fund scale. Nothing points to a round-defining lead, and no investor is named anywhere in the record.
  3. Nothing was priced.The only securities boxes checked are options to acquire and securities to be acquired on exercise or conversion. Neither equity nor debt is checked. That is the signature of SAFEs or convertible notes, and it means no valuation appears anywhere in the public record.
  4. No filing has followed in four years and eight months.There is no amendment and no second Form D. Either nothing has been sold under Regulation D since January 2022, or later money came under Section 4(a)(2), which carries no Form D obligation. The absence is not proof that no money moved, but it is the entire equity record.
  5. About a fifth of the traceable money is non-dilutive.$271,865 from NIH, $97,500 from MassNextGen, $100,000 from Propel a Cure and $75,000 from Harvard come to $544,365. Against $2,246,500 of equity, that is roughly 19 percent of a $2,790,865 total. For a preclinical drug company in its fifth year, the ratio is high and the total is small.
  6. The board is the two founders.The filing names only Neggers and Chatzi as related persons, each as executive officer and director, with Chatzi also flagged as promoter. No investor director appears, which is what an unpriced round with no lead looks like.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No IND on record, no FDA submission, no registered trial as of Sep 22, 2026. Public record
Pipeline One lead program, an oral small molecule for Crohn’s disease. Type 1 diabetes and multiple sclerosis named as later targets. Company-stated
Revenue None reported. The issuer declined to disclose a revenue range on the Form D. Public record
Headcount Two co-founders. Third-party listings put the team at two or three. Company and listings
Facilities Pagliuca Harvard Life Lab, Allston, an incubator co-managed by Harvard and LabCentral. Funder-stated
Grant execution NIH SBIR Phase I ran Sep 1, 2023 to Mar 31, 2024. No Phase II follows. Public record
Still operating Company news posted Sep 22, 2026. Harvard prize won May 6, 2026. A 2026 funder update describes ongoing preclinical work. Independent

What to watch

  • A second Form D. It is due within 15 days of the first sale of any new Regulation D offering.
  • An IND filing or a Phase 1 registry entry, which the company’s own funder describes as the next intended step.
  • An NIH SBIR Phase II application, the usual bridge to IND-enabling work.
  • A named institutional lead, which would appear as an investor director on the next filing.

The Promakhos Therapeutics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Promakhos Therapeutics Inc., CIK 0001889681SEC · Jan 19, 2022
  2. Public recordNIH RePORTER project 1R43DK135153-01NIH NIDDK · FY2023
  3. IndependentHealey-Driscoll Administration and MLSC announce MassNextGen awardeesMassachusetts Life Sciences Center · Jan 24, 2024
  4. IndependentFinalists recognized in University’s flagship venture competitionHarvard Gazette · May 8, 2026
  5. IndependentPresident’s Innovation Challenge 2026 winners and finalistsHarvard Innovation Labs · 2026
  6. IndependentCrohn’s Disease and IBD Research Projects, Promakhos entryPropel a Cure for Crohn’s Disease · updated 2026
  7. CompanyPromakhos Therapeutics closes first financing roundCompany news · Oct 2021
  8. CompanyPromakhos Therapeutics receives early seed investment from the Allston Venture FundCompany news · Mar 2021
  9. CompanyPromakhos Therapeutics website and news archiveAccessed Sep 22, 2026
  10. InterviewDeveloping Therapies for Chronic DiseasesStartup Pirate · Nov 3, 2023

Compiled from SEC, NIH, FDA and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Promakhos Therapeutics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.