Funding profile · Plant biotechnology

Rev Genomics

One Regulation D offering, filed in 2019, is the whole securities record. Thirty six investors put in $1,495,360 of a $2,000,000 raise, and nothing has been filed since.

$1.50MSold, Form D filed May 3, 2019
$2.00MOffered in that round, $504,640 left unsold
36Investors, average about $41,500 each
$5,000Minimum investment accepted

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2017 Y Combinator, Summer 2017 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC directory
Mar 2019 Reported total to date $120,000 Not named Trade press
Apr to May 2019 Regulation D offering, equity $1,495,360 sold of $2,000,000 36, none non-accredited Form D
Through 2020 Described by a co-founder as reaching “post series-A” Not disclosed Y Combinator and Gron Ventures named as investors Founder-stated
2020 to 2026 No further offering on file None None Nothing filed

What the filings show

Rev Genomics, Inc. · Form D · filed May 3, 2019

First sale
Apr 24, 2019
Offered
$2,000,000 equity, plus securities to be acquired
Sold
$1,495,360 · $504,640 remaining
Investors
36 · average about $41,500 · minimum accepted $5,000
Exemption
Rule 506(c)
To related persons
$50,000 of gross proceeds, estimated
Related persons
Bertrand Vick (executive officer, director, promoter); Robert John Markelz (executive officer, director, promoter); Gloria E Webster (director, promoter); James Edward Long (promoter)
Issuer
Corporation, incorporated in California in 2016, Oakland, revenue range declined
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001771749

Reading the filings

  1. The round was angel shaped, not fund shaped.$1,495,360 across 36 investors is about $41,500 each, against a stated minimum of $5,000. A round led by institutions usually shows a handful of names and six figure averages. This reads as a syndicate of individuals.
  2. The company chose the exemption that allows advertising.The filing claims Rule 506(c), not 506(b). That route permits general solicitation and in exchange requires the issuer to verify that every buyer is accredited. The filing reports no non-accredited investors.
  3. A quarter of the offering never sold.$504,640 of the $2,000,000 was still open at filing, and no amended or later Form D has appeared in the seven years since. Companies raising under Section 4(a)(2) file no Form D at all, so silence is not proof that no money moved, but there is no public trace of a Series A.
  4. The reported totals do not agree.Trade press put the company at $120,000 raised in March 2019, and a startup database still carried $120,000 as of March 2020. The Form D reports $1,495,360 sold as of May 2019. The filing is the harder number.
  5. Two of the four related persons are not founders.Alongside Vick and Markelz, the filing names Gloria E Webster of Menlo Park as a director and promoter and James Edward Long of Menlo Park as a promoter. Neither appears on any company page found for this profile.
  6. The license outlasted the financing.The California nursery license issued a month after the Form D is still active and runs to June 1, 2027. That is the only dated public evidence of the business operating after 2019.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
License CCL18-0002678, cultivation nursery, annual, adult use, status Active, issued Jun 7, 2019, expires Jun 1, 2027, Alameda County. Record refreshed Sep 22, 2026. Public record
Model Licensing cultivars and intellectual property, molecular fingerprinting for partners, tissue culture replication. Company-stated
Customers No named customer or partner in any source found. The site says cultivars are being commercialized in California. Not found
Intellectual property No US patent or published application assigned to the company, and no plant variety certificate found, against a company claim of a first patent filed in October 2016. Claim unsupported
Headcount Eight people and one open science role listed in the Y Combinator directory, retrieved Sep 22, 2026. Company-stated
Market California regulators reported in April 2026 that nearly 8,000 annual licenses remain active statewide, after years of contraction. Independent

What to watch

  • Any new Form D. It is due within 15 days of a first sale.
  • License renewal before June 1, 2027, and any change of ownership on the state record.
  • A patent grant or publication that would put a dated asset behind the genomics claims.
  • A named cultivator or seed bank licensee, which is the only way licensing revenue becomes visible.

The Rev Genomics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Rev Genomics, Inc., CIK 0001771749SEC EDGAR · May 3, 2019
  2. Public recordCannabis Unified License Search, license CCL18-0002678California Department of Cannabis Control · Sep 22, 2026
  3. Public recordCalCannabis license number conversion listCalifornia Department of Food and Agriculture · Oct 24, 2019
  4. Public recordPatent searches by inventor and assigneeJustia Patents, USPTO data · Sep 22, 2026
  5. Independent6 cannabis biotech companies for growing the best weedNanalyze · Mar 6, 2019
  6. IndependentRev Genomics releases SNP map based on Open Cannabis Project dataFuture Cannabis Project · Sep 5, 2019
  7. IndependentCalifornia declares the cannabis market matureRedheaded Blackbelt · Apr 7, 2026
  8. CompanyRev Genomics company recordY Combinator directory · Sep 22, 2026
  9. FounderRev Genomics project pagecodymarkelz.com · Sep 22, 2026
  10. CompanyRev Genomics website and archived pagesrevgenomics.com · 2018 to Sep 2026

Compiled from SEC, California state and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Rev Genomics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.