Funding profile · Life sciences R&D procurement software
Science Exchange
Five announced venture rounds between 2011 and 2019, a private equity buyout in 2024 at an undisclosed price, and not one Regulation D notice on file with the SEC.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jun 2011 | Accelerator and angel | $170,000 | Y Combinator $20,000; Yuri Milner’s Start Fund $100,000; Ron Conway $50,000 | Press reports |
| Dec 2011 | Seed | $1.5M | Led by Andreessen Horowitz | Press reports |
| Apr 2013 | Series A | $4.0M reported; one contemporaneous headline said $3M | Union Square Ventures, O’Reilly AlphaTech Ventures, Esther Dyson, Joshua Schachter, Lisa Gansky | Sources disagree |
| Mar 2016 | Series B | $25.0M | Led by Maverick Capital Ventures; Union Square Ventures, Index Ventures, OATV, Collaborative Fund, YC Continuity Fund, Sam Altman, Steve Case, Paul Buchheit | Release + press |
| Jun 2017 | Series C | $28.0M | Led by Norwest Venture Partners; Union Square Ventures, Maverick Capital, Collaborative Fund | Forbes |
| Oct 2019 | Equity and debt | $20.0M | Led by Maverick Ventures and Norwest; Union Square Ventures, Collaborative Fund, Windham Ventures, OATV, Silicon Valley Bank | FinSMEs |
| Sep 30, 2024 | Acquisition of the company | Not disclosed | Waud Capital Partners. Union Square Advisors advised the seller, Houlihan Lokey the buyer | Independent |
| Mar 31, 2025 | Add-on acquisition by the company | Not disclosed | HappiLabs, Chicago | Company release |
What the filings show
Science Exchange · no Form D of any kind · searched Sep 23, 2026
- Registrant
- No EDGAR registrant matches the company name. A company name search returns an empty feed.
- Form D hits
- 0. A full text search of Form D filings for the company name returns zero documents.
- Investment vehicles
- None. No SPV or fund has filed a Form D naming the company.
- Reported raised
- More than $70 million, per the company’s own December 2021 boilerplate
- Other federal records
- No NIH or NSF awards, no FDA clearances, no registered trials under the company name
- Implication
- The rounds were almost certainly placed under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D, which carries no notice requirement
Reading the filings
- The announced rounds sum to $78.5 million.$1.5M seed plus $4.0M Series A plus $25.0M Series B plus $28.0M Series C plus $20.0M in 2019. The running totals in the press track that arithmetic: TechCrunch put the total at $30.5 million after the Series B, which is 1.5 plus 4 plus 25, and Forbes put it at close to $60 million after the Series C, which is 58.5.
- The company’s own total is $8 million lower.A December 2021 release says more than $70 million raised, against $78.5 million announced. The 2019 round was a mix of equity and debt with Silicon Valley Bank named, so the gap fits roughly $12 million of that $20 million being equity and the rest a loan that a funding total would not count.
- There is no Form D, and that is not an error.Neither the company nor any vehicle formed around it appears in EDGAR. A private issuer selling only to a handful of institutions can rely on Section 4(a)(2) instead of Regulation D and file nothing. The consequence: every round figure above comes from a press release or a reporter, and none of it can be checked against a filed document.
- The Series A number is unsettled in the public record.The encyclopedia entry says $4 million and cites an AllThingsD story whose own headline says $3 million. The later totals reported by TechCrunch fit $4 million. The difference is small, but it is the only round where two public sources contradict each other outright.
- One named backer never appears in a round.Announcing her departure in November 2025, the founder thanked venture partners at USV, Maverick, Norwest, and Emerson Collective. Emerson Collective is named in no funding announcement found for this company. Either it came in through a secondary purchase, or through a round that was never announced.
- The exit price is unknown and will stay unknown.Waud Capital has completed more than 460 investments since 1993 and buys control positions. Both sides named their advisors and neither named a number. With no public debt and no Form D, no filing will ever reveal it.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Customers | Merck, Amgen, Gilead Sciences, Astellas, AbbVie and Regeneron named in trade coverage, March 2024; Bristol-Meyers Squibb added in a 2023 interview. | Independent |
| Penetration | 8 of the top 10 pharmaceutical companies (2016); over 100 enterprise customers (2019); 15 of the top 25 (2023). Unaudited. | Company-stated |
| Volume | 66% marketplace volume growth in 2025, cumulative volume past $1 billion, 21% customer growth. Unaudited. | Company-stated |
| Take rate | Transaction fee of between 5% and 10%, reported in 2017. The 2024 pitch is a SaaS subscription, so the economics may have shifted. | Independent |
| Supply side | About 3,800 suppliers at the March 2024 marketplace relaunch; described as thousands of pre-qualified organizations in 2026. | Company-stated |
| Published science | Fifteen PubMed indexed papers tied to the Reproducibility Project: Cancer Biology, capped by three eLife papers on Dec 7, 2021. | Public record |
| Leadership | Both founders left on Nov 6, 2025. Mark Layden, a Waud operating partner installed as executive chairman at the acquisition, is listed as CEO. | Company-stated |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would show up if Waud syndicates co-investment into the platform.
- Further add-on acquisitions after HappiLabs, the usual pattern for a private equity platform company.
- Any outside confirmation of the $1 billion cumulative volume figure.
- Whether the transaction fee survives the move to subscription pricing.
- Customer retention after both founders and most of the founding leadership have gone.
The Science Exchange story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR company and Form D full text searches
- Public recordPubMed set, Reproducibility Project: Cancer Biology
- IndependentScience Exchange moves into big pharma with $25 million Series B
- IndependentScience Exchange Takes On $28M
- IndependentScience Exchange Raises $20m
- IndependentDeal Tracker: Waud Acquires Science Exchange
- IndependentScience Exchange entry with funding citations
- CompanyScience Exchange Announces $25 Million in New Funding
- CompanyScience Exchange Caps 2025: Record Growth and Product Expansion
- AcquirerWaud Capital Partners Acquires Science Exchange
- AdvisorUnion Square Advisors advised Science Exchange on its sale to Waud Capital
- FounderUpdate from Elizabeth Iorns and Dan Knox: moving on from Science Exchange
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. No Form D has been filed by or for this company, so every round figure here rests on press reports and company statements. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Science Exchange. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
