Funding profile · Continuous vital sign monitoring

Vena Vitals

A seven year old medical device company with $3.20 million of federal grants on the public record, no Form D on file with the SEC, and funding trackers that disagree with each other by a factor of five.

$3.20MFederal grants on public record, NSF and NIH, 2021 to 2027
$1.76MNSF SBIR Phase I and Phase II obligated to date
$1.45MNIH NHLBI awards across four grants, FY2022 to FY2025
0Form D filings by Vena Vitals on SEC EDGAR

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported and tracker-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2020 Y Combinator, Summer 2020 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
Feb 2021 NSF SBIR Phase I, award 2036639 $256,000 National Science Foundation NSF
May 2022 to 2025 NIH NHLBI, four awards $1,445,563 National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute NIH
Mar 2023 NSF SBIR Phase II, award 2213169, plus a Phase IIB increment in FY2025 $1,500,000 obligated against a $1,000,000 estimated total National Science Foundation NSF
Aug 2023 Seed, per three trackers Not disclosed Morado Ventures named as a first investor Trackers
Mar to Jul 2025 Seed, per two trackers; one reports a $10.0M Series A in May 2025 $1.9M, $10.0M or not disclosed AME Cloud Ventures, Soma Capital, Samsung Next, Sunstone Management, Pi Campus, Desert Forge Ventures across sources Trackers disagree
Mid 2026 Described in trade coverage as a late seed stage company getting ready for Series A Not disclosed None named Independent

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · company and full text search · checked Sep 22, 2026

Company search
Form D filers matching “vena vitals”: none. No CIK exists under the company name.
Full text search
One document in the entire EDGAR corpus contains the phrase, a Form C-AR filed by Makani Science Inc. on Apr 29, 2026. Vena Vitals is not the issuer.
Reading
Equity raised to date was placed without a Regulation D notice, or under Section 4(a)(2), which requires no Form D at all.

NSF award 2213169 · SBIR Phase II and Phase IIB · awarded Mar 9, 2023

Period
Mar 15, 2023 to Feb 28, 2027
Estimated total
$1,000,000
Obligated
FY2023 $1,000,000 and FY2025 $500,000, total $1,500,000
Instrument
Cooperative agreement, program Biomedical Engineering and Diagnostics, SBIR Phase IIB
Principal investigator
Joshua Kim
Awardee address
5270 California Ave Ste 300, Irvine, CA 92617. UEI EHSLFPGBL8K5

NIH RePORTER · NHLBI · FY2022 to FY2025

R33HL163749
Beat-to-Beat Blood Pressure Monitoring During Sleep. $415,577 in FY2022 and $427,190 in FY2023
R43HL170868
Wearable alert system for detecting postoperative hypotension. $295,924, FY2023
R43HL180283
Continuous Non-Invasive Blood Pressure during Sleep as a Cardiovascular Biomarker. $306,872, FY2025, running to Mar 23, 2027
Principal investigator
Joshua Kim, all four

Reading the filings

  1. Every hard number is a grant.NSF $1,756,000 plus NIH $1,445,563 equals $3,201,563 that can be checked line by line. Every equity figure attached to this company comes from a tracker, not a filing.
  2. The trackers are not close.One puts total funding at $10.7M with a $10.0M Series A in May 2025. One puts it at $3.12M. One puts it at $2.1M with a $1.9M seed in March 2025. A fourth records five rounds with amounts undisclosed and the last one in August 2023. A spread of five times on the same company is a sign that nobody has seen a priced round documented.
  3. Independent reporting sides with the low end.A mid 2026 trade piece describes Vena Vitals as a late seed stage company getting ready for Series A funding. That is hard to reconcile with a $10.0M Series A closed in May 2025, and the SEC record contains nothing that would settle it.
  4. The Phase II grew by half.NSF estimated $1,000,000 for award 2213169 and has obligated $1,500,000, the extra $500,000 landing in FY2025 under a line the award record labels SBIR Phase IIB. The award was amended as recently as Sep 10, 2025, so the federal reviewers were still funding the program a year ago.
  5. Non-dilutive capital carries the clinical work.The two sleep awards and the postoperative hypotension award fund exactly the indications the company is pursuing. If the true equity total is nearer $3M than $10M, grants are roughly half of everything raised.
  6. The principal investigator is a founder, not a hire.Joshua Kim is named on all six federal awards. Concentration in one scientist is a risk the filings make visible.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA 510(k) for Vena Vitals or VeriTrack in the openFDA database as of Sep 22, 2026. The company says a submission is in review. Public record
Revenue None reported. The website states the product is “not yet commercially available”. Company-stated
Clinical evidence One registered study, NCT06887465, at Thomas Jefferson University, still not yet recruiting. One peer-reviewed validation paper, 17 patients, 2021. Public record
Intellectual property One published US application assigned to Vena Vitals, Inc., US 2023/0380770 A1, filed Aug 9, 2023. No grant found. Public record
Headcount Fourteen employees reported in Feb 2026, nine of them UC Irvine alumni. Sites in Irvine, CA and Las Vegas, NV. Company-stated
Competitors already cleared Caretaker Medical since 2016, Biobeat since 2019, PyrAmes since 2023. Public record

What to watch

  • A first Form D. It is due within 15 days of the first sale in any Regulation D offering, and none has ever been filed.
  • An FDA clearance, which would convert the grant record into a commercial one.
  • Whether a Series A is announced with a named lead, which would resolve the tracker disagreement.
  • The NSF Phase II end date of Feb 28, 2027 and the NIH R43 running to Mar 23, 2027. After that the non-dilutive runway stops.
  • Any Nevada disclosure tied to the Desert Forge Ventures investment.

The Vena Vitals story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company search and full text search for Vena VitalsSEC · checked Sep 22, 2026
  2. Public recordNSF awards 2036639 and 2213169, including obligation historyNSF · 2021 to 2027
  3. Public recordNIH RePORTER awards R33HL163749, R43HL170868 and R43HL180283NHLBI · FY2022 to FY2025
  4. Public recordopenFDA 510(k) database queries for Vena Vitals and VeriTrackFDA · checked Sep 22, 2026
  5. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT06887465Last update posted Apr 3, 2025
  6. TrackerVena Vitals funding record, $10.7M raised and a $10.0M Series A in May 2025Indexed.vc · 2026
  7. TrackerVena Vitals funding rounds and investors, five rounds, amounts undisclosedTracxn · 2026
  8. TrackerVena Vitals valuation and funding record, $3.12M totalCaplight · 2026
  9. TrackerVena Vitals private market view, $2.1M raised and a $30.0M last reported valuationPremier Alts · Sep 2026
  10. IndependentLas Vegas Startup Cracks Continuous Blood Pressure MonitoringEntrepreneur Loop · 2026
  11. CompanyVena Vitals website, home and technology pagesvenavitals.com · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  12. CompanyVena Vitals company profile and open rolesY Combinator · accessed Sep 22, 2026

Compiled from SEC, NSF, NIH and FDA public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; no such notice has been filed by this company, and private placements made under Section 4(a)(2) require none. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Vena Vitals. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.