Funding profile · Regenerative medicine

Volumetric Biotechnologies

A company that never filed a Form D of its own, drew $323,000 through four outside syndicates that did, then sold for $40.2 million plus an earnout of up to $355.0 million that paid nothing.

$40.2MClosing consideration recorded; $45M was announced
$355.0MMaximum earnout, none earned, all terminated
$37.5MOf the price booked as goodwill, 93 percent of the total
$323KSold by the four SEC vehicles named for Volumetric

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Jan 2020 SPV: Principium Ventures Volumetric SPV (Assure Labs 2019) $18,000 2 · minimum $5,000 Form D
Winter 2020 Y Combinator, W20 batch Not disclosed Y Combinator YC profile
Jul to Aug 2020 SPV: Bioverge Funds, Volumetric I, LLC $108,500 of $125,000 offered 13 · minimum $2,500 Form D
Aug to Sep 2020 SPV: Principium Ventures Volumetric Bio SPV (Assure Labs 2020) $40,000 4 · minimum $10,000 Form D
By Oct 2021 Named backers Not disclosed Methuselah Foundation and Fund InnovationMap
Dec 1, 2021 Acquired by 3D Systems (NYSE: DDD) $40,173,000: $24,814,000 cash plus 720,022 shares at $15,358,000 3D Systems 10-K
Dec 2021 to 2035 Earnout, seven science milestones Up to $355,000,000; $0 paid Former shareholders 10-K
Filed Jun 2023 SPV: Network VC Syndicate Fund LLC Series Volumetric, first sale Jul 20, 2020 $156,500 9 · minimum $8,000 Form D

What the filings show

Bioverge Funds, Volumetric I, LLC · Form D · filed Aug 7, 2020

First sale
Jul 20, 2020
Type
Pooled fund, Boise, Idaho
Offered
$125,000
Sold
$108,500 · $16,500 remaining
Investors
13 · about $8,346 each · minimum $2,500
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001820563

Principium Ventures Volumetric SPV, a series of Assure Labs 2019, LLC · Form D · filed Jan 15, 2020

First sale
Jan 15, 2020
Type
Pooled fund, Salt Lake City
Sold
$18,000 of $18,000
Investors
2 · $9,000 each · minimum $5,000
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001798814

Principium Ventures Volumetric Bio SPV, a series of Assure Labs 2020, LLC · Form D · filed Sep 3, 2020

First sale
Aug 24, 2020
Type
Pooled fund, Salt Lake City
Sold
$40,000 of $40,000
Investors
4 · $10,000 each
Exemptions
Rule 506(b); Investment Company Act 3(c)(1)
Related persons
Assure Fund Management II, LLC; Jeremy Neilson; Richard Thoms
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001820978

Network VC Syndicate Fund LLC Series Volumetric · Form D · filed Jun 21, 2023

First sale
Jul 20, 2020, filed almost three years late
Type
Equity, Delaware series LLC
Sold
$156,500 of $156,500
Investors
9 · about $17,389 each · non-accredited reported
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001980388

Reading the filings

  1. The company itself is invisible in Regulation D.An EDGAR search for Form D filers named Volumetric returns only Volumetric Fund Inc of New York and Volumetric Holdings LP of Philadelphia, a construction partnership unrelated to this business. Every notice tied to the bioprinting company came from an outside vehicle. Issuers raising under Section 4(a)(2) file no Form D at all, so the absence does not mean no money moved.
  2. The visible money is retail sized.The four vehicles sold $323,000 across 28 investor slots, about $11,536 each: $8,346 at Bioverge, $9,000 and $10,000 at the two Principium series, about $17,389 at Network VC. These are syndicate feeders, not a priced round.
  3. Announced and recorded do not match.The buyer, Rice University and the sellers’ law firm all described “a $45 million closing payment.” 3D Systems booked $40,173 thousand. The $4.8 million difference has never been reconciled in a filing. The stock half works out to about $21.33 on each of 720,022 shares.
  4. The earnout was payroll, not price.Because each milestone required named sellers to still be employed when it was hit, the $355.0 million sat outside the purchase price allocation and was treated as compensation expense. Only one milestone, worth $65 million, was ever deemed probable. Against it the buyer booked $1,326 thousand in 2021 and $15,918 thousand in 2022, then reversed $17.3 million in 2023 after cutting the research budget behind it. With related performance share units, the reversal cut reported selling, general and administrative expense by $18.4 million and the buyer’s loss per share by $0.14.
  5. Almost nothing on the balance sheet was the technology.The final allocation put $37,492 thousand of the $40,173 thousand into goodwill, 93 percent of the price, and $1,500 thousand into identifiable intangibles: product technology $1,100 thousand, customer relationships $400 thousand. The sellers’ law firm called the patent portfolio “a core asset of the transaction.” The buyer’s valuers assigned it about one dollar in forty of the closing price.
  6. One filing arrived after the company no longer existed.Network VC Syndicate Fund reported a first sale of July 20, 2020, the same date as the Bioverge vehicle, but did not file until June 21, 2023, eighteen months after the acquisition closed. Form D is due within 15 days of first sale. It also reports non-accredited investors, which the other three do not.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Revenue None ever disclosed. The buyer says the acquisition’s impact on results and cash flows “has been dilutive.” Public record
Products LAP photoinitiator and PEGDA powders still sold by 3D Systems as materials from the Volumetric team. Company-stated
Key customer All of the buyer’s collaboration revenue comes from one regenerative medicine contract. United Therapeutics holds an exclusive license to the relevant printing patents. Public record
Regulatory No FDA clearance and no registered trial found. The partnered lung program remains preclinical. Not found
Legal Dispute resolution opened March 29, 2024. A $1.8 million settlement offer of August 21, 2024 was unanswered and still accrued at December 31, 2025. No lawsuit filed. Public record

What to watch

  • Whether the former shareholders sue. The buyer reports no estimate of liability.
  • Any change to the $1.8 million accrual, which would signal movement in the mediation.
  • Whether 3D Systems keeps funding the lung program after dropping kidney and liver work.
  • A new Form D from either founder, which would mark a second venture.

The Volumetric Biotechnologies story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Bioverge Funds, Volumetric I, LLC, CIK 0001820563SEC · Aug 7, 2020
  2. Public recordForm D, Principium Ventures Volumetric SPV, CIK 0001798814SEC · Jan 15, 2020
  3. Public recordForm D, Principium Ventures Volumetric Bio SPV, CIK 0001820978SEC · Sep 3, 2020
  4. Public recordForm D, Network VC Syndicate Fund LLC Series Volumetric, CIK 0001980388SEC · Jun 21, 2023
  5. Public record3D Systems Form 10-K, FY2022, purchase price allocationSEC EDGAR · Mar 16, 2023
  6. Public record3D Systems Form 10-K, FY2025SEC EDGAR · Mar 9, 2026
  7. Public recordUnited Therapeutics Form 10-K, FY2025SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001082554 · Feb 25, 2026
  8. IndependentHouston bioprinting startup to be acquired for up to $400MInnovationMap · Oct 29, 2021
  9. Company3D Systems Announces Acquisition of Volumetric Biotechnologies3D Systems · Oct 27, 2021
  10. AdviserHaynes Boone Advises on Acquisition of VolumetricHaynes Boone · Nov 1, 2021

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Volumetric Biotechnologies or 3D Systems Corporation. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.