Funding profile · Stroke neuroprotection
Voyage Biomedical
A company with no Form D, no venture round on record, and one accelerator check. The exit is the only capital event anyone has confirmed, and its terms are unknown.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported and aggregator-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 1, 2019 | Accelerator or incubator | Not disclosed | Not attributed to a named investor in the record | PitchBook |
| Jan 31, 2019 | Accelerator or incubator | Not disclosed | Not attributed to a named investor in the record | PitchBook |
| Aug 20, 2019 | Accelerator or incubator | Not disclosed | Y Combinator, Summer 2019 batch | PitchBook, YC |
| Cohort 2019/20 | CDL-Rockies, Prime stream | No cash disclosed | Creative Destruction Lab | CDL listing |
| Not dated | Merger or acquisition, completed | Not disclosed | Penumbra, Inc. (NYSE: PEN) | YC, PitchBook |
| Lifetime | All rounds | $150,000 | Berkeley SkyDeck, Creative Destruction Lab, Y Combinator, all listed as former investors | PitchBook |
What the filings show
Nothing. Voyage Biomedical, Inc. has no CIK, no Form D and no other filing in EDGAR. A full text search of every filed document since 2001 returns zero occurrences of the company name, including in the filings of the public company that bought it. The pages below read the absence rather than the paperwork.
Reading the filings
- There is no Regulation D paper trail at all.A company can raise privately under Section 4(a)(2) instead of Regulation D and owe the SEC no notice, so zero Form D filings is not proof that zero money moved. It does mean that no offering, no investor count and no first sale date for this company was ever put on the public record.
- The only sized round is an accelerator check.PitchBook puts lifetime funding at $150,000, which is the size of the Y Combinator standard deal in force during the Summer 2019 batch. YC raised that standard deal to $500,000 in January 2022, well after Voyage went through. Split across a team of three, $150,000 is about $50,000 a head, which buys months, not a clinical program.
- Three accelerator events in under eight months.PitchBook dates them January 1, 2019, January 31, 2019 and August 20, 2019, and names Berkeley SkyDeck, Creative Destruction Lab and Y Combinator as former investors without saying which event belongs to which. Creative Destruction Lab lists the company in its CDL-Rockies Prime stream for the 2019/20 cohort. Stacking three programs in one year is a pattern of teams raising non-dilutive validation rather than priced equity.
- Non-dilutive federal money is zero.NIH RePORTER records no award. There is no NSF award to the company and no FDA submission of any kind. The only outside research funding named in the company’s one published paper is a Berkeley student grant program whose top tier is capped at $2,000: “Up to $2000 will be awarded for each project”. For a device company in stroke, that is a structurally thin balance sheet.
- The acquirer treated the deal as immaterial.Penumbra reported $1.40 billion of revenue for 2025 and agreed in January 2026 to be bought by Boston Scientific at an enterprise value of about $14.5 billion. It never named Voyage Biomedical in a filing. A public company discloses acquisitions that move its numbers; silence across every filing is the strongest available evidence that this one did not. The price is unknown and no party has published a closing date.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA clearance, approval, registration or breakthrough designation. Nothing was ever authorized for sale. | Public record |
| Revenue | None reported anywhere. No product was marketed. | Not found |
| Clinical evidence | One peer reviewed preclinical paper, 3 pigs plus 1 perfused human cadaver, company funded, all authors holding stock. No registered trial. | Public record |
| Intellectual property | PCT application WO2019232488A1, June 1, 2018 priority, published Dec 5, 2019, marked Inactive by PitchBook. No granted US patent found under the company name. | Public record |
| Acquirer portfolio | Penumbra’s January 2026 description of its neurovascular line lists access, stroke revascularization and neuro embolization. No cooling product is named. | Acquirer-stated |
| Reported outcome | An alumni citation calls the acquisition a result of the invention and of awards for product design. No price or date accompanies it. | Independent |
What to watch
- Whether Boston Scientific closes the Penumbra acquisition in 2026 as the parties expect.
- Any national phase entry or grant arising from WO2019232488A1, under any assignee.
- Any cooling product entering Penumbra’s neurovascular line, which would be the first public sign the asset was used.
- Whether the founders’ later vehicles file. Justin Olshavsky is described as a founding partner of the Pioneer Bio+Health Fund.
The Voyage Biomedical story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR, no Form D and zero full text mentions of Voyage Biomedical
- Public recordWO2019232488A1, Venous infusion catheter and methods for its use
- Public recordNIH RePORTER, openFDA and ClinicalTrials.gov queries, all zero results
- IndependentVoyage Biomedical company profile: accelerator rounds, former investors, $150K raised
- IndependentVoyage Biomedical, CDL-Rockies, Prime stream, cohort 2019/20
- CompanyVoyage Biomedical company page, Summer 2019, team size 3, status Acquired
- CompanyThe Y Combinator Standard Deal
- IndependentDiscussion of YC moving its standard deal to $500k from the prior $125k and $150k terms
- Public recordSelective retrograde cerebral cooling in complete cerebral circulatory arrest, funding and conflict statements
- Public recordThe Jacobs Institute Innovation Catalysts grant terms
- CompanyBoston Scientific announces agreement to acquire Penumbra, Inc.
- IndependentJustin Olshavsky ’16 Receives Roaring10 Award
Compiled from SEC, FDA, NIH, WIPO and other public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; a company that sells securities under Section 4(a)(2) files none. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Voyage Biomedical. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
