Funding profile · DNA sequencing

XGenomes

No Form D has ever been filed for this company. The capital that is documented is federal: $2,036,113 of NIH small business grants, all of it Phase I. The commercial databases disagree about the private money by a factor of more than twenty.

$2.04MNIH SBIR awards on record, six Phase I grants, 2017 to 2025
$0SBIR Phase II dollars awarded, per SBIR.gov
0Form D filings found at the SEC, company or vehicle
$150K to $3.5MRange of total raised reported across four commercial databases

Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported and database-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Oct 2016 Accelerator or incubator Not disclosed Not named; CB Insights lists Harvard Venture Incubation Program and Harvard Life Lab among backers PitchBook
2017 NIH SBIR Phase I, NIGMS $225,000 National Institute of General Medical Sciences Public record
2018 NIH SBIR Phase I, NHGRI $280,000 National Human Genome Research Institute Public record
Mar 2019 Y Combinator Winter 2019 $150,000 reported Y Combinator Dealroom, CB Insights
Sep 2019 Seed Not disclosed Not named PitchBook
Sep 2019 Same round, as reported by one aggregator $3,000,000 List names funds whose stated focus is esports and alternative protein Differs from other databases
Jun 2021 Seed $250,000 Not named PitchBook
2024 to 2025 NIH SBIR Phase I, four awards $1,531,113 NHGRI, NCI, NIGMS Public record

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · no Form D on file · checked Sep 24, 2026

Filings found
None under XGenomes or XGenomes Corp
Vehicles naming the company
None
What that rules out
Any noticed offering under Regulation D
What it does not rule out
Sales under Section 4(a)(2), which carry no Form D requirement, and pure grant funding
Filing
SEC EDGAR company and full text search, no result

XGenomes Corp · SBA company record · retrieved Sep 24, 2026

UEI
URQZNV343D65
Employees
6
First award year
2017
Phase I awards
6 · $2,036,113
Phase II awards
0 · $0
Conversion rate
N/A
Principal investigator
Kalim U Mir on all six awards
Filing
SBIR.gov company portfolio 2285405

Reading the filings

  1. Federal money is the load-bearing capital.Take PitchBook’s $3.5M as the total raised and the $2,036,113 of NIH awards is 58 percent of it. Take the $150K that Tracxn, CB Insights and The Company Check report and the grants are more than thirteen times the private total. Under either reading, the taxpayer is the largest single funder of this company.
  2. The databases are not close to agreeing.Tracxn, CB Insights and The Company Check each put the total at $150K, which is the standard Y Combinator check for the Winter 2019 batch. PitchBook says $3.5M across nine events and 16 investors. One aggregator reports a $3.0M seed in September 2019 with an investor list that includes an esports fund and an alternative protein fund. The high and low figures differ by a factor of 23. Nothing at the SEC settles it.
  3. The absence of a Form D is itself the finding.A Regulation D offering must be noticed within 15 days of the first sale. Across nine years, two accelerators and at least two rounds that PitchBook records as completed, no Form D appears. Either the financings were small enough and structured under Section 4(a)(2), or they were smaller than the databases suggest.
  4. Six Phase I grants, zero Phase II.Phase II is where SBIR money becomes material, and XGenomes has not reached it in nine years of trying. Three of the six Phase I awards were made in 2025 and run into 2027, so the window is open. But the 2018 award, on a sequencing chemistry the company has since replaced, closed in January 2021 without a Phase II following it.
  5. The investor lists overlap only at the edges.CB Insights names FundersClub, HOF Capital, Y Combinator, Harvard Venture Incubation Program and Harvard Life Lab. PitchBook names Amino Capital, Cantos Ventures, FundersClub and HOF Capital out of 16. The two lists share two names. No round has been announced by the company itself.
  6. The addresses track the money.CB Insights lists 125 Western Ave, Boston, the Harvard Life Lab building. PitchBook lists 750 Main Street, Cambridge. LinkedIn and the company site list The Engine at 501 Massachusetts Ave, and a 2023 capture of the website added a second site at the Bioinnovation Centre, Cambridge Science Park, in the UK. That is an incubator to incubator path, not a company that has taken on its own lease.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA 510(k), no PMA, no registered clinical trial. Public record
Product A system called OneBox appears on the 2026 website, with prep and sequencing above Q60 claimed. No price, ship date or specification sheet. Company-stated
Customers None named anywhere in the public record. Not found
Evidence One arXiv preprint on the estimation algorithm, tested on simulated datasets. No peer-reviewed platform data found. Public record
Intellectual property Patent family assigned to XGenomes Corp covering sequencing by emergence, random epigenomic sampling and epigenetic modification detection. CB Insights counts ten filings, one granted Aug 30, 2022. Public record
Headcount Six per SBA, 8 per PitchBook, 2 to 10 per LinkedIn. Three roles posted in 2026 at $65,000 to $120,000. Public record
Trade press No coverage found in the sequencing trade press. The last independent article is TechCrunch, March 2019. Not found

What to watch

  • A first Form D. It would be the first hard number on private capital this company has ever produced.
  • A Phase II award, which would roughly double the federal total in one grant and would mean a study section accepted a Phase I result.
  • Any disclosed round, with a lead named by the company rather than by a database.
  • Experimental sequencing data attached to the Q50 and Q60 accuracy claims.

The XGenomes story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSBIR.gov company portfolio 2285405, XGenomes CorpSBA · retrieved Sep 24, 2026
  2. Public recordSBIR award 219477, 1R43HG013914-01A1NIH NHGRI · 2025
  3. Public recordNIH RePORTER records for XGenomes Corp and XGenomes LLC, six awardsNIH · 2017 to 2025
  4. Public recordSEC EDGAR search for Form D filings, no resultSEC · checked Sep 24, 2026
  5. Public recordPatents assigned to XGenomes CorpJustia Patents · retrieved Sep 24, 2026
  6. IndependentXGenomes company profile, deal history, investors and patentsPitchBook · retrieved Sep 24, 2026
  7. IndependentXGenomes total raised and investor listCB Insights · retrieved Sep 24, 2026
  8. IndependentXGenomes funding rounds and investorsTracxn · retrieved Sep 24, 2026
  9. IndependentXGenomes company information and fundingDealroom · retrieved Sep 24, 2026
  10. IndependentXGenomes is bringing DNA sequencing to the massesTechCrunch · Mar 15, 2019
  11. CompanyXGenomes website, OneBox and careers pagesxgenomes.com · retrieved Sep 24, 2026

Compiled from SEC, SBA, NIH and USPTO public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; the absence of one does not mean no capital was raised, since Section 4(a)(2) sales carry no filing requirement. Database figures are those vendors’ estimates, not company disclosures. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in XGenomes. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.