Funding profile · Consumer health and engineered probiotics
ZBiotics
Two Regulation D offerings on file totalling $28.1 million, four single-company vehicles formed around the 2024 round, and a public announcement that named roughly half the amount the filing reports.
$28.1MSold across the two Form D offerings on file, 2020 and 2024
$22.4MSold in the 2024 offering, 68 investors, nothing remaining
$12.0MAnnounced publicly as the Series A, August 2024
6Form D filings in EDGAR naming ZBiotics, four of them vehicles
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2018 | Y Combinator, Winter 2018 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Aug 2018 | Indiegogo rewards campaign | Goal $25,000, passed day one | Public backers | Adviser |
| Mar 2020 | Equity, first sale Mar 5, 2020 | $5,691,137 of $5,691,140 | 38 | Form D |
| Oct 2023 | Cumulative, per the CEO | “around $14 million” | Not itemized | Interview |
| Mar 2024 | Equity, first sale Mar 26, 2024 | $22,423,339, fully sold | 68 | Form D |
| Mar to Apr 2024 | Four single-company vehicles | Amounts not in the records pulled | Spring Tide Master II (two series), SEASIDE Ventures, GRCF2 | EDGAR |
| Aug 2024 | Announced Series A | $12,000,000 | Spring Tide Capital (lead), Access Capital, Seamless Capital, Goat Rodeo Capital, Seaside Ventures | Differs from filing |
What the filings show
ZBiotics Co · Form D · filed Apr 9, 2024
- First sale
- Mar 26, 2024
- Offered
- $22,423,339 equity
- Sold
- $22,423,339 · $0 remaining
- Investors
- 68 · average about $329,750
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b) · no non-accredited investors
- Related persons
- Zachary Donald Abbott and Stephen Lamb (executive officers, directors); Adam Ramada (director), Claymont, DE
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001807168
Zbiotics Co · Form D · filed Mar 24, 2020
- First sale
- Mar 5, 2020
- Offered
- $5,691,140 equity
- Sold
- $5,691,137 · $3 remaining
- Investors
- 38 · average about $149,770
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b) · Delaware corporation, incorporated 2016
- Related persons
- Stephen Lamb (executive officer, director), sole name listed
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001807168
Four related vehicles · Form D · filed Mar 28 to Apr 18, 2024
- Filers
- ZBiotics Fund I, a series of SEASIDE Ventures, LP; ZBiotics II Jan 2024 and ZBiotics February 2024, both series of Spring Tide Master II LLC; GRCF2 ZBiotics SPV2 LP
- Amounts
- Not captured in the records pulled
- Overlap
- Spring Tide led the announced round; Seaside Ventures was a named participant
Reading the filings
- The filing is roughly twice the announcement.The Form D reports $22,423,339 sold. The August 2024 release calls it a $12M Series A. The gap is $10,423,339. The usual explanation is notes or SAFEs converting into a priced round, which a Form D counts and a press release rarely mentions. That fits the CEO saying in October 2023 that the company had raised “around $14 million”, of which $5,691,137 sits on the 2020 filing. No amendment has been filed to settle it.
- The round closed before it was described.First sale March 26, 2024. Form D filed April 9, fourteen days later, inside the deadline. Announcement August 27, one hundred and fifty four days after the first sale. Offered equals sold to the dollar with nothing remaining, the shape of a closed round being reported rather than an open target being marketed.
- Checks are institutional, with syndicates behind them.$22,423,339 across 68 investors averages about $329,750. The 2020 round averaged about $149,770 across 38. Sixty eight holders is a wide book, and the four vehicles filed between March 28 and April 18, 2024 are how smaller checks reach one line on a cap table.
- Two vehicles predate the issuer’s own first sale.The Spring Tide series are named ZBiotics II Jan 2024 and ZBiotics February 2024. The company’s first sale was March 26, 2024. Capital was being gathered for this deal at least two months before the issuer’s clock started.
- The board list moves oddly.The 2020 filing names only Stephen Lamb; the founder and CEO does not appear. The 2024 filing adds Abbott and Adam Ramada, the Spring Tide partner who announced the investment. TechCrunch reported in March 2025 that Ramada was previously a managing director at SpringTide Capital and had begun working at DOGE that January. No later filing shows who holds the seat now.
- Capital stopped being the constraint.The company reports profitability from 2023 and compound annual growth near 113 percent from 2021 through 2025. In October 2023 the CEO said the firm had “been profitable in the last five months, so we have infinite runway as of right now”.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA premarket review. ZB183 and ZB423 are food ingredients under self-affirmed GRAS, absent from the FDA GRAS notice inventory as checked in February 2026. Company says submissions are in the pipeline. | Independent |
| Units | 15 million bottles sold by July 2026; the 10 millionth in November 2025. | Company-stated |
| Price and channel | $7 to $9 per bottle. Direct to consumer from 2019, Amazon from 2023, then Total Wine, Bevmo, specialty grocery and restaurants. | Independent |
| Acquisition | Prebiotic, probiotic and polyphenol assets acquired from January AI, described July 2026. Terms not disclosed. | Company-stated |
| Clinical evidence | No registered or published human efficacy trial for either strain. Animal toxicology only. | Not found |
What to watch
- An amended or new Form D that reconciles $22,423,339 with the announced $12 million.
- Any filing after April 2024. The most recent is more than two years old.
- Board composition, since the only outside director named in 2024 left the lead investor.
- Whether the promised FDA GRAS notices are filed, and any rulemaking that closes self-affirmed GRAS to engineered live microbes.
The ZBiotics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordForm D, ZBiotics Co, CIK 0001807168
- Public recordForm D, Zbiotics Co, CIK 0001807168
- Public recordForm D filings by four ZBiotics-named vehicles
- CompanyZBiotics Raises $12M Series A
- InterviewMeet the founder: ZBiotics Zack Abbott on designer probiotics
- IndependentZBiotics takes GM probiotics mainstream with 15m+ pre-alcohol shots sold
- IndependentThis Bay Area-made hangover cure has sold 10 million bottles
- Independent19 founders and VCs working with Elon Musk’s DOGE
- Legal analysisThe Need for Stronger Regulation of Engineered Live Microbes as Foods
- IndependentZBiotics Crowdfunding Campaign Launched
Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in ZBiotics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
