Funding profile · Computational biology
20n
A YC Winter 2015 synthetic biology company that raised a small equity round, won $1,311,479 of DARPA contracts, filed three patents, and never filed a Form D. The federal record is the only audited number in the story.
$2.2MEquity raised, founder-stated, led by Khosla Ventures
$1.31MDARPA contract obligations on the federal record, 2014 and 2015
$120KTotal raised per CB Insights, which conflicts with the founder figure
0Form D filings on SEC EDGAR
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| May 2014 | DARPA contract HR001114C0076 | $699,453 | Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency | Federal record |
| Winter 2015 | Y Combinator batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| By June 2015 | Seed, named on the company site | Not disclosed at the time | Y Combinator, Khosla Ventures, Blumberg Capital | Company site |
| Sep 2015 | DARPA contract HR001115C0152 | $612,026 | Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency | Federal record |
| Company lifetime | Total equity, stated retrospectively | $2.2M | Led by Khosla Ventures | Founder-stated |
| Company lifetime | Total raised, as recorded by a data vendor | $120K | Y Combinator, Great Oaks Venture Capital | Conflicts |
| 2013 to 2026 | Regulation D offerings | None | None | No filing |
What the record shows
20N LABS, INC. · DARPA contract HR001114C0076 · signed May 7, 2014
- Obligated
- $699,453
- Program
- Living Foundries: 1000 Molecules, technical area 1
- Pricing
- Firm fixed price · full and open competition
- Classification
- NAICS 541711, research and development in biotechnology · PSC AD91, basic research
- Recipient address
- One Market St, Spear Tower, Ste 3600, San Francisco, CA 94105
- Record
- USAspending.gov, Department of Defense, DARPA
20N LABS, INC. · DARPA contract HR001115C0152 · signed Sep 9, 2015
- Obligated
- $612,026
- Scope
- Design, build and test molecules to make novel chemicals, demonstrating the viability of lab-in-the-cloud metabolic engineering
- Pricing
- Firm fixed price · full and open competition
- Classification
- NAICS 541711 · PSC AD92, applied research and exploratory development
- Recipient address
- 2130 Harrison St Suite B, San Francisco, CA 94110
- Record
- USAspending.gov, Department of Defense, DARPA
Securities filings · none on record
- Form D
- No filing under any 20n entity name
- EDGAR company search
- No registrant whose name begins 20n
- Full text search
- Zero hits for the phrase 20n Labs on Form D
- Implication
- The equity was raised outside Regulation D, or under an exemption carrying no notice filing. Either way the SEC holds nothing
- Checked
- SEC EDGAR, September 23, 2026
Reading the record
- Non-dilutive money was the larger half of the balance sheet.Take the founder figure of $2.2M in equity and add the $1,311,479 of DARPA obligations, and the total capital comes to about $3.5M, of which 37 percent came from the Department of Defense. Against the CB Insights figure of $120K the federal share is 92 percent.
- The two published capital figures differ by a factor of eighteen.CB Insights records $120K total raised and names Y Combinator and Great Oaks Venture Capital. The founder’s own timeline records $2.2M led by Khosla Ventures. The company’s archived site names Khosla Ventures and Blumberg Capital as investors and its jobs page called 20n “a DARPA, Y Combinator, and Khosla Ventures backed software biotech company”. The vendor figure looks like the accelerator cheque alone.
- The press number in March 2015 implies a commercial customer worth about $1M.TechCrunch wrote that “20^n now has over $1.7 million in contracts from DARPA and a massive cosmetics company, and is eyeing a wide array of chemicals for production.” At that date the federal record shows one DARPA contract of $699,453. Subtracting leaves roughly $1.0M attributed to the unnamed commercial customer, which no public record confirms.
- No Form D means the round cannot be sized independently.Companies that raise under Section 4(a)(2) file nothing, so the absence proves no negative. It does mean there is no investor count, no first sale date and no offering amount to check the $2.2M against, and no related persons list to show who sat on the board.
- The intellectual property left the company before the company left the internet.Three US applications were assigned into 20N LABS, INC. on signing dates from February 3 to February 22, 2017. On October 28, 2017, all three were assigned out again, to Saurabh Srivastava as an individual, under reel and frame 044005/0060. All three later went abandoned. That sequence is what an orderly wind down looks like on the USPTO record.
- The clock stopped in 2017, not 2025.The code repository has not been touched since March 27, 2017 and the last patent action is October 2017, but the domain stayed up until its final archived capture in June 2025. Registration lapse is a lagging indicator; the operating record ends eight years earlier.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Government customer | Two DARPA contracts under Living Foundries: 1000 Molecules, on a contractor list with Zymergen, Amyris, Duke, UT Austin and Illinois. | Public record |
| Commercial customers | A cosmetics company in 2015 and, in the founder’s later account, two Fortune 500 companies. Never named, never contracted on any public record. | Company-stated |
| Product | Bioreachables Service, sold as a dataset of more than 10,000 molecules with DNA designs, priced on request. A free preview covered 11 molecules. | Company-stated |
| Intellectual property | Three US applications published Jul 27, 2017, all abandoned, no foreign counterparts. | Public record |
| Operating status | 20n.com does not resolve as of Sep 23, 2026. CB Insights still lists the company as Alive. | Conflicts |
What to watch
- Nothing further is expected from this issuer. No Form D has ever been filed and no successor entity carries the name.
- The three abandoned applications are permanent prior art, which constrains anyone filing on the same biosynthetic routes.
- 20n/act remains under GPL v3, so any commercial reuse inherits that licence.
- Both founders are traceable: Srivastava at NVIDIA after Essential AI and a second YC company, Anderson back on the Berkeley faculty.
The 20n story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordFederal contract HR001114C0076, DARPA to 20N LABS, INC.
- Public recordFederal contract HR001115C0152, DARPA to 20N LABS, INC.
- Public recordUS patent applications 2017/0211103, 2017/0211104 and 2017/0211105, and assignment 044005/0060
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text search for 20n Labs
- Public recordRepository 20n/act metadata and commit history
- IndependentThe top 10 startups from Y Combinator Winter 2015 Demo Day
- Independent20n Labs company profile, funding and status
- IndependentDARPA works with six organizations on biological materials
- Company20n home page, investors panel and open positions page
- FounderSaurabh Srivastava, personal site, company timeline and patent list
Compiled from SEC, USPTO, DARPA and USAspending.gov public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. No Form D notice has ever been filed for 20n Labs, Inc., so no Regulation D offering amounts exist to report. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in 20n. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
