Funding profile · Longevity therapeutics
Dorian Therapeutics
Dorian took more money from two federal agencies than it ever disclosed from investors, filed no Form D under its own name, and sold to Altos Labs in May 2025 on undisclosed terms.
$4.51MFederal awards on record, NIA and NCI, 2021 to 2025
$4.18MNIA cooperative agreement for the osteoarthritis program, four fiscal years
$336KNCI award for the CAR-T senescence program
NoneForm D filings on EDGAR under the company’s own name
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Y Combinator, Summer 2018 | $150,000 reported | Y Combinator | Press report |
| 2018 | Accelerator | Not disclosed | StartX | Company-stated |
| By May 2021 | Venture backers named | Not disclosed | Longevity Capital, Y Combinator, Blumberg Capital, Pacific 8 Ventures | Company release |
| By 2022 | Individual backers named | Not disclosed | Laura Deming, Celestine Schnugg of Boom Capital, Yodfat Harel Buchris of Blumberg Capital | Company-stated |
| Feb 2022 | Gaingels Dorian LLC, a Vermont pooled vehicle | $111,998 | 16 investors, managed by Gaingels Management LLC | Link unconfirmed |
| Sep 2021 to May 2025 | Federal awards | $4,513,772 | NIA U44 AG074108; NCI R43 CA265636 | NIH |
| May 2025 | Acquisition | Not disclosed | Altos Labs | Press report |
What the filings show
Gaingels Dorian LLC · Form D · filed Feb 16, 2022
- First sale
- Feb 8, 2022
- Type
- Limited liability company, Vermont, formed 2021
- Offered
- $111,998 equity
- Sold
- $111,998 · $0 remaining
- Investors
- 16 · average about $7,000 · minimum accepted $1,500
- Exemption
- Rule 506(b)
- Related persons
- David Beatty, manager of Gaingels Management LLC, which manages the issuer
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001910425
- Caution
- The filing names no portfolio company. Gaingels commonly names a vehicle after the company it invests in, but no public record ties this one to Dorian Therapeutics.
Reading the filings
- Dorian never filed a Form D.EDGAR holds no registrant named Dorian Therapeutics. A company can raise privately under Section 4(a)(2) instead of Regulation D and owe no Form D at all, so the absence does not mean no money moved. It does mean the equity story here rests entirely on what the company and the press chose to say.
- The taxpayer was the largest disclosed funder.$4,178,124 from the National Institute on Aging plus $335,648 from the National Cancer Institute is $4,513,772 of non-dilutive money, against a single reported equity figure of $150,000 at the Y Combinator stage and no disclosed amount for anything after it. For a company of eight people over seven years, the federal awards were very likely the bulk of the budget.
- A vehicle carries the name, and the tie is unproven.Gaingels Dorian LLC sold $111,998 to 16 investors in February 2022, about $7,000 each, against a $1,500 minimum. Those are angel syndicate economics, not fund economics. Gaingels usually names a vehicle for its target, but the filing itself names no company and nothing public confirms the connection. Treat it as a lead, not a fact.
- A separate Dorian Inc. is not this company.EDGAR carries a Form D from Dorian Inc., CIK 0001818452, a Delaware corporation in Walnut, California, classified as Other Technology, which sold $5,449,702 to 15 investors from June 2020. Its officers have no connection to Dorian Therapeutics. Any funding total that sweeps in this filing is wrong.
- The board outweighed the balance sheet.Two directors are documented only in other companies’ proxy statements: Jeff George, formerly chief executive of Sandoz and of Alcon, and Aya Jakobovits, founding chief executive of Kite Pharma. That is unusual governance for a preclinical company with eight employees and no Form D.
- The exit disclosed nothing.Neither Altos Labs nor Dorian published terms. Altos is private and files no reports, so a consideration figure is unlikely ever to surface. Fight Aging! read the deal as a possible acquihire in a poor funding market, which is commentary rather than disclosure.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA marketing submission, as expected for a preclinical small molecule. No IND disclosed. | Public record |
| Clinical | No trial registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. Two SEC proxy statements describe the company as pre-clinical. | Public record |
| Partnership | HitGen, Shanghai listed, DNA encoded library screening from May 2021. Undisclosed upfront plus milestones payable by Dorian to HitGen. | Company release |
| Partnership | Rottapharm Biotech and the University of Milano Bicocca appear as co-authors on the 2023 and 2024 osteoarthritis abstracts. | Public record |
| Intellectual property | WO2021042073A1, priority Aug 29, 2019, entered Europe, Australia, Canada and China. Google Patents lists it as Ceased and notes that the status is an assumption. | Public record |
| Exit | Acquired by Altos Labs, reported May 21, 2025. The company domain now serves the Altos Labs website. | Independent |
What to watch
- Any Altos Labs disclosure of a senescence program or a DT-201 successor. Altos is private and under no obligation to make one.
- Renewal or abandonment of the USP16 patent family in each national office.
- A closeout publication from the NIA cooperative agreement, which ran to May 2025.
- Whether Gaingels lists Dorian Therapeutics in any portfolio disclosure, which would settle the February 2022 vehicle.
The Dorian Therapeutics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordNIH RePORTER, NIA award U44 AG074108 and NCI award R43 CA265636
- Public recordForm D, Gaingels Dorian LLC, CIK 0001910425
- Public recordForm D, Dorian Inc., CIK 0001818452, a separate company
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text search for Dorian Therapeutics
- Public record908 Devices and Adicet Bio proxy statements, Dorian director biographies
- Public recordPatent application WO2021042073A1, Methods and compositions for modulating cellular aging
- Public recordDorian Therapeutics Inc, SBIR company profile, CAGE 8QX05
- IndependentAltos Labs acquires Dorian Therapeutics, with founding and investor history
- IndependentJeff Bezos-backed, lifespan-focused Altos Labs buys small biotech with Stanford roots
- IndependentAltos Labs snaps up Dorian Therapeutics
- IndependentAltos Labs broadens scope to senotherapeutics via acquisition
- CompanyDorian and HitGen announce research collaboration
- CompanyDorian Therapeutics founder profile and investor list
- CompanyDorian Therapeutics company page, batch, team size and acquired status
Compiled from SEC, NIH and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Dorian Therapeutics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
