Funding profile · CRISPR drug discovery
Algen Biotechnologies
An eight-year-old UC Berkeley spinout with a $555 million headline partnership, $11 million of reported equity, and not a single filing of its own at the SEC.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | Founded to commercialize UC Berkeley technology | Not disclosed | Founders | UC Berkeley IPIRA |
| Winter 2020 | Y Combinator batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| FY2021 | NIH STTR Phase I, R41GM146327 | $350,000 | NIGMS | NIH RePORTER |
| Before Oct 2025 | Private rounds, never announced | $11M total | Named by Reuters: Viking Global, Illumina. Lifespan Vision Ventures describes itself as an early investor. | Interview + investor release |
| Oct 6, 2025 | AstraZeneca multi-target partnership, no equity | Undisclosed upfront; up to $555M in total | AstraZeneca | Company release |
| Since Oct 2025 | No financing announced | None reported | None | Not found |
What the filings show
Algen Biotechnologies, Inc. · no Regulation D filing on record
- Form D
- None
- EDGAR registrant
- None. A company name search for ALGEN returns AlgenAir, Inc. (PA), Algenesis Corp (CA), Algenpar Inc (TX) and Algentis LLC (CA)
- Capital reported
- $11,000,000, stated by the CEO to Reuters on Oct 6, 2025
- Period covered
- 2018 to 2026, eight years with no notice filed
- Likely exemption
- Section 4(a)(2), which carries no Form D obligation
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR company search, accessed Sep 22, 2026
AstraZeneca PLC · Form 20-F for fiscal 2025 · filed Feb 24, 2026
- Reference
- Exhibit 15.1 names Algen Biotechnologies among AstraZeneca’s AI collaborations, beside ImmunAI, Syneron Bio and Stanford Medicine
- Amount disclosed
- None. No upfront, milestone or expense figure attributable to Algen appears
- Equity
- No stake taken, per the CEO and per the Financial Times report
- Segment context
- AstraZeneca respiratory and immunology sales were $4.23 billion in the first half of 2025, about 15% of revenue
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0000901832
Reading the filings
- The headline number is not capital.The $555 million is the ceiling on upfront, near term and milestone payments for targets that do not yet exist in public. AstraZeneca took no equity, so none of it is a valuation event and none of it dilutes. Only the undisclosed upfront is cash today, and neither party has sized it.
- Eleven million dollars in eight years is about $1.4 million a year.That is a lean burn for a wet lab company running high-throughput single cell CRISPR screens. Either the screens are cheaper than they look, or partner-funded research has been carrying a meaningful share of the cost.
- No Form D at all is unusual, and not illegal.A company that raises under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D files nothing, so the absence does not mean the $11 million is wrong. It does mean there is no filed record of who bought, at what size, or when. The investor names come from a wire interview and an investor press release, not from a document.
- Federal money is 3% of the total.$350,000 of roughly $11.35 million came from one NIH STTR Phase I award, granted for MYCN-driven neuroblastoma. RePORTER shows no Phase II follow-on after the project period ended on Aug 31, 2025, and the deal that followed a month later was in immunology, not oncology.
- The counterparty is the only regulated source.Every dollar figure on this page except the grant comes from Algen or from people paid to talk about Algen. The single independent, legally attested trace is one sentence in AstraZeneca’s annual report, and it carries no number.
- Twelve months of silence.Between the investor release of Oct 9, 2025 and Sep 22, 2026 there is no indexed news item, no financing announcement and no filing. A company that says it would consider scaling its programs at the next fundraise has not visibly raised one.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Partnership | AstraZeneca gains exclusive rights to develop and commercialize therapies against a defined set of immunology targets. Named in AstraZeneca’s fiscal 2025 Form 20-F. | Public record |
| Revenue | Undisclosed upfront and near term payments. No revenue figure has been published. | Company-stated |
| Pipeline | AB-1 and AB-2 for advanced solid tumors at preclinical stage, two immunology programs at discovery, as of October 2025. | Independent |
| Clinical | No registered study on ClinicalTrials.gov. A lead anticancer agent was described as trial ready in March 2024. | Differs from the 2024 claim |
| Headcount | Y Combinator directory data lists a team of 15. | YC data |
| Publications | No PubMed record with an Algen affiliation. Platform performance figures appear only in a company-bylined trade feature. | Not found |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would put an offering size and an investor count on the record for the first time.
- A priced Series A. The CEO said in October 2025 that scaling would be considered at the next fundraise.
- Any AstraZeneca disclosure that attaches a number, a target or a development candidate to the collaboration.
- A registered trial for AB-1 or AB-2, or a second pharma partner for the oncology programs Algen kept.
- A peer-reviewed publication, which would move the platform claims out of company-controlled media.
The Algen Biotechnologies story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR company name search for ALGEN, no registrant for this company
- Public recordAstraZeneca PLC Form 20-F for fiscal 2025, Exhibit 15.1
- Public recordNIH RePORTER award 1R41GM146327-01, $350,000, NIGMS
- Public recordClinicalTrials.gov and PubMed queries returning zero records for Algen
- Public recordUC Berkeley IPIRA company page, founders, inventors and 2018 founding date
- IndependentAstraZeneca signs up to $555 million AI deal with Algen to develop therapies, with the $11 million and no-equity detail
- IndependentAstraZeneca Signs $555 Million AI Deal For CRISPR Therapies, with the October 2025 pipeline stages
- IndependentAstraZeneca strikes US$555m deal to commercialise AI-discovered immunology drugs
- CompanyAlgen Biotechnologies Announces Multi-Target Partnership to Advance AI-Powered Drug Discovery in Immunology with AstraZeneca
- InvestorLifespan-Backed Algen Biotechnologies Partners with AstraZeneca to Advance AI Drug Discovery
- CompanyAlgenBrain: reverse-engineering disease trajectories with CRISPR and AI
- YC dataAlgen Biotechnologies company entry, Winter 2020 batch
Compiled from SEC, NIH, NLM and UC Berkeley public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; Algen Biotechnologies has filed none, and companies raising under Section 4(a)(2) are not required to. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Algen Biotechnologies. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
