Funding profile · Functional genomics tools
Biocartesian
No SEC Form D has been found for Biocartesian. Two data firms report about $500,000 raised across a Y Combinator allocation and one angel check; a third reports no funding on record at all. Here is what each source actually says, set side by side.
Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled; most figures here come from third party data aggregators, not company disclosures or SEC filings.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jan 2024 | Accelerator or incubator allocation | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | PitchBook |
| 2024 | Seed (single round, per Tracxn) | $500,000 total, exact date and structure not broken out | Not named | Tracxn |
| Aug 2025 | Angel (individual) | Not disclosed | Bullock Capital | PitchBook |
| As of Sep 2026 | No funding on record | $0 | None listed | GetLatka |
What the filings show
Nothing. A search of SEC EDGAR’s company database and its full text search index for the name “biocartesian” returned no Form D and no other filing, as of September 25, 2026. That is not unusual for a very small, YC scale seed company: an offering made under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D triggers no Form D at all, and a small SAFE or convertible note round sometimes goes unfiled until a priced round follows. It does mean that every dollar figure on this page comes from a data aggregator’s own research or estimate, not from a primary regulatory record.
Reading the aggregators
- Two firms agree on a number, but not on its shape.PitchBook and Tracxn each report $500,000 in total funding. PitchBook breaks that into two separate events, a January 2024 accelerator allocation, almost certainly the standard Y Combinator deal, and an August 2025 angel check from a group called Bullock Capital. Tracxn instead describes one seed round in 2024. Neither describes exactly how the other’s structure would net out to the same $500,000 total, and neither cites a primary source.
- A third firm reports nothing.GetLatka, which separately estimates the company’s 2025 revenue at about $330,000, states plainly that it has no funding information for Biocartesian. That is a direct gap against the PitchBook and Tracxn figures, not just a difference in emphasis.
- Y Combinator itself confirms only the accelerator, not a dollar figure.Y Combinator’s own company page and launch post confirm Biocartesian went through the Summer 2024 batch and name no other investor. YC’s standard batch deal is public information but is not restated on the company’s YC page, so the $500,000 figure cannot be checked against YC’s own materials.
- Bullock Capital is a real, small angel investment vehicle, per its own website and PitchBook’s separate investor profile, but no press release, blog post or SEC filing describing its investment in Biocartesian was found independent of the PitchBook listing itself.
- The Capital Readiness Program is not investment.The University City Science Center’s April 2026 selection of Biocartesian for its Capital Readiness Program cohort is a non-equity, grant-funded bootcamp on fundraising and governance, not a funding event, and should not be read as capital raised.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Team size | About 3 employees, consistent across Tracxn and PitchBook as of 2026. | Independent |
| Estimated revenue | GetLatka estimates about $330,000 in 2025 revenue, an estimate rather than a company disclosure. | Independent estimate |
| Named customers | Company materials describe customers only generically, as discovery teams and pharma research teams. No named pharma or biotech customer found. | Not found |
| Non-dilutive support | Selected for Cohort 11 of the University City Science Center’s Capital Readiness Program, a free, five day fundraising and governance bootcamp, April 2026. | Independent |
| Underlying IP | Co-founder Ian Dardani is first author on the clampFISH 2.0 RNA detection method published in Nature Methods, 2022, from his UPenn dissertation, which the company’s current ARADIA product extends. | Public record |
What to watch
- A Form D or other SEC filing that would confirm any of the aggregator-reported figures with a primary source.
- Whether GetLatka’s zero funding figure or PitchBook and Tracxn’s $500,000 figure gets corrected as more data becomes available.
- A named pharma or biotech customer, which no source reviewed here provides.
- Whether the company’s headquarters settles in San Francisco, Philadelphia, or both; the split shows up in this funding picture too, since Bullock Capital and the Science Center’s Capital Readiness Program both point toward Philadelphia.
The Biocartesian story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR full text search for “biocartesian,” Form D, no results
- IndependentBiocartesian 2026 Company Profile, Valuation, Funding and Investors
- IndependentBiocartesian company profile
- IndependentBiocartesian Revenue 2025, $330K Est. ARR, no funding on record
- IndependentBiocartesian Funding, Complete Analysis
- CompanyBiocartesian company page
- IndependentScience Center Announces 10 Startups Selected for Cohort 11 of its Capital Readiness Program
- IndependentBullock Capital angel investments page
- Public recordClampFISH 2.0 enables rapid, scalable amplified RNA detection in situ
Compiled from SEC records and published third party data as of September 25, 2026. No SEC Form D was found for Biocartesian; the funding figures on this page come from PitchBook, Tracxn and GetLatka, three independent data aggregators whose figures disagree with each other and are not confirmed by any primary filing. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Biocartesian. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
