Funding profile · Precision oncology diagnostics

Cofactor Genomics

Three Form D filings across eight years account for $18.8 million sold. The December 2025 strategic investment from Labcorp and Ascension Ventures is not among them.

$18.8MSold across three Form D filings, 2017 to 2023
$24.2MOffered across those filings, so $5.4M was never reported sold
$1.57MNIH small business grants, fiscal 2014 to 2016
0Form D filings since Aug 2023, including for the Dec 2025 investment

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Jun 2017 Equity offering $15,109,999 offered; $10,683,766 sold at filing 23 investors Form D
Sep 2017 Series A, as announced $18,000,000 Led by Menlo Ventures; DCVC, Ascension Ventures, iSelect, Y Combinator, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati, Stanford Press report
Dec 2021 Equity offering $7,056,712 offered; $6,906,712 sold 9 investors Form D
Aug 2023 Equity offering $2,000,000 offered; $1,174,682 sold at filing 2 investors Form D
Dec 2025 Strategic investment Not disclosed Labcorp, Ascension Ventures Company release
2014 to 2016 NIH small business grants $1,571,077 National Institute on Drug Abuse NIH

What the filings show

Cofactor Genomics, Inc. · Form D · filed Aug 2, 2023

First sale
Jul 20, 2023
Offered
$2,000,000 equity
Sold
$1,174,682 · $825,318 remaining
Investors
2 · average about $587,300
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Jarret Glasscock (executive officer, director); John Kuelper (executive officer, director); William Hagstrom (director); Mark Siegel (director); David Messina (executive officer)
Address of record
San Francisco, CA
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001710475

Cofactor Genomics, Inc. · Form D · filed Dec 16, 2021

First sale
Dec 8, 2021
Offered
$7,056,712 equity
Sold
$6,906,712 · $150,000 remaining
Investors
9 · average about $767,400
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Glasscock and Kuelper (executive officers, directors); Hagstrom, Messina, Vidian, Siegel and Armstrong (directors)
Address of record
St. Louis, MO
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001710475

Cofactor Genomics, Inc. · Form D · filed Jun 28, 2017

First sale
Jun 14, 2017
Offered
$15,109,999 equity
Sold
$10,683,766 · $4,426,233 remaining
Investors
23 · average about $464,500
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Jarret Glassock, spelled that way in the filing (executive officer, director); Jon Armstrong (director); Mark Siegel, Menlo Park (director); Matthew A. Ocko, Palo Alto (director)
Incorporation
Delaware, 2015
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001710475

Reading the filings

  1. The announced round is larger than the offering it was filed against.The June 2017 Form D reports a $15,109,999 offering with $10,683,766 sold and 23 investors. Press coverage that September put the Series A at $18,000,000. That is $2,890,001 more than the entire offering as filed, and no amendment was filed to reconcile the two figures.
  2. Fewer investors writing larger checks.2017: $10,683,766 from 23 investors, about $464,500 each. 2021: $6,906,712 from 9, about $767,400 each. 2023: $1,174,682 from 2, about $587,300 each. The syndicate narrowed to a pair of writers by 2023, which is the shape of an insider bridge rather than a priced outside round.
  3. Only the 2021 offering closed.That filing left $150,000 of $7,056,712 unsold, about 2 percent. The 2017 filing left $4,426,233 and the 2023 filing left $825,318. Across all three, $5,401,551 of $24,166,711 offered was never reported sold.
  4. The board list tracks the money.In 2017 the related persons are Glasscock, Jon Armstrong, Mark Siegel of Menlo Park and Matthew A. Ocko of Palo Alto, matching the Menlo and DCVC lead. By 2021 the list runs to seven, adding John Kuelper of Ascension Ventures as an executive officer and director. By 2023 it is down to five: Ocko, Armstrong and Vidian are gone.
  5. No Form D covers the December 2025 investment.EDGAR lists three Form D notices for CIK 0001710475, the latest on Aug 2, 2023. A Form D is due within 15 days of the first sale in a Regulation D offering. More than nine months after the Labcorp and Ascension announcement, none has appeared. An offering placed under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D requires no notice, so the gap is not evidence that nothing closed, only that nothing was filed.
  6. The registered address left Missouri.The 2017 and 2021 filings give a St. Louis address. The 2023 filing and the current EDGAR record give 300 Brannan Street, San Francisco, while every press release since carries a St. Louis dateline.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Reimbursement Palmetto GBA granted national Medicare coverage for OncoPrism in recurrent and metastatic head and neck squamous cell carcinoma, Oct 2024. One indication, not the full menu. Public record
Regulatory No FDA 510(k) or premarket approval found. OncoPrism is a laboratory developed test run in a CAP accredited, CLIA certified laboratory. Public record
Strategic investors Labcorp and Ascension Ventures, Dec 2025, amounts not disclosed by either party. Ascension has been on the cap table since 2017. Company-stated
Clinical network Company boilerplate claims 38 healthcare systems representing 20 percent of US healthcare. The peer-reviewed validation reports 17. The trial registry lists one location. Counts differ
Revenue Not disclosed. All three Form D filings elect Decline to Disclose for revenue range. No test volume figure has been published. Not found

What to watch

  • A Form D covering the December 2025 investment, or an amendment to the August 2023 notice.
  • Whether Labcorp turns an equity position into a distribution or channel agreement.
  • Any disclosure of test volume or revenue. No filing or release has carried one.

The Cofactor Genomics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Cofactor Genomics, Inc., accession 0001710475-17-000001SEC · Jun 28, 2017
  2. Public recordForm D, Cofactor Genomics, Inc., accession 0001710475-21-000001SEC · Dec 16, 2021
  3. Public recordForm D, Cofactor Genomics, Inc., accession 0001710475-23-000003SEC · Aug 2, 2023
  4. Public recordEDGAR filing index and registered address, CIK 0001710475SEC · retrieved Sep 22, 2026
  5. Public recordNIH RePORTER, project R44DA038993, National Institute on Drug AbuseNIH · FY2014 to FY2016
  6. IndependentCofactor Genomics pulls in $18 million with the aim to save lives through RNA researchTechCrunch, Sarah Buhr · Sep 18, 2017
  7. IndependentCortex District Member Cofactor Genomics Lands Investments from Labcorp, Ascension VenturesSt. Louis Business Journal via Cortex Innovation District · Dec 18, 2025
  8. IndependentCofactor Genomics Receives Investment from Labcorp and Ascension VenturesFinSMEs · Dec 16, 2025
  9. CompanyStrategic investment by Labcorp and Ascension VenturesBusiness Wire · Dec 15, 2025

Compiled from SEC, NIH and published public records and reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Cofactor Genomics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.