Funding profile · Autoimmune diagnostics

Coral Genomics

About $2 million of seed equity, about $3 million of federal grant money, and not one Form D on file with the SEC. The company was absorbed in an asset sale, and a clinical trial registry, not a press release, is what records the ending.

$2.95MNIH SBIR obligations on record, FY2019 to FY2021
$2.0MSeed round after YC demo day, as reported
0Form D notices filed with the SEC
$25,000Lyfebulb and Arena innovation prize, Sep 2021

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2018 Y Combinator, Summer 2018 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC record
2018 to 2019 Seed, after demo day About $2M Soma Capital, Baidu Ventures, Hemisphere Ventures named by GenomeWeb; CB Insights adds JLabs Independent
Sep 2019 NIH SBIR Phase I, R43HG010445 $142,674 NHGRI Public record
FY2020 to FY2021 NIH SBIR Phase II, R44HG010445 $1,999,834 NHGRI Public record
FY2021 NIH SBIR, R44ES032515 $811,373 NIEHS Public record
Sep 2021 Innovation challenge prize $25,000 Lyfebulb and Arena Pharmaceuticals Independent
2022 to 2023 Asset purchase Not disclosed Gordian Biotechnology Founder-stated

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · no Form D on file

Searched
Form D and Form D/A filings by or naming Coral Genomics, Inc.
Result
No filing found, and no investment vehicle filing that names the company
Reading
A seed round can close under Section 4(a)(2) with no Regulation D notice, so silence here is not proof that no money moved
Accessed
Sep 23, 2026

NIH RePORTER · R43 and R44 HG010445 · NHGRI

FY2019
$142,674, Phase I
FY2020
$794,628, Phase II year one
FY2021
$1,205,206, Phase II year two
Project period
Sep 1, 2019 to Aug 31, 2022
Principal investigator
Atray Dixit
Linked study
2R44HG010445-02 is the secondary ID on trial NCT04995783

NIH RePORTER · R44ES032515 · NIEHS

FY2021
$811,373
Project period
Feb 1, 2021 to Jan 31, 2023
Later years
No further obligation appears on record
Title
In Vitro Toxicity Testing at Massive Scale in Diverse Primary Human Cells

Reading the filings

  1. Federal money outran the equity.$2,953,881 of NIH obligations against about $2,000,000 of reported seed. On the disclosed numbers, roughly 60 percent of the capital that reached this company was non dilutive. That ratio is unusual for a Y Combinator diagnostics startup and it shaped the timeline: the work stopped roughly when the grants did.
  2. The announced grant figure is above the obligated one.GenomeWeb in May 2021 described two awards “totaling approximately $3.6 million.” RePORTER shows $2,953,881 obligated, a gap of about $646,000. The NIEHS award had a two year project period and only one year of obligations on record, which accounts for most of the difference.
  3. The founder’s ratio does not match the record either.In September 2021 Dixit wrote that “after a $2M seed round post-YC we brought in double that amount in the NIH grants.” Double $2 million is $4 million. The obligated total is $2.95 million, about $1.05 million short of that.
  4. The aggregators disagree with the reporting.Tracxn lists total funding of $150,000 over four rounds and names only Y Combinator. CB Insights lists $2 million total and names Soma Capital, Baidu Ventures, JLabs, NIH and the Lyfebulb challenge. GenomeWeb reported about $2 million raised after demo day. With no Form D, none of these can be reconciled against a filing.
  5. The end is dated by a registry, not by a filing.Last NIH obligation, fiscal 2021. Actual study completion, Aug 1, 2022. Status changed to terminated on May 18, 2023, with the reason given as “Coral underwent an APA and is no longer in operation.” No 8-K, no press release, no Form D amendment. For a private company that never registered an offering, the trial registry was the only place a disclosure obligation existed.
  6. The prize money is small and the signal is not.The $25,000 Lyfebulb and Arena award in September 2021 is the last cash of any kind that appears in the public record. After it there are two partnership announcements and then nothing.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA 510(k) or PMA. Laboratory developed test route; CLIA certification reported in Oct 2020. Public record
Customers None named at any point. Not found
Pharma partner LEO Pharma pilot partnership, 2020. Company-stated
Cohort access Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation IBD Plexus, up to 1,000 patients, Jan 2022. No results reported. Company-stated
Clinical evidence NCT04995783 terminated, 200 enrolled, no publication found. Public record
Comparable Scipher Medicine’s PrismRA obtained a Palmetto GBA Medicare local coverage determination in Sep 2023. Independent

What to watch

  • Any SEC filing that names the Coral assets or a successor entity. None exists today.
  • Whether the patent application filed Dec 15, 2020 issues to a new assignee.
  • Whether the 200 patient REEF dataset is ever published by anyone.
  • Payer behaviour in autoimmune treatment selection, where PrismRA is the only test in the category with a Medicare determination.

The Coral Genomics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR Form D search, no results for Coral GenomicsSEC · Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordNIH RePORTER R43HG010445 and R44HG010445NHGRI · FY2019 to FY2021
  3. Public recordNIH RePORTER R44ES032515NIEHS · FY2021
  4. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT04995783 (REEF)Last update posted May 19, 2023
  5. IndependentCoral Genomics Bets on Diverse Data to Advance Precision Medicine for Autoimmune DiseaseGenomeWeb · May 6, 2021
  6. IndependentStartup Coral Genomics Wins $2M SBIR Grant From NIHGenomeWeb · Oct 6, 2020
  7. IndependentCoral Genomics company profile, funding and investorsCB Insights and Tracxn · Sep 23, 2026
  8. IndependentLyfebulb and Arena Pharmaceuticals announce the 2021 IBD Innovation Challenge winnerPR Newswire · Sep 10, 2021
  9. IndependentMedicare to cover PrismRA diagnostic test for rheumatoid arthritisHealio · Sep 12, 2023
  10. InterviewFounder Spotlight #24: Atray Dixit @ Coral GenomicsBIOS Community · Sep 20, 2021
  11. FounderAtray Dixit post on the Gordian Biotechnology acquihireLinkedIn
  12. CompanyCoral and the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation announce an IBD partnershipBowel Interest Group · Jan 14, 2022

Compiled from SEC, NIH and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; the absence of one does not by itself establish that no securities were sold. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Coral Genomics. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.