Funding profile · Digital health, patient communities

Crohnology

No SEC Form D was found for Crohnology or its operating company, Healthy Labs. What exists on the record is two small accelerator checks, an undated grant, and a founder’s own recollection of the total, which is far larger than what any commercial database shows.

$20KTotal funding tracked by PitchBook, on record
~$350KFounder-recalled total, about $150K around YC plus about $200K after launch
2Accelerator programs: Rock Health (2011), Y Combinator S12 (2012)
0SEC Form D filings found under Healthy Labs or Crohnology

Data as of September 25, 2026. Company and founder-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
May 2011 Accelerator $20,000 Rock Health PitchBook
2011 to 2012 Accelerator, second tranche $20,000 raised to date, cumulative Not named in the record PitchBook
Aug 20, 2012 Accelerator, Y Combinator Summer 2012 batch Not disclosed in PitchBook; about $150,000 per the founder Y Combinator and associated funders PitchBook vs founder interview
After the 2012 launch Additional funding raised About $200,000, founder estimate Not named Founder interview
Sep 1, 2015 Grant Not disclosed Not named in the record PitchBook
Oct 14, 2015 PitchBook status change to “Out of Business” Not applicable Not applicable Differs from Wayback record

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR’s company search returns no filer named Healthy Labs, Healthy Labs Inc, or Crohnology. A Form D under “Healthy Labs” that turned up in an early web search belonged to an unrelated company, Sayari Labs Inc, matched only on the shared word “Labs.” No Form D naming Crohnology, Healthy Labs, or Sean Ahrens as a related person was located. What follows instead is the funding history a commercial data aggregator has on file, next to the founder’s own account of it.

PitchBook funding history · accessed Sep 25, 2026

Round 1
Accelerator/Incubator, May 1, 2011, $20,000, raised to date $20,000
Round 2
Accelerator/Incubator, date not given, raised to date $20,000 (cumulative, no new amount listed)
Round 3
Accelerator/Incubator, Aug 20, 2012, marked Completed, no amount disclosed
Round 4
Grant, Sep 1, 2015, marked Completed, no amount or grantor disclosed
Round 5
Out of Business, Oct 14, 2015, marked Completed
Filing
PitchBook company profile, ID 61698-61; not an SEC filing

Reading the record

  1. PitchBook’s total understates what the founder describes.PitchBook’s tracked total is $20,000. Sean Ahrens has said about $150,000 came in around the Y Combinator batch and roughly another $200,000 came in after launch, near $350,000 total. The gap is consistent with a very early, very small company: friends and family checks, YC’s standard batch investment, and small accelerator grants often go unrecorded in commercial databases and are not required to be filed with the SEC unless they meet Regulation D’s terms.
  2. No Form D means no Regulation D offering was ever registered, or a small offering under a different exemption.Companies raising a small amount from a handful of known investors, such as an accelerator and its associated funders, can rely on Section 4(a)(2) of the Securities Act rather than Regulation D, which carries no Form D filing requirement at all. The absence of a filing does not mean no money moved; it means either no Regulation D offering was made, or one was made and never filed, which does happen with very small, very early rounds.
  3. The “out of business” date does not match the site’s own uptime.PitchBook dates Crohnology’s closure to October 14, 2015. The Internet Archive’s Wayback Machine shows crohnology.com returning normal, working pages as late as September 17, 2021, six years after that date, and a Reddit user was still asking what had happened to the live site as recently as October 2020. PitchBook’s flag likely reflects the company’s fundraising status rather than when the product actually stopped running.
  4. Two accelerators, not one.The record shows Rock Health, a San Francisco digital health incubator, backing Crohnology in 2011, a year before Y Combinator’s Summer 2012 batch. Independent reporting from MIT Technology Review in 2013 separately confirms Rock Health’s chief strategy officer discussing Crohnology as a portfolio company.
  5. No institutional venture round was ever announced.No press release, news article, or filing describing a seed or Series A round with named venture investors was found for Crohnology at any point in its operating history.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Revenue Founder said August 2013 was Crohnology’s first profitable month, thanks to one undisclosed paying customer who wanted to reach patients on the platform. No revenue figures were ever disclosed. Independent, 2013
Research partnerships Named coauthor on a peer reviewed 2016 paper describing a Patient Powered Research Network built with the University of North Carolina and the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America. A Genentech clinical trial team separately said it consulted Crohnology’s patient surveys in 2014. Public record
Growth 4,210 patients in 66 countries by September 2013, grown with no marketing spend, per independent reporting. Founder later recalled roughly 30,000 patients over the platform’s life. Independent
Status Listed as Inactive in Y Combinator’s own company directory and by third party YC trackers. crohnology.com currently returns a server error. Public record

What to watch

  • Whether any SEC filing under a name variant of Healthy Labs or Crohnology surfaces; none has been found to date.
  • Whether PitchBook or other commercial databases correct the 2015 “Out of Business” date against the site’s documented 2021 shutdown.
  • Whether the founder or any successor project discloses more detail on the total capital raised or where it came from.

The Crohnology story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. IndependentCrohnology company profilePitchBook · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  2. InterviewOn the Health Record: Conversation with Sean AhrensDrChrono blog · Feb 16, 2022
  3. IndependentPatients Take Control of Their Health Care OnlineMIT Technology Review, Ted Greenwald · Sep 11, 2013
  4. Public recordEDGAR company search for “healthy” and “crohn”SEC EDGAR · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  5. Public recordForm D, Sayari Labs Inc (unrelated company, name collision only)SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001744012 · filed Jun 20, 2018
  6. Public recordcrohnology.com Wayback Machine capture historyInternet Archive · captures 2019 to 2026
  7. IndependentWhat Happened to Crohnology.com?Reddit, r/CrohnsDisease · archived Oct 20, 2020
  8. Public recordHarnessing person-generated health data to accelerate patient-centered outcomes research (CCFA Partners)Journal of the American Medical Informatics Association · Jan 28, 2016
  9. IndependentHow Genentech taps into online patient communities to improve clinical trialsMobiHealthNews, Jonah Comstock · archived Sep 26, 2014
  10. CompanyCrohnology (by Healthy Labs) company profileY Combinator · accessed Sep 25, 2026

Compiled from SEC EDGAR, the Internet Archive, PitchBook and published reports as of September 25, 2026. No SEC Form D was located for Healthy Labs or Crohnology. PitchBook and other commercial data figures reflect that provider’s own tracking and may be incomplete. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Crohnology. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.