Funding profile · Gastrointestinal AI

Docbot

$8.5 million raised across a seed round and a $4 million Khosla-led Series A, no Form D on file with the SEC, and an asset sale eighteen months after the Series A closed.

$8.5MTotal raised since inception, company-reported May 2021
$4.0MSeries A led by Khosla Ventures, announced May 24, 2021
$2.045MSeed raised on exit from Y Combinator, reported May 2019
$225KNSF SBIR Phase I award 1843975, the only federal grant on record

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Winter 2019 Y Combinator batch Not disclosed Y Combinator YC directory
Feb to Sep 2019 NSF SBIR Phase I $225,000 National Science Foundation NSF award
May 2019 Seed, after YC exit in March $2,045,000 Khosla, Lightbridge Ventures, BOLD Capital Partners, Collaborative Fund, Fenox Venture Capital, three angels University report
By Aug 2020 Investor disclosed, amount not stated Not disclosed Scale Asia Ventures Investor post
May 24, 2021 Series A $4,000,000 Khosla Ventures (lead), Bold Capital Partners, Collaborative Fund, Boutique Venture Partners Company release
Nov 21, 2022 Asset sale Terms not disclosed Satisfai Health, Inc., Vancouver Acquirer release

What the filings show

SEC EDGAR · no Form D on file

Company search
No registrant named Docbot in EDGAR company search
Full text search
Four documents mention Docbot, none of them a Docbot offering
Form D notices
None
Reg D vehicles
No SPV or fund named for Docbot found
Implication
$8.5 million was raised with no Regulation D notice on record
Checked
SEC EDGAR, Sep 23, 2026

National Science Foundation · SBIR Phase I award 1843975

Obligated
$225,000
Period
Feb 1, 2019 to Sep 30, 2019
Awardee
DOCBOT, INC.
Principal investigator
Andrew Ninh
Subject
Real time AI dysplasia detection for Barrett’s esophagus and early esophageal cancer
NIH
No award to Docbot, Inc. found

Reading the filings

  1. The paper trail is thin by design.Docbot filed no Form D at any point, which is normal for companies that raise under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D. It means the only numbers available are the ones the company and its investors chose to publish, and none of them were filed under penalty of a federal form.
  2. Two and a half million dollars is unaccounted for.The $2.045 million seed plus the $4 million Series A comes to $6.045 million. The company put its total at $8.5 million. That leaves roughly $2.46 million raised between May 2019 and May 2021 that was never announced as a round, on top of the $225,000 NSF grant.
  3. Khosla was in from the start and still led the last round.Khosla appears in the 2019 seed list and led the 2021 Series A. A returning lead that puts in $4 million at the point a pivotal trial is running is a bridge to a regulatory event, not a growth round.
  4. The Series A was small relative to the plan.$4 million had to fund a 978 patient randomized trial across nine listed sites, a De Novo submission, and a commercial team. For comparison, the company said it would use the money to expand the team and grow clinical evidence at the same time.
  5. Eighteen months from Series A to asset sale.The round was announced May 24, 2021. The acquisition was announced November 21, 2022. The trial registration stopped updating in March 2021, before the round was even announced.
  6. It was an asset purchase, not a company purchase.The acquirer describes buying a portfolio of intellectual property and assets and transferring key technical employees. Price was not disclosed, and the buyer, Satisfai Health, was a private Vancouver company, so no public consideration figure exists on either side.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA clearance under Docbot, Inc. UltivisionAI was labeled an investigational device in every company release. Public record
Clinical AIDA, NCT04196088, randomized, 978 estimated enrollment. Last update posted Mar 19, 2021. No results posted. Public record
Pharma partner Eli Lilly collaboration on automated ulcerative colitis scoring, published in Gastroenterology, February 2021. Public record
Research funding out A 2023 Clinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology paper lists grant support from Docbot among an author’s disclosures. Public record
Revenue Planned subscription pricing per endoscopy room per month. No revenue figure or named customer found. Not found
Acquirer today Satisfai Health now trades as Dova Health Intelligence. Its products are listed as available for research and clinical trials, with a medical device in development. No FDA clearance under Satisfai or Dova. Public record

What to watch

  • Any FDA submission by Dova Health Intelligence built on the acquired Docbot stack. There is none on record as of September 2026.
  • Publication of the AIDA data, which would be the only randomized evidence Docbot ever produced on polyp detection.
  • Whether Khosla Ventures or BOLD Capital Partners ever mark or disclose the outcome of the position.
  • The unexplained gap between the $6.045 million in announced rounds and the $8.5 million total.

The Docbot story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordSEC EDGAR company and full text search for Docbot, no Form DSEC · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  2. Public recordNSF SBIR Phase I award 1843975National Science Foundation · 2019
  3. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT04196088, AIDALast update posted Mar 19, 2021
  4. Public recordFDA device databases, no clearance under Docbot, Satisfai or DovaopenFDA · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  5. Public recordCentral Reading of Ulcerative Colitis Clinical Trial Videos Using Neural NetworksGastroenterology · Feb 2021
  6. IndependentDocbot Exits Y Combinator, Receives $2.045M in FundingUCI Beall Applied Innovation · May 2, 2019
  7. IndependentDocbot lands a healthy $4M in series A financingBioWorld, Annette Boyle · May 24, 2021
  8. IndependentGastrointestinal AI developer Docbot nets new CEO, series A fundingFierce Biotech, Conor Hale · May 24, 2021
  9. InvestorWhy we invested in DocbotScale Asia Ventures, Kevin Zheng · Aug 7, 2020
  10. IndependentLack of Effectiveness of Computer Aided Detection for Colorectal NeoplasiaClinical Gastroenterology and Hepatology · Dec 3, 2023
  11. CompanyDocbot Closes Series A Financing Led by Khosla Ventures and Appoints Andrew J. Ritter as CEOBusiness Wire · May 24, 2021
  12. CompanyDocbot CEO interview on business model and pricingMedCity News · May 24, 2021
  13. AcquirerSatisfai Health Purchases Assets of Docbot, Inc.TheNewswire · Nov 21, 2022
  14. AcquirerDova Health Intelligence, previously Satisfai Health, product pagesAccessed Sep 23, 2026
  15. CompanyDocbot company page, Winter 2019 batch, status AcquiredY Combinator · accessed Sep 23, 2026

Compiled from SEC, NSF, FDA and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Docbot, Inc. filed no Form D; the round figures on this page come from company releases and university reports and were not filed with the SEC. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Docbot. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.