Funding profile · Immuno-oncology
Eris Biotech
A preclinical oncology company with three named investors, one disclosed dollar figure, and nothing at all on file with the SEC. The capital picture here is built almost entirely from accelerator records.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | Incorporation | Not disclosed | Founders | PitchBook |
| Before Feb 2024 | Utah state innovation grant | Not disclosed | State of Utah program | Founder interview |
| Feb 8, 2024 | Accelerator, Y Combinator Winter 2024 | $500,000 | Y Combinator | PitchBook |
| Undated | Early stage venture | Not disclosed | Orange Collective listed as a minority holder | PitchBook |
| Aug 22, 2025 | Accelerator, logged as a deal | Not disclosed | Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center | Disputed, see below |
| By May 2026 | Angel check | Not disclosed | Described only as a baseball team owner | BioSpace |
What the filings show
Eris Biotech · Form D · none filed
- Registrant
- No EDGAR company matching “eris bio”
- Form D filings
- 0
- Full text mentions
- 0 hits for the exact phrase across all EDGAR filings
- Investment vehicles
- No SPV or fund series named for the company
- Checked
- SEC EDGAR company search and full text search, September 24, 2026
- Reading
- Either every dollar so far came in under Section 4(a)(2) and outside Regulation D, which is normal for accelerator paper and small angel checks, or the amounts are small enough that no priced round has closed
Reading the filings
- One number carries the whole total.PitchBook puts raised to date at $500,000, which is the amount and date of the standard Y Combinator accelerator deal logged on February 8, 2024. Subtract that and the disclosed capital on public record is zero. The Early Stage VC deal PitchBook lists has no date and no amount attached.
- The SEC has nothing.A company search returns no registrant, and a full text search for the exact phrase returns zero documents across all form types. A Form D is due within 15 days of first sale in a Regulation D offering, so the absence is consistent with a company whose only financings have been accelerator instruments and individual angel checks rather than a priced round.
- Counting Memorial Sloan Kettering as an investor is a stretch.PitchBook lists MSK as one of three investors with an Accelerator or Incubator deal dated August 22, 2025. MSK’s own program page says the opposite about cash: “We do not provide financial resources through this program; specific research budgets will be mutually agreed upon during the contracting process.” What MSK does take is “a pre-negotiated commercial stake in partner companies or co-developed products (equity or royalties).” So the equity is plausible and the cash is not. Treat that line as a partnership with an equity hook, not a financing.
- No non-dilutive federal base.There is no NIH award and no NSF award on record, which is unusual for a preclinical oncology company three years in. Weagel has said publicly that an NSF application was reviewed strongly and turned down over a milestone timeline she then met in about four months. Peers at this stage commonly carry $250,000 to $2,000,000 of SBIR or STTR money before a Series A.
- The money that is arriving is idiosyncratic.BioSpace reported in May 2026 that Weagel had taken a check for Eris from a baseball team owner who also offered travel support, and quoted her on the wider squeeze: “There are fewer small checks being handed out.” That describes a company funding itself out of individuals and programs rather than institutional rounds.
- Headcount estimates do not agree.PitchBook says 7 employees, one startup database says 3, another gives a range of 1 to 10. Location is equally unsettled across sources: Lehi, American Fork, a Provo address on the BYU Life Sciences Building, and a Salt Lake City bench at Altitude Lab. The most recent independent sighting, BioSpace in May 2026, places the CEO at Altitude Lab.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA submission of any kind. Preclinical, no IND disclosed. | Public record |
| Clinical | No study registered on ClinicalTrials.gov. | Public record |
| Intellectual property | One pending application, WO-2026161657-A1, inhibiting exosome biogenesis for the treatment of cancer, first filed Jan 23, 2025. No grant. | Public record |
| Institutional validation | Y Combinator W24. One of ten companies in the 2025 MSK Therapeutics Accelerator cohort, presenting at Demo Day on Dec 2, 2025. Resident at Altitude Lab. | Public record |
| Product evidence | Mouse efficacy described in a December 2025 interview. No data package, no publication. | Company-stated |
| Revenue | None found. One aggregator page carries a revenue figure with no sourcing and it is supported by no record found here. | Not found |
| Pipeline continuity | The 2024 description, hypoxia-activated prodrugs, does not match the 2025 and 2026 description, exosome biogenesis inhibition. Capital raised against the first thesis is funding the second. | Differs from earlier claim |
What to watch
- A first Form D. It would be the first hard confirmation of a priced round and would name the officers and directors.
- Whether the MSK relationship is ever restated by either party as equity, a service contract, or a co-development deal with defined economics.
- Any SBIR or STTR award. Federal money would be the cheapest capital available at this stage and its continued absence is a live signal.
- National phase entry on the exosome application, the company’s only defensible asset on record.
- Whether the mouse data is published. A financing at a meaningful valuation will need it.
The Eris Biotech story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR company search and full text search for Eris Biotech, no registrant and zero document hits
- Public recordRecords pull: zero FDA 510(k) and PMA, zero registered trials, zero NIH awards, zero PubMed hits under a company affiliation
- Public recordMSK Therapeutics Accelerator program page, terms of participation
- Public recordDemo Day 2025 Showcases MSK Therapeutics Accelerator and iHub Challenge
- IndependentEris Biotech company profile: funding, investors, patents and headcount
- IndependentFounders face pressure from all sides as biotech crawls toward recovery
- InterviewSheTech Interns Interview Evita Weagel
- IndependentAltitude Lab portfolio, resident company listing
- IndependentEris Biotech accepted to Y Combinator
- IndependentEris Biotech portfolio page
- CompanyEris Biotech website and Y Combinator company page
Compiled from SEC, FDA, NIH, NSF and other public records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. No Form D has been filed by or for this company. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Eris Biotech. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
