Funding profile · Antibacterial therapeutics
Evolvere BioSciences
A UK biotech that has raised, by outside estimate, about half a million dollars since 2021. There is no SEC Form D to check the number against, since Evolvere is a UK-only company, and Companies House shows only nominal share values, not cash raised. Here is what each type of record actually says, and does not say.
Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported and aggregator-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Summer 2021 | Prize, Oxford University Biotech Society Biohackathon | 3 months’ lab space plus £1,000 consumables | Oxford University Biotech Society; BioEscalator | University incubator |
| 2021 to 2024 | Angels, prizes, friends and family | Not disclosed | Not itemized; a co-founder described the mix as angel investors, prizes, and friends and family | Founder interview |
| May 27, 2022 | Share allotment | Nominal statement of capital GBP 1.023912; cash value not disclosed | Not disclosed | Companies House |
| 2024 | Y Combinator, Summer 2024 batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | Company-stated |
| Jul 24, 2024 (filed Jun 2025) | Share allotment | Nominal statement of capital GBP 1.0722; cash value not disclosed | Not disclosed | Companies House |
| Sep 2024 | Pre-seed, per aggregator data | $500,000 total raised, cumulative | Y Combinator | Aggregator |
| 2025 | Share capital reduction (resolutions filed twice) | Nominal statement of capital reduced to GBP 0.148283 | Not disclosed | Companies House |
What the filings show
Ēvolvere Biosciences Ltd · Incorporation · filed May 14, 2021
- Statement of capital
- GBP 1
- Type
- Private limited company
- SIC code
- 72110, research and experimental development on biotechnology
- Filing
- Companies House, company 13396961
Ēvolvere Biosciences Ltd · SH01 · filed Jun 17, 2022
- Allotment date
- May 27, 2022
- Statement of capital
- GBP 1.023912 nominal, cash raised not stated
- Same week
- Oliver James Waterhouse appointed director, May 27, 2022; shares sub-divided and share rights varied, filed Jun 15 to 16, 2022
- Filing
- Companies House, company 13396961
Ēvolvere Biosciences Ltd · SH01 · filed Jun 6, 2025
- Allotment date
- Jul 24, 2024
- Statement of capital
- GBP 1.0722 nominal, cash raised not stated
- Filing gap
- Filed about 11 months after the allotment date
- Filing
- Companies House, company 13396961
Ēvolvere Biosciences Ltd · Share capital reduction · filed May 28 and Jun 10, 2025 (SH19 refiled Jul 23, 2025)
- Resolution
- RES06, reduction in issued share capital, filed twice
- Solvency statement
- Dated Jul 24, 2024, filed Jun 6, 2025 and refiled Jul 23, 2025
- Resulting statement of capital
- GBP 0.148283 nominal
- Filing
- Companies House, company 13396961
Reading the filings
- UK statements of capital are not funding totals.Companies House records the nominal, or par, value of shares issued, which for Evolvere sits at a few pounds across its whole history. That figure says nothing about the price investors actually paid per share or any share premium, so it cannot be used to check the $500,000 aggregator figure against.
- The one dated allotment lands close to the reported raise, but was filed very late.The SH01 recording an allotment on July 24, 2024 was not filed until June 6, 2025, about 11 months after the fact, against a UK filing deadline of one month. That gap suggests administrative catch-up rather than a hidden second raise, but it also means the record cannot be used to date the round precisely.
- No US Form D exists to cross-check against.Evolvere has no US entity on record, so it does not file under SEC Regulation D. The $500,000 figure comes entirely from VCBacked and Tracxn, two startup databases, not from a Companies House filing or a company statement.
- The board grew by one in 2022, and has not changed since.Oliver Waterhouse joined as a director on May 27, 2022, the same week as a share allotment, sub-division and rights variation. The other three directors, Piotr Jedryszek, Adam Winnifrith and Weronika Ślesak, have held their seats since incorporation in May 2021 and remain listed as active in the confirmation statement filed May 13, 2026.
- 2025 brought a share capital cleanup, not a disclosed raise.The company filed resolutions to reduce its issued share capital twice in 2025, along with a solvency statement dated back to July 2024, ending with a nominal statement of capital of GBP 0.148283. Nothing in the public record explains why, or whether it accompanies a new financing.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Accelerator | Y Combinator, Summer 2024 (S24) batch, one of a small number of European companies in that cohort. | Company-stated |
| Board | Oliver Waterhouse, director since May 2022, previously founded Base Genomics, sold to Exact Sciences in 2020 for $410 million. | Independent |
| Non-dilutive support | Only documented award is the 2021 OUBT Biohackathon prize: 3 months’ free lab space and a £1,000 consumables budget at the BioEscalator. | University incubator |
| Grants | No CARB-X, Innovate UK, NIH or NSF award tied to Evolvere Biosciences found as of September 25, 2026. | Not found |
| Pipeline disclosure | No clinical trial, FDA record, or company-specific peer-reviewed paper found; the company describes itself as preclinical. | Not found |
What to watch
- A press release or Companies House filing that names investors and discloses the amount raised in the round dated to 2024 by aggregators.
- Whether the 2025 share capital reduction is followed by a new SH01 disclosing a fresh allotment.
- A CARB-X or Innovate UK award, both plausible funders for this kind of antibacterial work that have not appeared in the record so far.
- Any SEC filing, should the company set up a US entity to raise from US investors.
The Evolvere BioSciences story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordCompany overview, ĒVOLVERE BIOSCIENCES LTD, company 13396961
- Public recordOfficers, ĒVOLVERE BIOSCIENCES LTD
- Public recordFiling history, ĒVOLVERE BIOSCIENCES LTD (pages 1 to 3)
- Public recordPersons with significant control, ĒVOLVERE BIOSCIENCES LTD
- AggregatorEvolvere BioSciences Funding & Investors
- AggregatorEvolvere BioSciences company profile and funding rounds
- University incubatorIntroducing Evolvere Biosciences
- InterviewPiotr Jedryszek, co-founder of Evolvere Biosciences
- IndependentOxford start-up Base Genomics acquired by Exact Sciences
- CompanyEvolvere BioSciences company profile
Compiled from UK Companies House records, aggregator databases and published reports as of September 25, 2026. UK statements of capital report the nominal value of shares issued, not the price paid or premium received, and do not by themselves confirm a funding total. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Evolvere BioSciences. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
