Funding profile · Oncology and anti-infectives

Viosera Therapeutics

One Form D, filed after the fact, for $12,776,288 from 44 investors. It is the only securities filing this company has ever made, and it covers neither the first $5.5 million nor anything after January 2024.

$12.78MOffered and sold, Form D filed Jan 31, 2024
44Investors in that offering, none non-accredited
$290KAverage per investor, amount sold divided by holders
$5.5MReported total raised as of March 2021, no Form D on file

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled. Viosera Therapeutics, Inc. and resistanceBio, Inc. are treated here as one story because they share founders, assets and continuity of reporting.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2016 to 2018 Viosera Therapeutics formation, St. Louis Not disclosed Sahsen Ventures lists Viosera in its portfolio Investor site
Winter 2019 Y Combinator, batch W19 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
2021 resistanceBio seed Not itemized Fifty Years, writing about its own investment Investor post
By Mar 2021 Cumulative across both companies $5.5M Not named Independent
Jan 29, 2024 Unnamed offering, equity and debt $12,776,288 sold of $12,776,288 offered 44 investors; NFX named among backers by a third party database Form D
Label of that round Reported variously as a Series A, as venture with series unknown, and as a $12.0M seed dated July 2022 Same dollars, three descriptions Commercial databases Sources differ

What the filings show

resistanceBio, Inc. · Form D · filed Jan 31, 2024

First sale
Jan 29, 2024
Offered
$12,776,288, equity and debt
Sold
$12,776,288 · $0 remaining
Investors
44 · average about $290,370
Minimum
$1 · no non-accredited investors
Fees
$0 sales commissions · $0 finders fees
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Nicholas Goldner (executive officer, director); Christopher Bulow (executive officer, director); Kyle Lapham (executive officer, director); Omri Amirav-Drory (director)
Signed by
Kyle Lapham, chief executive officer
Issuer
Delaware corporation, year of incorporation 2021, 980 O’Brien Dr, Menlo Park, CA
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0002010024

Reading the filings

  1. The round was closed before it was filed.Offered $12,776,288, sold $12,776,288, remaining $0, first sale January 29 and the notice filed January 31. A Form D that reports nothing remaining two days after the first sale is a report of a completed raise, not an open one. The odd, unrounded figure points the same way: it is the sum of what came in, not a target someone chose.
  2. The average check is $290,370.Divide $12,776,288 by 44. That average sits between two worlds. It is far too large for a friends and family list and far too small for a round of institutional leads alone, which means a mix of funds, angels and probably at least one syndicate vehicle. No pooled investment fund filed its own Form D naming this company, so any syndicate came in on the issuer’s own cap table.
  3. Equity and debt were ticked together.That combination usually means notes or SAFEs converting alongside new money. Since $5.5 million had already been raised by March 2021 with no Form D covering it, the most likely reading is that the 2024 filing swept up older paper and new money in one instrument.
  4. A new name signs the document.Kyle Lapham signed as chief executive officer. Nick Goldner, described as CEO and co-founder in 2021 reporting, appears on the same filing as an executive officer and director but not as the signer. A filing aggregator repeating the company’s own text in 2024 named Lapham as the contact and chief executive. The leadership change is visible only in the filing and in that boilerplate; it was never announced.
  5. The board picked up an investor seat.Omri Amirav-Drory, a general partner at NFX, is listed as a director. A commercial database names NFX among the investors. That is the only investor relationship the filing corroborates directly.
  6. This is the only Form D in the file.EDGAR has no company at all under the name Viosera, and resistanceBio has exactly one filing. Money raised from 2016 through 2021, including a Y Combinator investment and a seed round an investor wrote about publicly, left no Regulation D trail. Companies that raise under Section 4(a)(2) file nothing, so the silence is not evidence that no money moved.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA approval, no clearance, no registered clinical trial for any asset. VIO-001 is recorded in a commercial drug database as preclinical. Public record
Evidence One peer reviewed paper, a rabbit model of MRSA catheter infection, published Aug 2021. Nothing published on the oncology platform. Public record
Non-dilutive funding No NIH or NSF award found under either name. Not found
Revenue model Stated as partnering with pharmaceutical companies rather than developing alone. No partner has ever been named. Company-stated
Operating status A biotech directory records the company as defunct with the website down between July 2025 and January 2026. Y Combinator lists the founders as former. One commercial database still showed it as alive. Sources differ

What to watch

  • Any amended Form D, or a new one. There has been none since January 2024.
  • An assignment or sale of the VIO-001 formulation. The stated 2021 plan was to hand the anti-infectives business to a new team.
  • Whether the 44 holders from the 2024 offering surface in any successor entity.
  • A Delaware or California filing showing dissolution, which would settle the status question the databases disagree on.

The Viosera Therapeutics story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, resistanceBio, Inc., CIK 0002010024SEC EDGAR · Jan 31, 2024
  2. Public recordEDGAR company search for Viosera, no matching companiesSEC · Sep 23, 2026
  3. Public recordNIH RePORTER project search, zero awards under either nameNIH · Sep 23, 2026
  4. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov study search, zero studies under either nameClinicalTrials.gov · Sep 23, 2026
  5. Public recordVIO-001 drug record, highest phase preclinicalPatsnap Synapse · updated May 8, 2025
  6. IndependentCould a single pill treat a tumor today and head off its drug resistance mechanisms tomorrow?Fierce Biotech · Mar 29, 2021
  7. IndependentresistanceBio company profile, total raised and investor listCB Insights · Dec 22, 2022
  8. IndependentresistanceBio has filed a notice of an exempt offering of securities to raise $12,776,288.00Intelligence360, Craig Etkin · 2024
  9. IndependentresistanceBio funding round record, $12.8 millionFundz · Jan 31, 2024
  10. IndependentresistanceBio directory listing, recorded as defunctBioPharmGuy · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  11. InvestorresistanceBio, seed round announcement postFifty Years · Apr 2021
  12. InvestorViosera Therapeutics, Inc. portfolio entrySahsen Ventures · accessed Sep 23, 2026

Compiled from SEC, NIH, ClinicalTrials.gov and other public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Viosera Therapeutics or resistanceBio. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.