Funding profile · Antimicrobials
Felix Biotechnology
A phage therapy company with no Form D on file, $2.05 million in traceable non dilutive funding, and a licensing deal a public partner said was conditional on a Series A that never appears in any record.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winter 2020 | Y Combinator batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC directory |
| By Jan 2021 | Seed, size never published | Not disclosed | Y Combinator, Illumina Accelerator, Point72 Ventures | Company release |
| Jun 2021 | NSF SBIR Phase I, award 2126731 | $256,000 | National Science Foundation | Public record |
| Apr 2022 to Jan 2024 | NIH SBIR and STTR Phase I | $798,835 | NIAID (R41AI165185), NIGMS (R43GM146502) | Public record |
| Mar 2022 | Therapeutics Development Award | $1,000,000 | Cystic Fibrosis Foundation | Independent |
| Never announced | Series A | None found | None | Not found |
What the filings show
Felix Biotechnology, Inc. · no Form D on record
- Company search
- An SEC company name search returns no registrant called Felix Biotechnology
- Full text search
- 15 EDGAR documents mention the name, all filed by other issuers
- Form D hits
- Zero
- Checked
- SEC EDGAR, Sep 23, 2026
TFF Pharmaceuticals, Inc. · Form 8-K exhibit · filed Mar 24, 2022
- Subject
- Letter of intent with Felix, signed Nov 5, 2020
- Terms
- Worldwide license to a dry powder formulation technology, for an upfront payment, milestones worth up to $281 million, and royalties
- Condition
- A definitive agreement was subject to conditions including Felix completing a Series A financing
- Status in filing
- Still described as a letter of intent, 16 months after signing
- Filing
- SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001733413
Reading the filings
- The absence of a Form D is the main filing fact.A company raising under Regulation D must notice the offering within 15 days of the first sale. Felix noticed none across seven years, so the seed capital named in its releases came in under another exemption, or through accelerator instruments the accelerator itself filed, or it was never large.
- Everything countable is non dilutive.$1,054,835 in federal grants plus the $1 million Cystic Fibrosis Foundation award is $2.05 million with a paper trail. No venture round size has ever been published, so the equity side cannot be sized from public sources.
- A public partner disclosed the financing condition.TFF Pharmaceuticals told its shareholders that the definitive license depended on Felix completing a Series A. TFF slides filed through March 2022 still call it a letter of intent, the clearest public signal that the round did not close.
- Grant money stopped at Phase I.Three Phase I awards, two agencies, zero Phase II follow ons, the last ending January 31, 2024. Phase II is the usual filter in these programs, and Felix did not clear it at either agency.
- The clinical program shrank to a fifth of its announced size.Announced at 36 patients, the registry reports 8, about 22 percent of plan, enrollment ended November 2022. A trial that small cannot support a financing, and a financing that does not close cannot support a larger trial.
- The wind down is recorded in a journal, not a filing.A January 2026 PNAS paper co-authored by two former employees and two former co-founders discloses Felix as a company that is no longer operating. Nothing in EDGAR marks the end, because nothing marked the beginning.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA approval, clearance or licensure. No phage therapy is approved in the United States. | Public record |
| Clinical | NCT04684641, Yale sponsored, 8 patients enrolled, results posted Mar 2023, study completed Jun 2023. | Public record |
| Partnerships | TFF Pharmaceuticals letter of intent, never made definitive. AnimalBiome pet health collaboration, Jan 2022, no product announced. | Partner-stated |
| Peer position | Armata Pharmaceuticals named Felix in its fiscal 2023 Form 10-K as one of a handful of companies developing phage products for human disease. | Public record |
| Status | Y Combinator lists the company as inactive, team size 6. | YC directory |
What to watch
- Any assignment or license record showing the Yale intellectual property moving to a new holder.
- Whether the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation reports an outcome on its $1 million award.
- Whether TFF Pharmaceuticals discloses a termination of the letter of intent.
- New EDGAR registrants tied to the founders, which would be the first sign of a successor vehicle.
The Felix Biotechnology story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordSEC EDGAR company name search and full text search, Felix Biotechnology
- Public recordTFF Pharmaceuticals corporate presentation, Form 8-K exhibit 99.2
- Public recordArmata Pharmaceuticals Form 10-K for fiscal 2023, competition section
- Public recordNSF award 2126731 and NIH RePORTER R41AI165185 and R43GM146502
- Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT04684641, CYPHY, with posted results
- Public recordA fully synthetic Golden Gate assembly system for engineering a Pseudomonas aeruginosa phiKMV-like phage, competing interests statement
- IndependentCF Foundation Awards $1 Million to Felix Biotechnology to Develop Novel Phage Therapy
- CompanyFelix Biotechnology announces initiation of the CYPHY Phase 1/2 study at Yale
- PartnerTFF Pharmaceuticals and Felix Biotechnology Sign Letter of Intent
Compiled from SEC, NSF, NIH and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; the absence of a notice does not prove that no capital was raised. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Felix Biotechnology. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
