Funding profile · Cell-free biomanufacturing

Invitris

A German capital picture built almost entirely from non-dilutive and blended EU and Bavarian funding rather than priced venture rounds. The one US securities filing found is a small angel vehicle, not the company itself.

Up to €2.5MEIC Accelerator award, grants plus possible equity, selected Feb 2025
€250KINCATE Stage II non-dilutive funding, May 2023
$24.5KSold via a single SEC Form D angel vehicle, Jun 2023
€2.5M / 5Total pool of BioM’s 2021 m4 Award, split among 5 winning teams including Invitris

Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2021 m4 Award, BioM, Bavarian State pre-seed prize Share of €2.5M pool, 5 winning teams BioM, funded by the Free State of Bavaria Independent
Jan 2022 INCATE Stage I Up to €10,000 INCATE (DZIF, Leibniz HKI, Boehringer Ingelheim Venture Fund, Roche, Shionogi, MSD Germany) Independent
Not disclosed EXIST-Forschungstransfer, German federal founder grant Not disclosed German federal government Independent
Jun 2023 Angel investment vehicle $24,500 sold of $24,500 offered 11 investors, via Capitalize Investments LLC Form D
May 2023 INCATE Stage II, first venture selected €250,000 INCATE Independent
Feb 2025 EIC Accelerator, one of 71 selected companies Up to €2.5M in grants, most winners also get equity funding European Innovation Council Independent
Stated Jul 2026 SPRIND Orbital Bioworks Challenge selection Program offers up to €1.65M per team SPRIND, German Federal Agency for Disruptive Innovation Company-stated

What the filings show

Invitris I, a series of Capitalize Investments LLC · Form D · filed Jun 30, 2023

First sale
2023-06-27
Type
Pooled investment fund (single-company SPV), Venture Capital Fund
Minimum investment
$500
Offered
$24,500
Sold
$24,500 · $0 remaining
Investors
11 · average about $2,227
Exemption
Rule 506b
Related persons
Nicholas Tommarello, Promoter, officer of the managing entity (Capitalize)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001983039

Reading the filings

  1. This is a small angel wrapper, not the company’s own raise.The only Form D that mentions Invitris was filed by “Invitris I, a series of Capitalize Investments LLC,” a Delaware pooled vehicle run through the SPV platform Capitalize, not by Invitris GmbH itself. Eleven investors put in $24,500 total, about $2,227 each, a syndicate-sized check, not an institutional round.
  2. No Form D exists for Invitris GmbH.Invitris is a German GmbH and its actual funding, the m4 Award, INCATE grants, the EXIST stipend and the EIC Accelerator award, runs through EU and Bavarian public programs that do not require SEC disclosure. Regulation D filings only apply to securities offerings that touch the US, which explains why the Capitalize vehicle is the sole EDGAR record even though the company has raised non-dilutive funding since at least 2021.
  3. The non-dilutive total outweighs anything disclosed as equity.Between the INCATE Stage II grant (€250,000) and the EIC Accelerator’s potential €2.5 million, publicly documented grant funding likely exceeds the entire disclosed value of the Capitalize SPV by two orders of magnitude. No priced equity round, seed or otherwise, has been announced or filed.
  4. The EIC number is a ceiling, not a confirmed disbursement.BioM’s report says winners receive “up to” €2.5 million and that nearly 80% take blended finance, grant plus equity. Neither the exact grant amount awarded to Invitris nor whether it included an equity component has been disclosed.
  5. A management change coincides with the funding run.Handelsregister data (via aggregator databyte) shows Kilian Vogele exiting as a managing director in 2026, the same year the company began describing itself as building “the manufacturing layer for AI medicine” rather than a phage therapeutics company. No filing or release explains the change.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA records, no registered clinical trials found for Invitris or its Phactory platform. Not found
Partnerships PharmaKorell conducted exploratory GMP site audits for Invitris; Bundeswehr Hospital Berlin co-authored the founding phage study; collaboration named with the PhagoFlow project and Queen Astrid Military Hospital, Brussels, per a 2021 founder interview. Independent
Scientific advisor Dr. Michael Jewett of Stanford University is named on the company site as a scientific advisor. Company-stated
Accelerators Y Combinator Winter 2023 batch; INCATE Stage I (2022) and Stage II (2023); EIC Accelerator (2025). Independent
Headcount Six full-time staff as of June 2023, per Laborjournal. No later figure found. Independent, dated

What to watch

  • Whether Invitris GmbH itself files a Form D, or discloses a priced round under German law that a US filing would not capture.
  • Disclosure of the actual EIC Accelerator amount and whether it includes an equity tranche.
  • Any explanation for Kilian Vogele’s 2026 exit as managing director.
  • Confirmation, beyond the company’s own site, of the stated SPRIND Orbital Bioworks selection.

The Invitris story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Invitris I, a series of Capitalize Investments LLCSEC EDGAR · filed Jun 30, 2023
  2. Public recordInvitris GmbH, Handelsregister HRB 279960, Munich district courtdatabyte company register aggregator · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  3. IndependentINCATE catalyzes critical growth stage at m4 Award winner InvitrisBioM · May 10, 2023
  4. IndependentInvitris receives 250,000 EUR to complete spin-out from TUMInnovations- und Gründerzentrum Biotechnologie (IZB) · May 2023
  5. IndependentInvitris wins EIC Accelerator Funding, another success for the m4 Award winnerBioM · Feb 28, 2025
  6. IndependentSPRIND “Orbital Bioworks” Challenge program descriptionBioM · Jun 8, 2026
  7. IndependentBakterienfresser aus dem BioreaktorLaborjournal · Aug 19, 2021
  8. InterviewInvitris offeriert zellfreie Proteinproduktion, interview with Kilian VogeleLaborjournal, Sigrid März · Jun 22, 2023
  9. IndependentCollaboration with phage pioneer InvitrisPharmaKorell · 2023
  10. CompanyInvitris homepage, Building the manufacturing layer for AI medicineinvitris.com · accessed Sep 25, 2026

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Invitris. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.