Funding profile · Consumer health AI

Galen AI

A Y Combinator company that raised a small, mostly undisclosed amount of outside capital before Oura Health acquired it about eleven months later. No SEC Form D was ever filed under the company’s name, and neither side disclosed what Oura paid.

$500KY Combinator accelerator investment, Apr 2025
UndisclosedEarly stage VC round, Jun 2025, led by Niremia Collective
UndisclosedAcquisition price, Oura Health, Apr 2026
2Employees on record at time of acquisition

Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Apr 2025 Accelerator, Y Combinator Spring 2025 (X25) $500,000 Y Combinator Data aggregator
Jun 2025 Early stage VC Not disclosed Niremia Collective Data aggregator
Apr 17, 2026 Acquisition (M&A), completed Not disclosed Oura Health (acquirer) Company release

What the filings show

No Form D appears under “Galen AI,” “Galen,” or any close variant in an SEC EDGAR company search for Regulation D notices as of September 25, 2026. That means either the $500,000 accelerator round and the June 2025 early stage round were raised under an exemption that does not require a Form D, such as Section 4(a)(2), or the rounds fell under a reporting threshold, or a Form D was filed under an entity name not captured by this search. A small round from one accelerator and one named venture fund is the kind of financing that sometimes moves without a Regulation D notice.

Oura Health, the acquirer, is itself a private company. It has not filed with the SEC, so there is no filing on the buyer’s side to check the acquisition price against either.

Reading the record

  1. No Form D exists for this company.An EDGAR company search for “Galen” under Form D returns dozens of unrelated entities, mostly investment funds and one apartment complex, but nothing named Galen AI. The absence does not mean no money moved, since Regulation D exemptions have reporting gaps, but it does mean the standard public-record check available for most venture-backed companies is not available here.
  2. The accelerator round matches YC’s standard deal.PitchBook records a $500,000 accelerator investment dated April 1, 2025, which lines up with the company’s participation in Y Combinator’s Spring 2025 batch and with YC’s publicly known standard terms for that period.
  3. One named investor for the next round.PitchBook records an early stage VC round dated June 1, 2025 with Niremia Collective as the investor of record. Niremia is a real, active fund; TechCrunch reported in February 2024 that it had closed a $22.5 million inaugural fund focused on well-being technology, a thesis that fits a consumer health app like Galen. Neither the amount raised nor a lead versus participating role is disclosed.
  4. Announced versus filed does not apply here, because nothing was filed.Unlike companies with a Form D on record, there is no filed number to compare against an announced number. Both the accelerator round and the early stage round are known only through a single data aggregator, PitchBook, which itself shows no dollar figure for the June 2025 round.
  5. The acquisition price is withheld on both sides.Oura’s own release does not mention a number. HLTH’s coverage states plainly that “financial terms were not disclosed.” No other outlet found one either.
  6. Headcount is a rough proxy for deal size.PitchBook lists 2 employees at the time of its data capture, consistent with a two-founder team rather than a large organization, though it does not by itself say anything about what Oura paid for the technology and the team.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA clearance or PMA found. Consistent with a consumer wellness app, not a regulated device. Not found
Data integration scope 800-plus healthcare institutions, 12,000-plus locations across the US, UK, and Canada, and 20-plus wearables, per the company; repeated by press without independent verification. Company-stated
User traction Described as a consumer app in beta testing through most of its independent life, reachable by waitlist and private beta. No user counts disclosed. Not found
Acquisition Completed Apr 17, 2026. Oura acquired the technology and brought the team on board. Public record
Acquirer’s pattern Oura’s third health-tech acquisition in roughly two years, after Veri and Sparta Science in 2024 and Doublepoint in March 2026, alongside a $908M Series E in October 2025 at an $11B valuation. Independent

What to watch

  • Whether an amended or late Form D ever surfaces for either the accelerator round or the June 2025 round.
  • Whether Oura or Galen’s founders ever disclose the acquisition price, in a later filing, interview, or Oura fundraising document.
  • Whether Niremia Collective discloses the size of its Galen AI investment in its own reporting.
  • Whether Galen’s data-integration technology shows up as a named feature inside Oura Advisor, which would be the clearest sign of how the deal is being used.

The Galen AI story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. IndependentGalen AI company profile: valuation, investors, acquisitionPitchBook · accessed Jul 31, 2026
  2. Public recordSEC EDGAR company search for “Galen,” Form D filings; no entity named Galen AI foundSEC EDGAR · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  3. IndependentNiremia Collective closes inaugural fund with $22.5M focused on well-being technologyTechCrunch · Feb 2, 2024
  4. IndependentNiremia Collective investments pageniremia.vc · accessed Sep 25, 2026
  5. CompanyOURA Welcomes Galen AI Team, Acquires Technology to Advance Connected Health AI RoadmapOura, The Pulse Blog · Apr 17, 2026
  6. IndependentOURA Acquires Galen AI to Integrate Clinical Data with Biometric InsightsHLTH · Apr 24, 2026
  7. IndependentOura Acquires AI-Powered Health Companion Galen AIFitt Insider · Apr 22, 2026
  8. IndependentOura Acquires Galen AI to Link Rings to Medical RecordsThe5KRunner · Apr 19, 2026
  9. CompanyGalen AI company pageY Combinator · accessed Sep 25, 2026

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 25, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Galen AI. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.