Funding profile · Consumer genomics
Genomelink
Nine years old, three accelerators, and no SEC Form D. Four commercial databases report four different totals for the same company, and there is no federal filing to settle the question.
Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2016 to 2017 | Angel round from a Japanese network | Not disclosed | Not named | Founder interview |
| Aug 22, 2017 | Seed | Not disclosed | 500 Startups Japan; M3, Inc. | Tracxn |
| Dec 15, 2017 | Early stage VC, labeled Series A | $450K | Not named | PitchBook |
| Dec 18 to 19, 2017 | Seed and accelerator | Not disclosed | Not named | CB Insights, PitchBook |
| Nov 30 to Dec 1, 2018 | Early stage VC, logged as Seed VC II | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook, CB Insights |
| Apr 7, 2021 | Convertible note | Not disclosed | Not named | CB Insights |
| Jul to Sep 2021 | Accelerator, Y Combinator Summer 2021 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC directory |
| Aug 30, 2021 | Seed VC III | Not disclosed | Not named | CB Insights |
| Dec 1, 2021 | Early stage VC | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook |
| Jul 13, 2023 | Seed II | Not disclosed | Brighter Capital named as a participant | CB Insights |
| Undated, most recent | Secondary transaction, private | Not disclosed | Not named | PitchBook |
| Across all rounds | Named holders | n/a | Y Combinator, Sony Innovation Fund, Sompo, 500 Startups Japan, M3, Berkeley SkyDeck, StartX, Brighter Capital, Asymmetry Ventures, Metaplanet Holdings, Novogenia | PitchBook, Tracxn |
What the filings show
Genomelink, Inc. and Awakens, Inc. · no Form D on file
- Company search
- EDGAR company search for Awakens, filing type D: no results
- Full text search
- EDGAR full text search for Genomelink: 0 hits. For Awakens, Inc.: 0 hits
- Vehicles
- No SPV, fund or series LLC naming the company appears in EDGAR
- Searched
- September 23, 2026
- Entity
- Genomelink, Inc., formerly AWAKENS, Inc., Delaware incorporated, 2150 Shattuck Avenue, Berkeley CA 94704
- Subsidiary
- Awakens Japan K.K., 2-11-3 Meguro, Meguro-ku, Tokyo, per author affiliations on two 2022 and 2024 papers
- Filing
- No CIK assigned
Reading the filings
- The absence is legal, and it is still an absence.A company that raises under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Regulation D files no Form D at all, so zero filings does not mean zero money. It does mean every dollar figure below rests on private database entries or on the founder’s own account, with no dated federal document behind any of them.
- The four totals differ by a factor of forty.Tracxn records $225K across three seed rounds. CB Insights records $4.49M across seven. PitchBook records roughly $9M and 18 investors. The co-founder told Berkeley SkyDeck in July 2025 that the company had raised $10M for its Series A. Tracxn covers only three of the ten or eleven events the other two list, which explains its low figure but not the gap between $4.49M and $10M.
- Only one round carries both a date and a number.PitchBook logs $450,000 on December 15, 2017, and labels it Series A. The founder describes a Series A that began at a SkyDeck alumni demo day, continued through Y Combinator’s Summer 2021 demo day, and reached $10M step by step. Those two uses of Series A sit four years and roughly twenty two times apart.
- The investor count rises faster than the capital.Seventeen investors at Tracxn, eighteen at PitchBook, twenty two at CB Insights. Against PitchBook’s $9M that averages about $500,000 each; against CB Insights’s $4.49M it averages about $204,000 each. Either figure describes angels, accelerators and small corporate checks rather than a priced institutional round.
- The cap table fragment points the same way.PitchBook shows two priced series with issue prices of $0.15 and $0.40 and 837,944 and 861,308 shares authorized, holding 6.89 and 7.09 percent. At those prices the two series together cap out near $470,000 if every authorized share was sold. Authorized is not issued, so read it as a ceiling, and a low one.
- The most recent recorded event is a secondary, not a raise.PitchBook’s latest deal type is a private secondary transaction with no date and no amount. Secondaries move existing shares between holders; they put no new cash into the company.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Revenue model | Free tier of 100 trait reports, Unlimited Traits subscription billed monthly or annually, plus one time report purchases. A $29 one time tier was confirmed on the live site in May 2026. | Independent |
| Scale | No user count published by the company. The two peer reviewed papers imply cohorts of 4,550 and 4,528 questionnaire respondents in 2022 and 8,417 genotypes in the validation set in 2024. | Public record |
| Reputation | Trustpilot average 3.5 across 1,410 reviews, checked May 2026. | Independent |
| Regulatory | No FDA 510(k), De Novo or PMA record, and no registered clinical trial, as of Sep 23, 2026. | Public record |
| Second product | T1D Scout, a saliva genetic risk score for type 1 diabetes run with T1D Strong, marketed as undergoing FDA approval process with availability in 2026. | Claim without a record |
| Intellectual property | US-20180314842-A1 and WO-2018200699, first filed Apr 27, 2017, both listed inactive. | PitchBook patent data |
| Data policy | Privacy policy effective Sep 14, 2026 commits that genetic data will not transfer in a bankruptcy or asset sale unless the receiving entity adopts the same policy and complies with genetic data transfer law. | Company document |
What to watch
- A first Form D. It would be the first federally dated fact about this company’s capital.
- An FDA submission or registered trial for T1D Scout, which is marketed as a clinical product and has neither.
- Whether the secondary transaction PitchBook records signals early holders taking liquidity ahead of a priced round.
- Any disclosed subscriber or revenue figure. None is published.
The Genomelink story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text searches for Genomelink and Awakens, Inc., zero results
- Public recordopenFDA 510(k) searches and ClinicalTrials.gov searches, no records
- Public recordPMID 36076307 and PMID 39218908, with corporate affiliations
- IndependentGenomelink profile: funding, cap table, patents, investors
- IndependentGenomelink funding, valuation and revenue
- IndependentGENOME LINK funding rounds and list of investors
- InterviewAgainst the Odds: How One Japanese Startup Got Its Start in the U.S.
- IndependentGenomelink Review (2026), pricing and Trustpilot data verified May 20, 2026
- CompanyGenomelink company page, batch Summer 2021
- CompanyPrivacy Policy and Terms of Use
- PartnerT1D Strong DNA test page and T1D Scout coverage
Compiled from SEC, FDA, NIH and other public records, commercial private market databases and published reports as of September 23, 2026. No Form D has been filed for this company; amounts shown are as reported by third party databases or by the company, and are labeled accordingly. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Genomelink. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
