Funding profile · Cancer diagnostics
Data Driven Bioscience
Eight years old, six named investors, a peer reviewed clinical validation, and no Form D. Almost every dollar that can be traced to this company came from the National Cancer Institute.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported and aggregator-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 21, 2018 | Accelerator, Y Combinator Summer 2018 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | PitchBook |
| Nov 1, 2019 | Early stage venture | Not disclosed | Not itemized | PitchBook |
| 2022 | Listed in the investor portfolio under that year | Not disclosed | Leadout Capital | Investor site |
| Cumulative | Total equity raised | $120,000 or $150,000, by source | Brighter Capital, Hawktail, Initialized Capital, IT-Farm, Leadout Capital, Y Combinator | Sources differ |
| FY2025 | NCI Phase I, 1R43CA298055-01 | $300,682 | National Cancer Institute | NIH record |
| FY2025 | NCI Phase II year one, 2R44CA298055-02 | $1,022,841 | National Cancer Institute | NIH record |
| FY2026 | NCI Phase II year two, 5R44CA298055-03 | $1,022,841 | National Cancer Institute | NIH record |
What the filings show
SEC EDGAR · no registrant, searched Sep 22, 2026
- Company search
- No registrant under either name
- Form D
- None on file
- Third party mention
- AUM Biosciences Limited, Form 424B3, May 22, 2023, naming a “companion diagnostic (CDX) DuoSeq-based (RNA+DNA), from Data Driven Bioscience”
- Exemption used
- Unknown. An issuer selling under Section 4(a)(2) files no Form D
National Cancer Institute · awards on record
- Phase I
- 1R43CA298055-01 · $300,682 · Jan 1 to Apr 4, 2025
- Phase II
- 2R44CA298055-02 · $1,022,841 · Jan 1, 2025 to Aug 31, 2027
- Second year
- 5R44CA298055-03 · $1,022,841 · fiscal 2026
- Total
- $2,346,364
- Principal investigator
- Lanie Elizabeth Happ, company employee
USPTO · trademark file 88338647, DUOSEQ
- Filed
- Mar 13, 2019, intent to use · first use claimed Jun 14, 2018
- Abandoned
- Jun 8, 2020, no statement of use filed
- Revived
- Jul 29, 2020, petition granted the same day
- Registrant
- Data Driven Bioscience, a Delaware corporation, 701 West Main Street, Durham
Reading the filings
- Federal money is the balance sheet.Grants of $2,346,364 sit against reported equity of $120,000 to $150,000. On the higher figure, $2,346,364 of $2,496,364 is about 94 percent of every traceable dollar.
- The equity figures are too small to be the whole story.Six named investors sharing $150,000 averages about $25,000 each, below a normal venture check. The likelier reading is that the aggregators caught one small disclosed instrument and nothing else.
- No Form D does not mean no round.An issuer selling under Section 4(a)(2) files nothing. The absence fits small, quiet financings, and it means no document anywhere states an amount, a valuation or a board.
- The grant is shaped like a fast track.Phase I and Phase II both begin January 1, 2025, and Phase I closes on April 4. A Phase I of three months awarded alongside its own Phase II is the pattern of one application reviewed for both stages.
- The second year was funded.5R44CA298055-03 appears for fiscal 2026 at the same $1,022,841. Continuation is the cheapest available signal that the validation work stayed on schedule.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Regulatory | No FDA clearance, approval, registration or listing found. Duoseq is a kit validated inside the customer laboratory. | Public record |
| Clinical evidence | Peer reviewed clinical validation published January 2026 on 197 specimens at two clinical institutions. | Public record |
| Biopharma | Named as a planned companion diagnostic in a 2023 SEC prospectus by AUM Biosciences. | Public record |
| Customers | About 2,000 patient samples in the first year and several hospitals using the test. None named. | Company-stated |
| Reimbursement | MolDX submission support offered. No coverage determination naming Duoseq found. | Not found |
| Headcount | 10 employees reported for 2024, 4 recorded by PitchBook in 2026. | Sources differ |
What to watch
- A first Form D, which would be the first filed statement of any amount raised.
- Named hospital customers, a published price, or a MolDX coverage decision.
- The final year of the Phase II, whose project period runs to August 31, 2027.
- Whether headcount recovers, or whether the drop from 10 to 4 is the real story.
The Data Driven Bioscience story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordNIH RePORTER 1R43CA298055-01, 2R44CA298055-02 and 5R44CA298055-03
- Public recordUSPTO trademark file 88338647, DUOSEQ
- Public recordAUM Biosciences Limited prospectus, Form 424B3
- Public recordEDGAR company and full text search: no registrant, no Form D
- IndependentCompany profile, total raised $120K and investor list
- IndependentDuoseq profile, two deals and six investors
- IndependentPortfolio entries listing Data Driven Bioscience
- IndependentBreaking Down Blood Cancers, with sample volume and hospital use
- CompanyDuoseq website and AMP 2025 exhibitor listing
Compiled from SEC, NIH, USPTO and FDA public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. No Form D notice has been filed by this company; amounts described as total raised come from commercial data providers and are not filed figures. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Data Driven Bioscience. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
