Funding profile · Biomanufacturing software

Invert

One Form D, filed in July 2024, carries almost the whole visible capital history: $20.1 million sold to 16 investors. Everything raised before it, including a round Forbes reported in 2023, has no filing behind it.

$20.15MSold, Form D filed Jul 11, 2024
$21.70MOffered in the same filing, $1.55M left unsold
16Investors, averaging about $1.26M each
$0Federal grant money on record at NIH or NSF

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Winter 2022 Y Combinator batch Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
Jan 28, 2022 Seed, per one database Not disclosed Not disclosed Tracxn
By early 2023 First year total More than $7M Y Combinator, Giant Ventures, ACME Forbes
Jun 25, 2024 Equity offering, unlabeled on the filing $21,699,989 offered, $20,149,993 sold 16, none named on the filing Form D
2024 to 2025 Same money, three different labels $20M to $20.1M Called a seed by aggregators, a Series A by Tracxn and Seedtable, Unattributed VC by CB Insights Databases
To date Total raised $20.65M Positive Sum, ACME Capital, Y Combinator, Giant Ventures, Cathexis Ventures CB Insights

What the filings show

Invert, Inc. · Form D · filed Jul 11, 2024

First sale
Jun 25, 2024
Offered
$21,699,989 equity
Sold
$20,149,993 · $1,549,996 remaining
Investors
16 · average about $1,259,375
Exemption
Rule 506(b) · no non accredited investors
Related persons
Martin Tromp Permin (executive officer, director); Holger Hjorth Thorup (director); Sam Cates (director); Christian Tang-Jespersen (director)
Issuer
Delaware corporation, incorporated 2021, Dover DE address, industry self classified as Other Technology, revenue range withheld
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0002029949

Reading the filings

  1. Sixteen institutional size checks.$20,149,993 divided by 16 investors is about $1,259,375 each. That is a fund sized average, not an angel list. No investor is named on the filing itself; the names in circulation come from CB Insights, which lists Positive Sum, ACME Capital, Y Combinator, Giant Ventures and Cathexis Ventures.
  2. The offering size is not a round number.A company raising a clean round offers $20,000,000 or $22,000,000. Invert registered $21,699,989. Odd totals like that usually mean earlier convertible notes or SAFEs were folded into the priced round at their accrued value, which would also explain why the pre 2024 money never generated a Form D of its own.
  3. Form D undercounts this company, and the databases undercount it too.Forbes reported in 2023 that Invert had raised more than $7 million in its first year from Y Combinator, Giant Ventures and ACME. No Form D covers any of it. Yet CB Insights puts total raised at $20.65 million, only about $500,000 above the single 2024 filing. Either the Forbes figure or the database total is wrong; both cannot hold.
  4. Nobody agrees on what the round was called.Aggregator posts in August 2024 and July 2025 call it a $20 million and then a $20.1 million seed. Tracxn and Seedtable both date it to June 25, 2024, the Form D first sale date, and both call it a Series A. CB Insights labels it Unattributed VC. The company itself issued no funding release that could be found, which is why the label floats.
  5. The filing landed one day outside the window.Rule 503 gives an issuer 15 days from the first sale to file. First sale was June 25, 2024; the signature on the notice is dated July 10 and the filing posted July 11, day 16. A clerical detail, and a reminder that the June date is the company’s own report of when money first moved.
  6. Three companies named Invert file with the SEC. Only one is this one.Invert Investment Group, LP is a Kirkland, Washington hedge fund run by Tao Lu, formed in 2024. Invert Industries is a San Diego corporation formed in 2019 under Jared Koett that sold $110,000 of a $250,000 offering in June 2021. Neither shares an officer, address or state with Invert, Inc. Name matching alone would triple this company’s apparent filing history.
  7. The board is founder heavy and quiet.Four directors: the two founders, plus Sam Cates and Christian Tang-Jespersen. No investor firm is identified as a related person, and no filing has been made in the 27 months since the first sale, so no board change is visible in the record.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Product Bioprocess data platform with OPC UA, OPC DA and file based instrument integration. Invert Assist, a natural language analysis layer, launched Oct 28, 2025. Company-stated
Customers Three case studies, all anonymized by tier: a top 5 biopharma, a global top 10 biopharma and biologics CDMO, and a clinical stage cell therapy company. No customer is named anywhere. Company-stated
Pricing No list price. Quotes are scoped to equipment, facilities and modality rather than seats. Company-stated
Certification SOC 2 Type II audited by Prescient Assurance LLC and ISO/IEC 27001:2022, asserted on the compliance page, reports supplied only on request. Company-stated
Headcount 25, per the Y Combinator listing. Six open roles and three new engineering postings in 30 days as of mid 2026. YC, Seedtable
Regulatory exposure None. No FDA record, no registered trial, no federal grant. Public record

What to watch

  • A new Form D. It is due within 15 days of the first sale of any new Regulation D offering, and nothing has been filed since July 2024.
  • Whether the next raise is labeled a Series A or a Series B, which would settle what the 2024 round actually was.
  • A named customer or a public reference account, the single largest gap in the file.
  • An amended filing or a press release reconciling the Forbes 2023 figure with the database totals.

The Invert story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Invert, Inc., CIK 0002029949SEC · Jul 11, 2024
  2. Public recordForm D, Invert Investment Group, LP, CIK 0002047773SEC · Mar 7, 2025
  3. Public recordForm D, Invert Industries, CIK 0001868317SEC · Jun 22, 2021
  4. Public recordNIH RePORTER, NSF awards, FDA and ClinicalTrials.gov searches returning no company recordsSearched Sep 22, 2026
  5. IndependentInvert, 30 Under 30 Europe, Manufacturing and Industry 2023Forbes · 2023
  6. IndependentInvert company profile: total raised, last raise and investor listCB Insights · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  7. IndependentInvert funding rounds and investorsTracxn · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  8. IndependentInvert: funding, investors and team, with hiring signalsSeedtable · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  9. IndependentInvert Secures $20 Million in Seed Funding, and Invert Bioprocess Secures $20.1M Seed FundingSignalbase · Aug 15, 2024 and Jul 7, 2025
  10. InterviewBioprocessing Automation, Data in Biotech episode 30CorrDyn · Oct 2, 2024
  11. CompanyInvert launches Invert Assist, an AI-powered analysis interface built for bioprocessPR Newswire · Oct 28, 2025
  12. CompanyCompliance, pricing and case study pagesInvert · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  13. CompanyInvert company profile, team size and open rolesY Combinator · accessed Sep 22, 2026

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Invert. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.