Funding profile · Consumer telehealth
Phoenix
One disclosed round, reported as a single number mixing equity and venture debt, in a private Canadian corporation that files no readable securities notice. The public paper trail is a federal registry entry and two reporters’ notebooks.
Data as of September 24, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled. All amounts are Canadian dollars unless stated.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winter 2021 | Y Combinator batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Before 2025 | Earlier financing, round labels not published | $5M reported | Not named | Independent |
| Closed Jan 2025, announced Mar 13, 2025 | Series A | $50M equity and debt combined; split not disclosed | Valspring Capital (lead, all-primary equity); Y Combinator (renewed); CIBC Innovation Banking (venture debt) | Release and reporting |
| Mar 2025 | Cumulative | $55M total to date | Reported figure, not a round | Independent |
What the filings show
Phoenix Digital Health Inc. · Corporations Canada · incorporated Sep 10, 2019
- Corporation
- 11618938 · business number 769846130
- Statute
- Canada Business Corporations Act, federal
- Registered office
- 200 Wellington St W, Suite 1400, Toronto, ON M5V 3C7
- Earlier addresses
- 16 Sumach St, Toronto (2019 to 2024); 220 King St W, Suite 500, Toronto (2024 to 2025)
- Directors
- Gavin Thompson; Kevin Bache
- Share class
- Non-distributing corporation with 50 or fewer shareholders (2021, 2022 and 2025 annual returns)
- Status history
- Active from Sep 10, 2019. “Active – Dissolution Pending (Non-compliance)” recorded Mar 24, 2023, the same date as the 2022 annual return. Latest annual meeting date Feb 4, 2025.
SEC EDGAR · no Form D of record
- Searched
- Form D filings and Form D filings mentioning the company, Sep 24, 2026
- Result
- No filing by or naming Phoenix Digital Health Inc. Every hit on the name resolves to unrelated issuers such as Pinnacle West Capital, University of Phoenix and The Phoenix Companies.
- Why
- A Canadian private issuer need not file a Form D unless it relies on Regulation D. Canadian exempt distribution reports are filed provincially and are not published the same searchable way.
- Meaning
- A gap in the record, not evidence that no money moved.
Reading the filings
- The headline number is two instruments wearing one label.The March 13, 2025 release says CAD 50 million and names Valspring Capital as lead, Y Combinator as returning, and CIBC Innovation Banking for venture debt. BetaKit reports the equity portion was all primary and that Bache called the round “mostly equity” but declined the split and the valuation. The equity raised is therefore below $50 million, and the number carries no implied valuation.
- The totals reconcile.BetaKit puts cumulative funding at $55 million in March 2025. The Local reports about $5 million raised before. $55 million minus $50 million is $5 million, so the two independent figures agree and imply no hidden earlier round.
- Two board seats arrived with the cheque.Valspring managing partner Yumin Choi and senior principal Amanda Zajac joined the board as part of the round. For a company still registered as having 50 or fewer shareholders, that is meaningful concentration of investor voice.
- The corporate record shows one lapse, cured.Corporations Canada logged “Active – Dissolution Pending (Non-compliance)” on March 24, 2023, the same day the 2022 annual return was filed. The 2025 annual meeting is on record, so filing discipline is current.
- Unit economics sit in the medication, not the visit.BetaKit reports $40 per online visit, physicians paid whether or not they prescribe, and revenue generated from medication sales. Gross margin therefore depends on conversion to a filled prescription and on refills. That is the structure critics cite, and it is why the May 2026 price moves on semaglutide and Ozempic, both from $124.99, are strategy rather than charity.
- A manufacturer is now inside the checkout.The May 29, 2026 release states the Novo Nordisk savings card rebate is applied automatically at checkout for eligible Ozempic prescriptions, for out-of-pocket patients outside Quebec. That is a direct commercial link between a brand manufacturer and the platform where the prescribing decision is recorded.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Coverage | Nine provinces. Not Quebec, which requires a Collège des médecins du Québec permit and a French language examination, and not the territories. | Company-stated |
| Pricing | $40 per online visit (Mar 2025). Generic semaglutide and Ozempic both from $124.99 (May 2026). | Reporting and release |
| Brands | Phoenix for men; Raven for women; Phoenix Labs, a 50 biomarker panel sold in Ontario only. | Company-stated |
| Vendors | Trulioo KYC Documents for patient identity verification across both brands, announced Apr 14, 2026, citing PIPEDA and Canadian data hosting. | Partner-stated |
| Marketing | Super Bowl LVIII (2024) and LIX (2025) national spots with Arrivals + Departures. Cable television chosen because the customer base skews older. | Independent |
| Headcount | 35 in March 2025 per BetaKit, with a stated plan to at least double. The Y Combinator page lists 70. | Independent |
| Revenue and patients | Not disclosed. CIBC Innovation Banking described revenues “increasing multiple folds annually” without figures. | Not disclosed |
What to watch
- A Series B, or any disclosure of the equity and debt split inside the 2025 number.
- Quebec entry, which would enlarge the addressable market by roughly a fifth of the country.
- Any first disclosure of patient counts, revenue or retention, none of which has been published.
- Whether Raven is financed and reported separately or stays inside the same corporation.
- Further manufacturer rebate arrangements of the Novo Nordisk type, and how they are disclosed to patients.
The Phoenix story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordPhoenix Digital Health Inc., federal corporation 11618938
- Public recordForm D search and Form D mentions, no filing for the company
- Public recordCanada becomes the first G7 country to approve a generic version of semaglutide
- IndependentPhoenix secures equity from Valspring, venture debt from CIBC for prescription drug service
- IndependentInside the Booming Industry Selling Lifestyle Drugs Online
- CompanyPhoenix Announces $50 Million Investment Round Led by Valspring Capital
- CompanyPhoenix and Raven Become First Canadian Telehealth Platforms to Offer Generic Semaglutide Direct to Patients
- CompanyPhoenix and Raven Offer Eligible Canadians Ozempic at the Same Price as Generic Semaglutide
- PartnerTrulioo Partners With Phoenix Digital Health to Strengthen Patient Trust and Access to Virtual Care in Canada
- CompanyPhoenix terms of service, FAQ and locations pages
Compiled from Corporations Canada, SEC EDGAR, Health Canada and provincial regulator records and published reports as of September 24, 2026. Phoenix Digital Health Inc. is a private Canadian corporation filing no public financial statements; figures here come from company releases and independent reporting, labeled as such. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Phoenix Digital Health Inc. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
