Funding profile · Life science research infrastructure

Quartzy

Three Form D filings covering $27.47 million of equity sold between 2013 and 2019, then six years of silence on EDGAR, then $23 million announced in April 2026 with no Form D behind it.

$27.47MEquity sold across three Form D filings, 2013 to 2019
$23.0MAnnounced April 13, 2026; no Form D on file for it
30Investors counted across the three Form D filings
6 yr 4 moBetween the last Form D and the next announced financing

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2011 Y Combinator, Summer 2011 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
2012 Seed $1.2M reported Not named VentureBeat
Jun 2013 Series A $6,665,198 sold of $6,665,203 offered 17; Khosla Ventures led, per TechCrunch Form D
Dec 2015 to Jan 2016 Series B $17M announced; $15,800,733 sold of $17,556,608 at filing 12; Eminence Capital led, with Khosla Ventures, Y Combinator Continuity, A Capital, Jeremy Stoppelman, Justin Caldbeck, Tikhon Bernstam and Gil Elbaz Form D and press
Nov to Dec 2019 Unannounced equity $4,999,998 sold of $5,999,997 offered 1 Form D
Apr 2026 Financing, structure not stated $23,000,000 Avenue Capital Group and BroadOak Capital Partners; Spinta Capital placement agent Release and press

What the filings show

Quartzy, Inc. · Form D · filed Dec 6, 2019

First sale
Nov 25, 2019
Offered
$5,999,997 equity
Sold
$4,999,998 · $999,999 remaining
Investors
1 · the whole amount from a single check
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Jayant Kulkarni (executive officer, director); Adam Regelmann (executive officer, director); Adam Bain (director)
Address
Hayward, CA
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001579981, accession 0001231919-19-000059

Quartzy, Inc. · Form D · filed Jan 5, 2016

First sale
Dec 22, 2015
Offered
$17,556,608 equity
Sold
$15,800,733 · $1,755,875 remaining
Investors
12 · average about $1,316,700
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
Jayant Kulkarni (executive officer, director); Adam Regelmann (executive officer, director); Elad Gil (director)
Address
Palo Alto, CA
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001579981, accession 0001579981-16-000001

Quartzy, Inc. · Form D · filed Jun 25, 2013

First sale
Jun 20, 2013
Offered
$6,665,203 equity and other securities
Sold
$6,665,198 · $5 remaining
Investors
17 · average about $392,000
Exemption
Rule 506
Related persons
Jayant Kulkarni (executive officer, director); Adam Regelmann (executive officer, director)
Address
Palo Alto, CA · Delaware incorporation, 2010
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001579981, accession 0001579981-13-000001

Reading the filings

  1. The average check triples, then the round becomes one check.In 2013, $6,665,198 across 17 investors is about $392,000 each. In 2016, $15,800,733 across 12 is about $1,316,700 each. In 2019, $4,999,998 came from one investor. That is a company moving from a syndicate to a lead to a single counterparty.
  2. The announcement beat the filing by one day, then stopped happening.First sale on the Series B was December 22, 2015; TechCrunch published the $17 million story on January 4, 2016; the Form D landed January 5, inside the 15 day window. The 2019 round filed on the same rhythm, first sale November 25 and filing December 6, but drew no coverage at all.
  3. $1.76 million of the Series B was never reported sold.The company announced $17 million. The Form D records $15,800,733 sold against $17,556,608 offered, leaving $1,755,875. No amendment has been filed in the ten years since, so the announced figure and the filed figure have never been reconciled on the record.
  4. Board seats appear and disappear between filings.2013 lists only the two founders. 2016 adds Elad Gil as a director. 2019 drops Gil and adds Adam Bain. Neither Avenue Capital Group nor BroadOak Capital Partners appears anywhere in a filing.
  5. The address tracks the change in the business.Palo Alto on the 2013 and 2016 filings, Hayward on the 2019 one. Hayward is where the company opened a one million cubic foot warehouse in July 2018, the year the Shop launched.
  6. The newest $23 million is probably not equity.Nothing has been filed under the company CIK since 2019. The April 2026 release names a placement agent, Spinta Capital, and says DLA Piper advised the lenders. Avenue Capital Group is a credit manager and BroadOak Capital Partners is a life science specialist. Debt does not require a Form D, so the silence on EDGAR is consistent with the language in the release rather than in conflict with it.
  7. Totals depend on what you count.Form D sales through 2019 come to $27,465,929. Add the $1.2 million seed reported in 2012 and the $23 million announced in 2026 and the figure is about $51.7 million. Wikipedia still says nearly $25 million, the number TechCrunch used in January 2016.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Revenue model Free software paid for by marketplace transactions from 2011; per seat subscription for every customer from July 1, 2023. Company-stated
List price $99 per user seat per year for labs that joined before July 1, 2023; $149 after. First year offset by a monthly shop credit matching the annual fee. Company-stated
Catalog 10 million products; supplier count given as more than 1,000 in the 2026 releases and 1,800 on company pages. Company-stated
Customers “more than 3,000 organizations” in the April 2026 coverage, against “over 28,000 biotech, pharma, and academic labs” on the company tour page. Figures disagree
Institutional access Approved vendor at almost 200 universities as of January 2023; punchout integrations with Coupa, Jaggaer, SAP Ariba and Workday. Company-stated
Geography Shop purchasing available only in the United States. Users outside it report seeing listings they cannot buy. User reports

What to watch

  • A Form D for the April 2026 money, or a statement that it was debt. It is due within 15 days of a first sale of securities.
  • An amendment to the 2016 Form D, which still shows $1,755,875 unsold.
  • Whether Avenue Capital Group or BroadOak Capital Partners takes a board seat, which a later filing would show.
  • Any disclosure of revenue, marketplace gross margin, or renewal rates three years into the subscription model.
  • Whether the 3,000 organization figure and the 28,000 lab figure are ever defined against each other.

The Quartzy story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Quartzy, Inc., accession 0001579981-13-000001SEC · Jun 25, 2013
  2. Public recordForm D, Quartzy, Inc., accession 0001579981-16-000001SEC · Jan 5, 2016
  3. Public recordForm D, Quartzy, Inc., accession 0001231919-19-000059SEC · Dec 6, 2019
  4. IndependentQuartzy snaps $6.6M in new funding to bring some order to labsVentureBeat · Jun 25, 2013
  5. IndependentLife Sciences Marketplace Quartzy Raises $17 Million To Build Up The Supply SideTechCrunch · Jan 4, 2016
  6. IndependentQuartzy: $23 Million Financing From Avenue Capital And BroadOak Supports Life Sciences Procurement Platform GrowthPulse 2.0 · Apr 14, 2026
  7. IndependentQuartzy Raises $23M in FundingFinSMEs · Apr 14, 2026
  8. CompanyChanges at Quartzy: New subscription structureQuartzy blog · Jan 11, 2023
  9. CompanyQuartzy pricing, tour overview and Shop pagesquartzy.com · accessed Sep 22, 2026

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Quartzy. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.