Funding profile · Scientific data infrastructure

TetraScience

Two Form D notices account for $66.0 million of sold equity. The announced Series B was larger than the filing that accompanied it, and the most recent raise was never announced at all.

$66.0MTotal sold across the two Form D filings on record
$80.0MSeries B as announced, April 2021, company-stated
$51.0MSold per the Form D filed the same day
$15.0MSold February 2026, with no announcement found

Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
Summer 2015 Y Combinator batch Not disclosed Y Combinator YC data
Oct 2019 Series A $8M, as reported Not named in the report VentureBeat
Mar to Apr 2021 Series B $80M announced; $50,999,950 sold at filing Co-led by Insight Partners and Alkeon Capital Form D vs release
Dec 2021 Divestiture of the Tetra Lab Monitoring business to Elemental Machines Terms not disclosed Elemental Machines Partner release
Feb 2026 Equity offering, unlabeled $14,999,985 sold of the same amount offered 11 investors, not named Form D
As of Oct 2025 Backers named by the company Not itemized Insight Partners, Impetus Ventures, Underscore_VC, Alkeon Capital Company-stated

What the filings show

TetraScience, Inc. · Form D · filed Feb 27, 2026

First sale
Feb 13, 2026
Offered
$14,999,985 equity
Sold
$14,999,985 · $0 remaining
Investors
11 · average about $1,363,635
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Revenue range
Decline to Disclose
Related persons
Siping Wang (executive officer, director); Patrick Grady (executive officer, director); James S. Orsillo (executive officer, director); Christopher Lynch (director); Remy Evard (director); Deven Parekh (director)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001855742

TetraScience, Inc. · Form D · filed Apr 15, 2021

First sale
Mar 26, 2021
Offered
$50,999,950 equity
Sold
$50,999,950 · $0 remaining
Investors
11 · average about $4,636,359
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Revenue range
Decline to Disclose
Related persons
Siping Wang, Patrick Grady and Salvatore Savo (executive officers and directors); Maurice Bedoni (executive officer); Chris Lynch, Remy Evard, Michael Skok and Deven Parekh (directors)
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001855742

Reading the filings

  1. The announcement is about $29 million larger than the filing.The April 15, 2021 release says $80 million. The Form D filed that same day reports $50,999,950 offered and the identical amount sold, with nothing remaining. The difference is $29,000,050. Form D covers securities sold under Regulation D, so secondary purchases from existing holders and any tranche placed under a different exemption would not appear. No amended notice has been filed to reconcile the two numbers.
  2. Contemporaneous reports of the total did not agree either.Within one week the company blog put lifetime funding at over $92 million, VentureBeat at over $88 million following an $8 million Series A in October 2019, and Fierce Healthcare at $92.5 million raised between March 2019 and March 2021.
  3. Eleven investors, twice, at very different check sizes.The 2021 notice reports $50,999,950 across 11 investors, about $4,636,359 each. The 2026 notice reports $14,999,985 across 11 investors, about $1,363,635 each. Same count, roughly a third of the average commitment.
  4. The 2021 notice was late; the 2026 notice was not.Form D is due within 15 days of the first sale. The first 2021 sale was March 26 and the filing landed April 15, twenty days later, on the day of the press release. In 2026 the first sale was February 13 and the filing came February 27, fourteen days later.
  5. The February 2026 round was never announced.Searches of company channels and the trade press turned up no release for the $14,999,985 sale. It surfaces in the SEC notice and in databases that read from it. For a company that publicized a Series B, a partner program and a European office, the silence is itself a data point.
  6. The board shed its co-founder and its seed investor.The 2021 notice names eight related persons; the 2026 notice names six. Co-founder Salvatore Savo left with the lab monitoring business in December 2021. Michael Skok and Maurice Bedoni also drop off, and James S. Orsillo appears as an executive officer and director. Deven Parekh of Insight Partners sits on both. Alkeon co-led the Series B but no Alkeon person is named on either notice.
  7. Nothing before 2021 is on file, and no revenue ever is.CIK 0001855742 first appears in April 2021, although the company incorporated in 2014 and reported a Series A in 2019. Offerings placed under Section 4(a)(2) require no Form D, so the gap does not mean no money moved. Both notices decline to disclose a revenue range.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA records and no registered trials. This is enterprise software sold to R&D organizations. Public record
Named customers Novo Nordisk (joint release, Mar 2021), Takeda (founding SAIL partner, Oct 2025), Alexion (outcomes cited on the company site), Merck & Co. and SmartLabs (reported 2021). Company and partner
Customer count More than 70 pharmaceutical and biotech firms, and more than 60 percent of the top 20 pharmaceutical companies, attributed to the startup by MIT News in January 2018, before the lab monitoring line was divested. No current count found. Company-stated, 2018
Vendor partnerships AWS Marketplace, Jun 2021. NVIDIA, Nov 2024. Thermo Fisher Scientific, Jan 2026, covered by Fierce Biotech. Databricks, Snowflake and Microsoft named by the company. Independent and company
Revenue No figure disclosed. The company reported 10x revenue growth in 2020 and forecast ARR growth above 300% for 2021. Both filings decline to disclose the revenue range. Not disclosed
Headcount Revelio Labs estimates 229 in Q2 2023, a low of 162 in Q2 2025 and 235 in Q1 2026, with 199 open postings in 2026. No layoff announcement found. Third-party estimate
Footprint European headquarters opened at Switzerland Innovation Park Basel Area on the Novartis campus, reported April 2026, with co-founder Spin Wang relocating. Company-stated

What to watch

  • An announced round, or an amended Form D, behind the February 2026 sale.
  • Whether the next notice keeps the investor count at eleven or widens it.
  • A second named SAIL partner beyond Takeda.
  • Any disclosed revenue figure, which neither filing has ever carried.
  • Whether headcount holds above the 2025 low while the Basel office staffs up.

The TetraScience story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, TetraScience, Inc., CIK 0001855742, accession 0001855742-26-000003SEC · Feb 27, 2026
  2. Public recordForm D, TetraScience, Inc., CIK 0001855742, accession 0001567619-21-008090SEC · Apr 15, 2021
  3. IndependentTetraScience raises $80M to help life sciences companies analyze dataVentureBeat, Kyle Wiggers · Apr 15, 2021
  4. IndependentTetraScience scores $80M series B investment, rolls out open R&D data cloudFierce Healthcare, Brian Horowitz · Apr 16, 2021
  5. IndependentTetraScience employee count and headcount dataRevelio Labs · accessed Sep 22, 2026
  6. CompanyAnnouncing Our Series B: The What, When, Why, Who, and WhereTetraScience blog · Apr 15, 2021
  7. CompanyTetraScience Launches Scientific AI Lighthouse Program with Takeda as Founding PartnerPR Newswire · Oct 23, 2025
  8. PartnerElemental Machines Announces Acquisition of TetraScience Lab MonitoringPR Newswire · Dec 14, 2021

Compiled from SEC and other public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in TetraScience. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.