Funding profile · Oncology therapeutics
Shasqi
Roughly $68 million of disclosed equity, $10.2 million of NCI grant money, and not a single Form D on file with the SEC. The last announced round closed in November 2021.
Data as of September 22, 2026. Company-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Winter 2015 | Y Combinator batch | Not disclosed | Y Combinator, its first therapeutics investment | YC data |
| Oct 31, 2019 | Series A | $10.0M | Y Combinator and a group of primarily high net worth private investors | Company release |
| By Dec 2020 | Cumulative to first-in-human | $18M | Not itemized | UC Davis, then confirmed by an investor |
| Nov 11, 2021 | Series B | $50.0M | A syndicate of private investors including Juan Jaen, president of Arcus Biosciences, and Bill Rieflin, executive chairman of NGM Biopharmaceuticals. No institutional lead named. | Company release |
| FY2021 to FY2026 | NCI SBIR R44 grants | $10,233,607 | National Cancer Institute, five project numbers | NIH RePORTER |
| Jun 2023, expanded Oct 2023 | Research collaboration | Terms not disclosed | Johnson & Johnson Enterprise Innovation Inc. | Company release |
| Since Nov 2021 | No announced financing | None found | None | Not found |
What the filings show
Shasqi, Inc. · SEC EDGAR · searched Sep 22, 2026
- Form D notices
- None. A full text search of EDGAR for the string shasqi, restricted to Form D, returns zero filings.
- Registrant record
- No CIK for Shasqi, Inc.
- Appearances
- 38 filings by other registrants mention Shasqi.
- Investor filings
- Arcus Biosciences, 6. NGM Biopharmaceuticals, 4. Nurix Therapeutics, 2. Proxy and disclosure documents of companies whose executives sit on the Shasqi board.
- Competitor filings
- Veraxa Biotech and Voyager Acquisition Corp, across the merger registration and later prospectuses. Telix Pharmaceuticals, 3. Also Avadel, Inovio, SpyGlass, Forte and argenx.
- Implication
- Every dollar raised was raised without a Regulation D notice, which points to Section 4(a)(2) private placements to accredited investors.
Reading the filings
- There is no Form D to read, and that is the finding.Shasqi has announced at least $60 million of equity across a 2019 Series A and a 2021 Series B and has never filed a Regulation D notice. Companies that place securities under Section 4(a)(2) rather than Rule 506 file nothing, and a round assembled from named individuals rather than a fund is the shape of deal that takes that route. The absence is consistent with the announcements.
- The Series B had no institutional lead.The November 2021 release names two people and calls the rest a syndicate of private investors: Juan Jaen, president of Arcus Biosciences, and Bill Rieflin, executive chairman at NGM Biopharmaceuticals. For a $50 million round in 2021, a syndicate of operators rather than a fund is an unusual structure, and it is why Shasqi appears in Arcus and NGM disclosure documents rather than on a fund’s portfolio page.
- The capital efficiency claim holds up to arithmetic.Rieflin said at the time: “The Shasqi team has parlayed $18 million into an ongoing Phase 1/2 clinical study of SQ3370 and a click chemistry platform that is poised for expansion into antibody-based and other targeted modalities.” UC Davis reported the same $18 million figure independently eleven months earlier. That is incorporation through IND, GMP manufacturing and first-in-human dosing on $18 million.
- Roughly 13 percent of the money is non-dilutive.NIH RePORTER records $10,233,607 obligated across eleven award year records under five NCI SBIR R44 projects, FY2021 through FY2026, all with the founder as principal investigator. Against about $68 million of disclosed equity that is 13 percent of total capital, and it is the only funding stream still visibly flowing: the newest project runs to August 31, 2027. A January 2025 report put the NIH total at more than $8 million; RePORTER shows about $7.6 million obligated through FY2024, with the FY2025 awards landing later that year.
- The equity clock is nearly five years old.The last announced financing closed November 11, 2021. Since then the lead program was terminated, the company restyled itself from clinical stage to preclinical, and it added three directors. No round has been announced, no Form D has appeared, and the NCI grants are the only dated cash on the public record after 2021.
- Two public companies now treat Shasqi as a named competitor.Veraxa Biotech’s August 2026 prospectus states: “Only two small biotech companies pursue such approaches, TagWorks and Shasqi, which have both progressed into clinical studies.” Telix lists Shasqi Inc in the competition section of its FY2025 annual report. It is a weak signal, but an independent one, made under penalty of securities law.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Product | No approved or cleared product. No FDA 510(k) or PMA records, as expected for an investigational drug developer. | Public record |
| Clinical | One registered trial, NCT04106492, terminated after Phase 2a in September 2023. No new Shasqi-sponsored study registered as of Sep 22, 2026. | Public record |
| Federal | Five NCI SBIR R44 projects, FY2021 to FY2026. Newest award period ends Aug 31, 2027. | Public record |
| Partnership | Johnson & Johnson Enterprise Innovation research collaboration, June 2023, expanded October 2023. No economics disclosed, no J&J statement found in any release. | Company-stated |
| Governance | Board: Mejía Oneto, Juan Jaen, Pamela M. Klein and Mark McCamish (Jan 2024), Roger Dansey (Oct 2025). | Company-stated |
| Publication | Clinical Cancer Research, Sep 2025. Preprint on medRxiv, Jun 2025, which is where the termination rationale appears. | Public record |
What to watch
- A first Form D, or another announced round. Five years without either is the open question.
- An IND or a trial registration for the CEACAM5 and MMAE program, promised for 2026.
- Whether the Johnson & Johnson collaboration converts into a licensed candidate with disclosed economics.
- Renewal of the NCI grants beyond August 2027.
The Shasqi story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordEDGAR full text search for shasqi, all forms and Form D
- Public recordVeraxa Biotech Holding AG, Form 424B5
- Public recordTelix Pharmaceuticals, Form 20-F for FY2025
- Public recordNIH RePORTER, five NCI SBIR R44 projects
- Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT04106492
- IndependentShasqi snatches $50M, Series B report
- IndependentBusiness Roundup, Series B entry
- IndependentUC Davis startup now in clinical trials
- IndependentAt JPM, Shasqi and the ADC 1% problem
- CompanyShasqi Completes $10 Million Series A Financing
- CompanyShasqi Raises $50 Million, Series B release
- CompanyBoard appointment releases
Compiled from SEC, NIH and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 22, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; an absence of Form D filings does not mean no capital was raised, because offerings placed under Section 4(a)(2) require no notice. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Shasqi. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
