Funding profile · Oncology therapeutics

Alixia

A preclinical cancer drug company that has filed exactly one Form D in its own name. Two Regulation D notices account for every dollar visible in the public record, and three commercial databases disagree with each other about the rest.

$1.83MSold of $3.47M offered, Form D filed Jul 23, 2024
19Investors in that offering, about $96,000 each
$103KRaised by a Gaingels vehicle from 10 investors, 2022
$0Federal grant dollars found in NIH and NSF records

Data as of September 23, 2026. Company-reported and data-provider figures are labeled.

Rounds at a glance

When Round Amount Investors Source
2019 IndieBio Class Eight, as Guided Clarity Not disclosed IndieBio and SOSV Accelerator
Feb 2019 Seed $125,000 Not named Data provider
Mar 2022 Y Combinator Winter 2022 Not disclosed Y Combinator YC directory
May to Jun 2022 Gaingels Alixia LLC, single-company vehicle $103,000 of $103,000 10 investors, minimum $2,500 Form D
Jul 2024 Equity offering, Rule 506(b) $3,465,450 offered, $1,825,445 sold 19 investors, all accredited Form D
Sep to Oct 2025 New investment announced Not disclosed ZAKA VC Investor
2019 to 2026 Federal grants None found NIH, NSF Not found

What the filings show

Alixia, Inc. · Form D · filed Jul 23, 2024

First sale
Jul 9, 2024
Offered
$3,465,450 equity
Sold
$1,825,445 · $1,640,005 remaining
Investors
19 · average about $96,100
Exemption
Rule 506(b) · no non-accredited investors
Related persons
Helen Yee-Fang Chen (executive officer, director); Lars Olof Mollstedt (executive officer, director); Sungwon Lim (director)
Signed by
Helen Yee-Fang Chen, Co-Chief Executive Officer
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0002031477 · Delaware, incorporated 2022

Gaingels Alixia LLC · Form D · filed Jun 2, 2022

First sale
May 26, 2022
Type
Vermont limited liability company, formed 2022, single-company vehicle
Sold
$103,000 of $103,000 · nothing remaining
Investors
10 · average $10,300 · minimum investment $2,500
Exemption
Rule 506(b)
Related persons
David Beatty, manager of Gaingels Management LLC, which manages the issuer
Filing
SEC EDGAR, CIK 0001927073 · Burlington, Vermont

Reading the filings

  1. The 2024 round is a syndicate, not a lead.$1,825,445 across 19 investors averages about $96,100 each. That is angel and micro-fund size, not a priced round with an institutional lead writing the first cheque. The filing names no placement agent and reports zero sales commissions and zero finders fees.
  2. Roughly half the offering never sold.$1,640,005 of the $3,465,450 was still on the table at filing, so about 53 percent was taken up. More than two years later no amended Form D has been filed to report the rest, and the original notice remains the only filing under the company’s CIK.
  3. Angels came in through Gaingels two years earlier.The Gaingels vehicle’s first sale was May 26, 2022, about 26 months before Alixia’s own first sale. It raised $103,000 from 10 people at a $2,500 minimum, which is a syndicate ticket, and it points to a 2022 financing that has no Form D of its own. Companies that raise under Section 4(a)(2) file no Form D at all, so the absence is not evidence that nothing happened.
  4. The databases do not agree, and none of them match the filings.One provider reports $2.43M raised in total, a second $2.58M, a third $3.79M. The two Regulation D notices together account for $1,928,445, and $103,000 of that is money raised by the Gaingels vehicle rather than by Alixia directly. Every figure above the filings is unverified.
  5. A 2025 investment has left no filing.ZAKA VC announced Alixia as a portfolio addition in late 2025, and one data provider logs a deal dated September 1, 2025. No new Form D has appeared under CIK 0002031477. A Form D is due within 15 days of a first sale when the offering relies on Regulation D.
  6. The board is three people and one of them is an outsider.The 2024 filing lists the two founders as executive officers and directors, plus Sungwon Lim as a director with no officer role. Chen signed as Co-Chief Executive Officer, which confirms that the two founders share the job.

Commercial signals

Signal Detail Source type
Regulatory No FDA submission of any kind. Expected at preclinical stage. Public record
Clinical No Alixia study registered. The only registered trial in the founders’ history, NCT01412658, was sponsored by Ambryx Biotechnology and ran in 2006 and 2007. Public record
Revenue Declined to disclose on the Form D. Two data providers describe the company as generating revenue, which no filing supports. Unverified
Facilities Registered business address is 953 Indiana Street, San Francisco, the MBC BioLabs incubator. Public record
Non-dilutive funding No NIH or NSF award found. Listed in the MTEC member directory, but no MTEC award found. Not found
Headcount Two on the Y Combinator directory. Six on two data provider profiles in 2026. Data provider
Intellectual property No patent found assigned to Alixia. The founders’ earlier company, Ambryx Biotechnology, holds several. Not found

What to watch

  • A Form D covering the 2025 investment, or an amendment to the 2024 notice closing out the $1,640,005 that was unsold.
  • Any named investor beyond the accelerators. Only Gaingels and ZAKA VC are documented, and Gaingels appears through a vehicle rather than on the company filing.
  • A patent application assigned to Alixia, which would be the first hard technical asset on the record.
  • Whether the third board seat changes, which is usually the visible sign of a priced institutional round.

The Alixia story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery

Related companies

Sources

  1. Public recordForm D, Alixia, Inc., CIK 0002031477SEC EDGAR · Jul 23, 2024
  2. Public recordForm D, Gaingels Alixia LLC, CIK 0001927073SEC EDGAR · Jun 2, 2022
  3. Public recordEDGAR filing index for CIK 0002031477SEC · accessed Sep 23, 2026
  4. Public recordClinicalTrials.gov NCT01412658Sponsor Ambryx Biotechnology · registered Aug 2011
  5. IndependentAlixia company profile, deal history and investor listPitchBook · accessed Sep 2026
  6. IndependentAlixia company profile and total raisedCB Insights · accessed Sep 2026
  7. IndependentAlixia company profile, funding rounds and headcountTracxn · accessed Sep 2026
  8. IndependentAlixia funding roundsDealroom · accessed Sep 2026
  9. IndependentIntroducing Alixia: Strengthening Our Biotech PortfolioZAKA VC · late 2025
  10. IndependentGaingels, venture syndicate backgroundWikipedia · accessed Sep 2026
  11. CompanyPost announcing the Y Combinator Winter 2022 batch and backersOlof Mollstedt, LinkedIn · Mar 2022
  12. CompanyAlixia website, portfolio and stage descriptionAccessed Sep 23, 2026

Compiled from SEC, NIH, NSF, FDA and ClinicalTrials.gov public records and published reports as of September 23, 2026. Form D notices report offerings under Regulation D; amounts reflect the filing date and may not capture later sales. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Alixia. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.