Funding profile · Digital diabetes coaching
Breathe Well-being
An India-based diabetes coaching company that raised about $12.6 million across three announced rounds from 2021 to 2023, then cut its India workforce twice. No SEC filing exists for it, since it raised entirely outside the United States. Here is what the press announcements say, and where they do not add up cleanly.
Data as of September 25, 2026. Company-reported and press-reported figures are labeled.
Rounds at a glance
| When | Round | Amount | Investors | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020 | Y Combinator, Winter 2020 | Not disclosed | Y Combinator | YC data |
| Jun 2021 | Pre-Series A | $1.0M | Led by 3one4 Capital; angels including Ashish Gupta, Anjali Bansal, Suhail Sameer, and Stanford Angels & Entrepreneurs India | Press |
| Aug 2021 | Series A | $5.5M (about Rs 40 crore) | Led by Accel; General Catalyst, 3one4 Capital, and Tiger Global’s Scott Shleifer | Press |
| Jan 2023 | Pre-Series B | $6.14M (Rs 50 crore) | Co-led by 3one4 Capital, Accel and General Catalyst; FounderBank Capital and Supermorpheus | Press |
| Jan 2025 | New round, per CEO | Not disclosed | Not named; CEO Rohan Verma said a round had closed and would be announced | Company-stated |
What the filings show
Nothing, as a matter of SEC record. Breathe Well-being is operated by Aurogreen Health Private Limited, an Indian company incorporated Jan 13, 2020 in Haryana, and its rounds were raised from Indian and India-focused investors. A search of SEC EDGAR’s full text and company search turns up no Form D notice for the company under either its trading name or its legal name. That is expected for a company that has not offered securities inside the United States; it does not by itself say anything about how much capital moved.
What exists instead is India’s own corporate registry. Aurogreen Health Private Limited carries CIN U72900HR2020PTC084693. Its authorized share capital is recorded at INR 6.0 lakh and its paid up capital at INR 2.1 lakh as of the most recent filing on record, both far smaller than the dollar amounts in the press releases, which is normal: paid up equity capital on an Indian company’s balance sheet reflects par value, not the premium investors actually paid for their shares. The two directors on record are Rohan Verma and Aditya Kaicker, matching the founders named in every funding announcement.
Reading the numbers
- The announced rounds add to about $12.6 million.Pre-Series A ($1.0M) plus Series A ($5.5M) plus pre-Series B ($6.14M) comes to roughly $12.6M in disclosed rounds between June 2021 and January 2023.
- Press summaries round down.Inc42’s January 2025 layoffs story instead describes the company as having “raised a total of funding over $10 Mn till date,” a looser figure that undercounts the sum of its own earlier reporting on the same three rounds by more than $2 million.
- Layoffs tracked the funding calendar.Both rounds of cuts landed close to a funding gap: the June 2022 layoffs came about ten months after the August 2021 Series A and were attributed by Inc42’s sources to a failure to close a new round on schedule; the January 2025 layoffs came roughly two years after the pre-Series B, again with sources citing a thin runway, though the CEO disputed that account and said a new round had already closed.
- The January 2025 round, if real, is unverified.No amount, investor or filing has been found to confirm CEO Rohan Verma’s statement that fresh funding had closed as of January 2025. Nothing in the following months of coverage located for this profile names a lead investor or a figure.
- No Regulation D filing is expected.Companies incorporated and raising capital in India generally have no reason to file a US Form D unless they sell securities to US persons directly or through a US holding entity. The absence of a filing here is consistent with an India-only capital structure, not evidence of a smaller raise.
- The paid up capital is a formality, not a valuation.INR 2.1 lakh in paid up capital works out to roughly $2,500, a figure that reflects the face value of issued shares under Indian company law, not the price investors paid. It should not be read against the dollar funding totals above.
Commercial signals
| Signal | Detail | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| Workforce | About 50 employees cut in Jun 2022 (about 30 percent of staff at the time); 90 of 290 India employees cut in Jan 2025 per the CEO, with sources citing up to 120. | Press |
| Market focus | Reported to have stopped onboarding new users in India, Australia, New Zealand and Africa as of January 2025, shifting to the US market; a source told Inc42 the company planned to serve existing customers in those markets before winding them down within six months. | Press |
| Pricing model | Company describes a “No Outcome, No Pay” policy: patients pay only if HbA1c or medication use falls, otherwise fees are refunded. | Company-stated |
| Clinical evidence | One observational study of 181 patients presented as an ADA conference abstract in 2022. Broader claims of publication in three journals were not independently confirmed. | Partly confirmed |
| Corporate status | MCA registration recorded as active as of a July 2026 update, a status that differs from the inactive status carried in this database. | Differs from database |
What to watch
- Whether the funding round Rohan Verma said had closed in January 2025 is ever named, with an amount and investors.
- Whether Aurogreen Health Private Limited’s MCA filings show a change in registration status, directors or capital structure.
- Whether India, Australia, New Zealand or African operations are formally wound down or resumed.
- Any new SEC filing, which would only appear if the company forms a US entity or raises from US investors directly.
The Breathe Well-being story on Healthcare DiscoveryHealthcare Discovery
Related companies
Sources
- Public recordAurogreen Health Private Limited company page, CIN U72900HR2020PTC084693
- IndependentYC Backed Healthtech Startup Breathe Well-Being Raises $5.5 Mn Led By Accel
- IndependentExclusive: Accel-Backed Breathe Well-being Lays Off 50 Employees To Cut Costs
- IndependentHealthtech Startup Breathe Well-being Secures $6 Mn+ To Help People Reverse Diabetes
- IndependentHealthtech firm Breath Well-being raises $6 mn in pre-Series B round
- IndependentDiabetes reversal startup Breathe Well-being raises Rs 50Cr in funding led by 3One4 Capital, Accel, others
- IndependentExclusive: Accel-Backed Breathe Well-being Fires 100 Employees
- Public recordSEC EDGAR full text and company search, no Form D located
- InvestorBreathe Well-Being Closed Rs 50 Crores In Funding
Compiled from India’s Ministry of Corporate Affairs records, SEC EDGAR searches and published reports as of September 25, 2026. No Form D was located for this company; reported amounts reflect press announcements at the time of each round and may not capture later changes. Healthcare Venture Capital Fund holds no position in Breathe Well-being. This page is not an offer to sell or a recommendation to buy any security.
